We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice - for the right kind of trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taos Ski Valley

Taos Ski Valley
116 Sutton Pl, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
575 776 2916
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the southern tip of the Rocky Mountains in Northern New Mexico, Taos Ski Valley is a world famous destination for riders and skiers of all ability levels. Taos is primarily know for its steeps but offers beginner & intermediate trails off the top of every single chair lift. For the advanced to expert skier/rider Taos offers some of the most challenging and varied terrain in the country, especially off its hike to ridges. The family vibe is also embodied in the quaint village of Taos Ski Valley. Not overdeveloped the resort offers a simple night life, lots of dining options, with everything in close proximity. If you are looking for more than skiing/riding check out the historic town of Taos just 18 miles down the road for a true vacation destination.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quite nice - for the right kind of trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Compared to some of the really big resorts in Colorado & Utah, Taos is small. It is also quite skewed towards more difficult terrain. We are intermediate skiers. We found the intermediate trails fun, but did have to repeat the trails a number of times.

My wife & I took our 3- and 5-year-old on a road trip from Austin so see snow for the first time and Taos is reasonably close. We were able to go during the middle of the week during January, so lift lines were non-existent - literally, we never had a single person in front of us.

Our boys did two days in ski school. I was really impressed by our ski school instructor. Aiden, the instructor, was exceptionally supportive and patient with our boys (who, to be honest, are still probably a little too young for skiing).

The staff at TSV was very friendly and things were laid out well.

For a relatively inexpensive ski vacation, TSV is a good choice. For a trip to take kids for first time skiing, TSV is a good choice - as I was impressed by the ski school. If long lift lines really bother you, TSV is a good choice. For a longer trip or where cost is less important, then I might opt for somewhere like Breck, Winter Park or Park City.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    32
    9
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a great time skiing. It was our first time skiing and it went great. The instructors are awesome and taught us step by step. We'll be coming back next year for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A top 10 resort for steeps...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Five of us spent 2 days at Taos Ski Valley in January 2014. Although they hadn't had any new snow in over a week, the base was still good, the sun was shing, the winds were light and fun was had by all. Because of the lack of new snow and because a lot of the best "steep lines" require hiking, we stayed clearly inbounds. We did however venture into some of the woods and glades and found the tree skiing to still be excellent. Like most big, steep, western mountains...on a powder day Taos would be Heaven!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love TSV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a great time at TSV. There is slaking for all levels, including experts. My sons - 10 & 7- took a private lesson (they had one all day lesson a couple of days earlier in Ruidoso) and they did greats on the greens and the easier blues. Great ski lift staff- very helpful and cheerful and ready to help slow down the lifts for young kids. Great snow, fast lifts, beautiful views. Food on the mountain needs work, and ski rental process at the mountain is a little tedious, but they will store the stuff for you and the boots did not smell musty because of their drying/Lysol system. Lastly, we were there New Year's Eve- great fireworks on the mountain!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love our time at TSV!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Always love skiing TSV! Staff is friendly and helpful. Got separated from my independent 10 yr old and Ski Patrol literally put out an APB for him. Found him within 5 minutes and never seemed put out that they were having to find him. Don't forget to try Molly's Crepe stand by Lift 2. Best nutella crepes and peanut butter cup hot chocolate!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Ski Valley also viewed

 
Taos Ski Valley, Taos County
 

Been to Taos Ski Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taos Ski Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.