We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for skiers that focuses on the most important items” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St Bernard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos Ski Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel St Bernard
Save
You added Hotel St Bernard to your Saves list
112 Sutton Place, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPECIAL ONE-OFF OFFER -
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place for skiers that focuses on the most important items”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A typical Ski Week day is as follows:

1) Walk about 100 feet to your 7:30 AM stretching class
2) After Stretching walk about 100 feet to a delicious buffet breakfast at 8:00 AM
3) Go to the ski room, adjacent to the dining room, to get your equipment
4) Ski About 100 feet downhill to get on the lift, and do a couple of warm-up runs
5) Meet your Ski Class at 10:00 AM for a 2 hour lesson
6) Ski to the door of the hotel, and walk about 25 feet to a super 3 course sit-down lunch
7) Return to the slopes for some free-skiing
8) End the ski day with a dip in the hot tub (adjacent to the bar/dining room), then relax in your room and/or return to the bar for a drink (or sometimes a lecture may be offered)
9) A fabulous dinner will be served at 6:30 PM
10) After dinner return to your room or visit the bar for some live entertainment

The food is excellent, the wine selection is first rate, the service is fantastic, personal and friendly and you don't really ever have to think. There are plenty of activities that the hotel runs to keep kids busy, so parents can relax. The ski village is relatively small, so if you are looking for extensive shopping (such as in Vail) you will probably have to drive into Taos Village.

If you want to work, there is Wi-Fi available; and if want to forget about work (which is what I recommend) the rooms do not have phones and don't bring your tablet/laptop. The St. Bernard makes it easy to forget about the rest of the world!

The rooms are comfortable and the focus is on what counts (if you want the Ritz Carlton, this may not be your place):

1) The bed is comfortable with nice linens, and
2) The soap and towels are high quality
3) There is a pretty wide variation in room types, so don't be afraid to ask questions when booking.

After my first trip to the St. Bernard, I stopped going anywhere else for skiing. I have returned every year for the past seven years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are looking specifically at Taos Ski Valley for a ski vacation, then you very likely enjoy skiing a lot or this is the closest place to where you live. On the other hand, if you just stumble upon Taos and you can take-it-or-leave-it with skiing....go to Park City or Steamboat instead, the reason is there is really nothing else close by (need to drive 20 minutes to the little town of Taos), but the skiing is fantastic, you can ski nice long easy runs, or you can hike to some pretty hairy runs, where they hold the World Extreme Ski Competition.

If you have read this far, you probably like skiing, then I would venture to say that there is no place like St. Bernard Hotel in the United States. It provides a very unique experience that only comes with a down-to-earth place, with very good food, good wine, good ski instructors, experienced staffs that look after you and a proprietor (Jean Mayer) that loves to ski and knows his food and wine. The whole focus of this place is to allow you to enjoy your skiing and leave the rest for others to worry about, you ski, you eat and you relax for a week, combined that with an old European charm (not the "Disney" kind that you find at other resorts), this place is special.

If you have read this far, you really really like skiing, but still wants a place to show off your furs and 3 carat diamond ring at night clubs and super expensive restaurants, then can I recommend you go to Deer Valley or Vail. Otherwise, you need to treat yourself once a year. You will likely look forward to it every year after that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel St. Bernard is my Winter Mountain Home for my annual ski week(s). I have been coming to the St. B for over thirty winters with a priest friend. I originally came because I needed to learn to ski the mountains of the west; the Ski Areas of Northern Michigan where I learned were only "beginners" slopes for the neophytes. The St. B at the base of Taos Ski Valley and right at the main lift was a natural place as I have always done the Full Ski Week as a package: hotel, meals, amenities, arrangements for the ski week including lifts and instructions, all one ticket.

Yes, I originally came for the ski lessons a long time ago but now I return to the St. B to reconnect with old ski week friends, Jean Mayer and his excellent staff. In short, a stay at the St. B is not just about skiing. My friend and I and many others have returned year after year when the snow was not all that plentiful due to drought conditions. Jean Mayer and all at the St. B. give such a visit and indescribable and happy experience.

The St. B is a quaint setting with old an world charm! From continental seating for dinner and guest only seating for breakfast and lunch, one is able to make new friends and renew old friendships. Dress is southwestern casual even for the daily five course dinner giving the exquisite continental cuisine a Southwestern Flair!

Jean Mayer personally creates the daily menus and serves all three meals! What a joy! Jean demonstrates his true care for each and all of his guests by calling you by name and even giving you skiing pointers as he also a technical ski instructor!

There are special programs for children giving their parents a chance to know that their children are being cared for and given the opportunity to learn skiing as well with classes appropriate to their needs. It is always wonderful to be present when the children re-join their parents for bed-time.

