We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made for great ski week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Village Suites

Save Saved
You added Alpine Village Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpine Village Suites
100 Thunderbird Road, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taos Ski Valley
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Made for great ski week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our first time out to Taos and really wanted a ski in ski out experience so not to have to travel up a mountian for an hour. This place made that happen! Granted you have to walk about a total of maybe a block and a half, but worth it! The hotel was also a great place to stay. The rooms were large and accommodating. Nice view of the mountain and fire place made it cozy too. The little kitchenette was small, but met all of our needs (Small fridge, microwave, pots, pans, plates, cups, etc.). Room was clean and kept clean throughout the week. We were by the elevator, but was not noisy at all. Front desk were very nice and answered all of our questions. Free wifi too. close to small shops and restaurants so did not move the car once while we were there. One of the restaurant (Bavarian, good too) at top of mountain brought shuttle down (at no charge, we tipped) so that made it nice too. We are planning to return next year as a result. I do recommend!

Room Tip: Forgot to mention that there are lockers on bottom floor to store your skis so another nice amenity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    3
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This charming and quaint place resembles more of a resort than a hotel! With its small size (only 20-ish rooms) and alpine aura with great attention to all details, it just oozes coziness! The whole place is bedecked in garland, authentic metal fixtures, twinkling lights, framed black bear paintings/prints, mural-like motifs of alpine touches, all scented with some subtle but perfect fragrance. One example that demonstrates the details....some frames are made of old wooden skis / replicas. Some lamps were of faux-skins, lined with wild bird feathers. Every floor has its own unique cushy public spaces. Windows abound. The third and first floors have exits to different sides of elevation.

We rented two rooms for a family of four...we splurged. The adult room was spacious, with many windows, a fireplace and 2 TVs. It could have accommodated all 4, with the couch pullout. There was storage space for ski equipment in-room, but also they provided lockers on ground floor. The kitchen was perfectly sized and functional. The shower worked well (strong and hot). The bedroom (even had door) had ceiling fan, and i was GRATEFUL for the humidifier, as i suffer from nasal issues with altitude and don t appreciate radiator -style heating. The bed was huge, soft but firm with down bedding. The rustic furniture was perfect, as i always unpack the suitcase , into the drawers. We never heard any neighbors....could hardly tell there were other occupants.

The teens had a much smaller room, still with great attention to detail. It was perfect as a stand-alone, with only one problem. Rooms 24/25 are on same floor as sauna, hot tub and "public" restrooms. So, there were several unpleasant ramifications. The worst was the excessive heat....probably bc of the excess of radiators in the common space .... To keep folks warm before/after sauna or hot tub. It was oppressively hot. Secondly, there was much loud activity from hottub etc. Their neighbors were also rambunctious and audible.

The place is so close to base of mountain....i was not looking forward to walks in ski boots....and sore shins, but truly it was much better than expected. We thought the walk from front door shortest. Also, renting equip from cottams was convenient, right next door, and professionally handled. We even got to " know" the cleaning staff from daily smiles ... pleasant and never pushy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 24/25 on floor 2 with sauna /spa. There is no restaurant....which i accidentally rated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iola, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My family just spent 4 days at this location and it was amazing. The hotel is only a short distance from the ski slopes. They offer free lockers for your skis and snowboard. Personally, I like to get a locker at the base of the mountain so I don't have to walk the stairs in the ski boots though. Our suite had everything we needed to fix meals. The pull-out sofa bed had a memory foam mattress. Everything was clean and neat. We had a fireplace and two T.V.'s in our room. The view from the balcony was great. The staff and housekeepers were always helpful. The only thing I wish they had but did not was a pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

You can't get a much better location for access to the ski lifts than this. Easy access to the mountain, as well as a nice collection of restaurants and shops. That said, there were a few things that hold me back from rating Alpine Village "Excellent." First was the size of the room. We booked into the Queen Suite, which they say accommodates 4--with two of those on the sleeper sofa. Once the sleeper sofa is open, the room is very cramped--not cozy, cramped. Next was the room temperature--HOT. My only way to control the temperature was by opening the sliding glass door. Finally, the two things that were out of order--the vent fan in the bathroom (it had a nice plastic shopping back over it), and a missing smoke detector. Minor annoyances, but annoyances. Parking was the other annoyance--either park in the main ski area lot, or pay to valet the car. They should have reserved parking for all guests without paying extra, IMHO. All of that being said, I'd probably stay there again.

Room Tip: The Queen suite is tight with 4 people--unless two of those people are small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our first time to Taos, and we loved it. Everyone down to the room keepers were so sweet and helpful! We had to swich roooms one night, and they made it very easy and moved all of our things. We love the location, room were very clean.
Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just spent four days and had a great time. The location is in the heart of all the skiing activities which is the best way to go skiing . We unloaded the car, parked it, and didn't start it again until the morning we left. The kitchenette is well supplied with utensils and we had all of our meals in the room. The spa and hot tub are a perfect way to end a day of skiing. The room was comfortable and the staff always helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. We had a nice stay. No much snow when we were there first week in April 2013 but an easy walk to lifts. Hot tub outdoors and hot! Would be a plus if they could offer late night snacks. Tea and coffee in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village Suites

Address: 100 Thunderbird Road, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Hotel Taos Ski Valley
Alpine Village Suites Taos County/Taos Ski Valley, NM

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Village Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.