We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbine Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Columbine Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Columbine Inn & Conference Center
1288 Highway 150, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Columbine Inn many times in the past. Thoroughly enjoy the stay every time. The owners have done a fabulous job in creating and maintaining this mountain hotel. Friendly management, clean rooms and very reasonable rates. Looking forward to our next visit!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a great place to stay in the Taos ski valley! Our family has stayed at this wonderful hotel many times in both the winter and in the summer. Either season, this is the place to be. The rooms are clean, the staff is super friendly and very helpful. Our son loves the upstairs lofts and to play outside when we are not on the mountain. So much nicer to stay in the valley than staying in town, just a mile drive to the ski area. They even have a free shuttle from the hotel to the ski area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just what my 16 yr. old son and I needed for our magical trip to Taos Ski Valley. Clean rooms, attentive staff, nice breakfasts, and easy 1.5 mi. trip to Taos Ski Valley Resort. Kudos to the staff for brushing the 12-15" of powder off of our rental car in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbineinntaos, Owner at Columbine Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you were able to ski Taos with so much fresh snow. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Paul & Susie Geilenfeldt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very convenient location to the mountain. Cozy, clean rooms, although lacking in a little aesthetic appeal. Perfect for those who like to ski hard and sleep well. The owners bend over backward to make your stay comfy. I recommend it highly. No covered parking, but they will shuttle you to the mtn. 3 mins. up the road. Micro, mini fridge in the room and a nice outdoor hot tub. The star gazing is to die for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbineinntaos, Owner at Columbine Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. We are enhancing the aesthetic appeal this summer by completing the first phase of a remodel. We hope you can visit in the future to see our progress. Thank you again for your business. Paul & Susie Geilenfeldt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Spare but comfortable, with surprising loft rooms on the second floor. Very satisfying continental breakfast buffet. Owned and operated by a lovely, young couple, who take great pride in their property. Consistent with the Swiss chalet-feel of the ski valley. Very comfortable second floor lounge to visit and sink in with a good book....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbineinntaos, Owner at Columbine Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet and talk with you. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future. Paul & Susie Geilenfeldt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We are a 3* style family. We don't like to pay for a lot of fluff. This was a very cozy, family friendly inn just 1.5 miles up the hill from the slopes. Rooms were comfortable (our kids loved the loft). Walls are a little thin (we use a noisemaker app for iPhone everywhere we travel now). Breakfast was perfect - hot entrees each morning (pancakes/french toast/etc with a meat - bacon/sausage), bagels, toast, eng. muffins, fruit, yogurt, SB coffee, hot chocolate, OJ, teas - perfect for filling up for a day of skiing.

Each afternoon they had hot drinks next to a lobby fire and a fire pit outside for the kids to roast smores. They provide graham crackers and marshmellows (have a vending machine for chocolate).

Their shuttle bends over backwords to get you to and from the ski area & restaurants. They circled back 3 times one night because guests were not at the pickup spot. The owners and all the staff were extremely kind and personable. They are local to the area and knowledgable about the surrounding restaurants, ski shops, etc.

Regarding the 1 star comment, I think it was a party crowd that got out of hand so they had to close the hot tub for the safety of everyone involved. The guests weren't following the rules and the managers had to error on the side of safety. I applaud their efforts.

My family truly felt right at home and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The loft is great for kids 8 and up. The ladder is literally a ladder to the loft, not a staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbineinntaos, Owner at Columbine Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet and talk with you. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Paul & Susie Geilenfeldt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LightHouse Cove Ontario Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Paul & Suzie, the owners made us feel at home. The rooms were clean and close to the ski mountain, beds are firm and comfortable, wifi dependable, good rates. The breakfast was a little weak but that is a minor detail. Would definetly come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbineinntaos, Owner at Columbine Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you were able to ski Taos with such great snow. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and thank you again for staying with us. Paul & Susie Geilenfeldt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbine Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1288 Highway 150, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic, alpine lodge nestled in the mountains of Taos. Surrounded by nature and convenient to skiing, hiking, museums and galleries. Your stay includes free breakfast, free wi-fi, outdoor hot tub, outdoor fireplace, and frequent guest program. The clean and comfortable guest rooms include one king or two queen beds, mini-fridge and microwave. Locally owned and operated by avid skiers and outdoor enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Columbine Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Inn & Conference Center Taos County/Taos Ski Valley, NM

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbine Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.