If you are looking for an elegant experience in an stunning Alpine Setting with simple living quarters---no TV in the Room and limited night life---The Hotel St. Bernard is for you! For me, after skiing hard all day my night life is reduced to cocktails before dinner a fantastic dinner each night, a few minutes with the evening entertainers and maybe an after dinner drink and then restful SLEEP!!!! While dreaming in anticipation of another glorious day skiing on The Mountain!

Retired Roman Catholic Bishop, Gerald A. Gettelfinger, Evansville, Indiana

Room Tip: You are invited back each year. Once you have learned the layout, you can specify your desired rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I discovered the St. Bernard more than thirty years ago. We haven't missed a year since, and as we travel considerably, that alone tells you that it's a special place. Those seeking modern anonymity must go elsewhere; it isn't what the St.B is about. Even if it is one's first visit, it will seem familiar and easy: it is managed to perfection but unobtrusively. Everything is simply right, without mentioning the dining room which is simply exceptional. The staff are ever ready to serve, agreeable and amenable but utterly professional, led by owner Jean Mayer, who brings his unique spirit to everything that he touches. This comment would not be complete without a word about the mountain: a jewel, not the biggest in the Rockies, but one of the very best, with endless variety and challenge. Ski here and you will become a better skier. If children grow up on this mountain, as ours did, they will become very good skiers; ski Taos well and you can ski anything, anywhere. Beginners and intermediates need not fear: much terrain for them too, and a first rate ski school. But know that Taos is not about glitz: it's a place to savor, a place for skiing and a place for one's soul. A week at the St. B makes you go immediately to next year's calendar to book again: it's that kind of place.

Room Tip: The "A-Frames" are best, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

2013 was my 41st season of skiing the Rockies. Unfortunately, it took me 15 years to discover the Hotel St Bernard. I have stayed there every year since.

Yes, the food is fabulous. The location, just uphill from the main lift, is perfect. Jean and his staff will do anything they can to make your visit perfect. Most of the staff worked there the first year that I visited. Actually, "visited" is really the wrong word to discribe spending a ski week at the St. B. When I walk through the front door, I feel like I am returning home.

However, the best thing about the St. B. is the guests. Most guests are returnees. When they recognize you as a newcomer, they will do everything they can to make you feel at home.

Dining is family style which gives you the opportunity to move around at dinner and meet the other guests or stay with your party at the same table every night. The guests are from every walk of life, age and location. You may dine with fireman and a doctor one night and lunch with a prima ballerina and a deli owner the next afternoon. One thing that everyone has in common though is a passion for skiing and a love for the Hotel St. Bernard.

Room Tip: Different guests prefer different types of rooms at the St. Bernard. Your first year, take what the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very comfortable and welcoming lodge, you are immediately made to feel like part of the family. I suffered an injury while skiing that confined me to my bed for three days, and the caring staff brought my meals to my room. The massage therapist was a godsend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've been back year after year and it keeps getting better! The food, the skiing, the people, the service: all exceptional. I can't wait for next season to head back. You really feel like you're at home and the family style dining makes for meeting a lot of people. The ski school has made me a better skier every year. I live in Denver and love how intimate Taos is and will continue to go there over a week at any of the resorts in Colorado.

Room Tip: If you want more space in your room book one of the st. B condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St Bernard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Bernard

Address: 112 Sutton Place, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jean Mayer arrived in Taos Ski Valley over fifty years ago with a passion for skiing and a dream to create a sanctuary for like-minded ski lovers. With his family, he began building the hotel in 1960. Its sturdy log construction mirrors European Alpine traditions and is located right at the base of Al's Run and the main chairlift. Today it is the only hotel in Taos Ski Valley still offering the traditional, all-inclusive Ski Week – a full week of immersion into the passion of skiing with every need supplied by a well-trained staff of skiing professionals. At the Hotel St. Bernard we continually evolve while keeping an eye on the past. The St. Bernard has stood the test of time since 1960, nestled on the ski slopes it is a perennial favorite. We maintain an historic appeal but we constantly seek improvement to offer a distinctive flair to our guests. The hotel has 28 lodge-style rooms, a beautiful communal dining room with a superbly stocked bar, a spa and work out room, and ski storage lockers. Enjoy lunch outside on the deck - location, location, location! The deck is located on the ski slope! Enjoy a taste of New Mexico with our famous green-chile cheeseburger, other lunchtime treats, drinks and more! The Hotel St. Bernard Ski Week includes 7 nights in hotel room (double occupancy), 6 morning ski lessons, 6 days lift tickets, three meals a day in the Hotel dining room, and for those of you with children, our world famous children's program!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel St Bernard Taos County/Taos Ski Valley, NM

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St Bernard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.