We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the hill, everything we needed and great breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amizette Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amizette Inn to your Saves list
Amizette Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1295 NM 150, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Close to the hill, everything we needed and great breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here- it was so close to the mountain that coming home for a hot tub and relaxation before going back for dinner was easy. The room was nothing special but had everything we needed. The breakfast was perfect-especially pre ski day. Would love to see the hot tub relocated outside given the location on the river-beautiful! Loved meeting Dixie and Dusty.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Laughing with my family during our last stay about what to say in this review- I decided that if you want a perfect stay - you might not choose this place. But if you want to feel a part of a lovely dysfunctional family- then this is your place. We love finishing our day of skiing with a glass of wine in front of the wood burner. The staff are so laid back, happy to take our food order from the couch and even serve us there..or in the actual restaurant..our choice. Breakfast always starts with a coffee in the same place..and ends up at the table watching the birds outside. Yes, you may have to watch your step as you pick your way through the snow to the hot tub- but you are sure to meet someone interesting once immersed in the hot water and steamy room. I think it is the best value going near the ski valley- which is why we keep coming back.

Room Tip: We've named room 7 the cat room- as a visitor makes its presence known in the wee hours of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Amizette Inn is located 2 miles from the slopes of Taos Ski Valley. There is ample parking available at no cost as well as shuttles - at least that was the case in early December 2012. The Amizette boasts a perfect location along a small, zoozing river. If you keep the windows open at night, the sound of running water lulls you into sleep. The Amizette definitely is a real mountain inn, the room we had was very convenient and good bedding guarantees a fully recovering night's rest. The breakfast was perfect as well. Go with what the market offers, in case not all items on the menu are available. The sauna and the whirlpool were a very nice feature to use at the end of the ski day. The Inn is family operated and Patrick and his crew do a great job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Amizette Inn delivered beyond our expectations! This charming, 10 room, family-owned, rustic gem is set on a babbling stream set in a stand of aspens. Romantic get-a-way with a quant restaurant serving well done and presented New Mexican breakfast fare prepared by Chef Keith (breakfast included with your room!). They also serve dinner, but we did not sample. The room we stayed in was smallish, but laid out so nicely it didn't matter. The sunken sitting room was a perfect reading nook, with two wing-back chairs overlooking the stream. The headboard of our bed was a window also overlooking the stream and upon rising Steller's Jays were flutter in the aspen outside. The rooms were simply appointed but very comfortable and clean. Our host Jim Walsh and his daughter Linda and nephew Patrick were charming and friendly. We didn't get a chance this trip, but there is sure to be great hiking and of course being in the Taos Ski Valley, skiing in the winter. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I would like to start off with the positives. My family & I stayed at the Amizette Inn for one night and day. We really enjoyed our room, the views & the food tasted great. We did have a few problems though. Our room was not ready until 6:00 eventhough we had been told we could check in at 2:00. We then waited over an hour for our food, but like I said it was good. My parents were having a conversation with some other diners while I took my son for a walk, and upon our return I heard our server making fun of them. My dad tried to pay the bill for dinner, but our server couldn't get the credit machine to work, so he told my dad to take care of it in the morning. When my dad tried to do this the next morning our server had no change & he told my dad he needed to pay credit. My dad told him he wanted to pay cash & he commented again saying that he should pay credit. The room was very nice, but our dining experience was questionable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed one night in Room 10, a multi-level room right with a separate living area and a small sleeping loft in addition to the main bedroom area. It was very nice to have the window open with the sounds of the river below. We enjoyed the New Mexican breakfast very much, and it was enjoyable to watch lots of hummingbirds just outside. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchos De Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went there for dinner only and were disappointed. We were the only one's in the restaurant which does have a beautiful view but once we received our meals it went downhill. No waitstaff were on sight and we waited for service. One of us ordered a burger with fries. The burger came out missing the cheese. We had to send it back. It was overcooked & the fries were minimal and sad looking at the most. The other dish was missing part of the order and the rice was not cooked. One of us made a comment to the waiter who then was even more disappointing - giving us attitude and not returning to our table until the dinner was over. Afterwards, we were overcharged and had to deal with that. Needless to say, we will not return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amizette Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amizette Inn

Address: 1295 NM 150, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos Ski Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Taos Ski Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amizette Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amizette Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amizette Hotel Taos Ski Valley
Amizette Inn Taos County/Taos Ski Valley, NM

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amizette Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.