We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crossburn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Latheronwheel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crossburn
Save
You added The Crossburn to your Saves list
Smerral | Latheronwheel, Latheronwheel KW5 6DW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Both Jane and Michael have the all to rare ability of judging what is the right amount of interraction with the right amount of privacy. We were on a sponsored walk and stopped over for just 1 night but their hospitality should be a bench mark for all hotelleirs to be judged by. For those of you who read this and do not stay, then you have really lost out. Jane's cooking is second to none anywhere. The beds are beautiful as are the rooms and showers / toilets it is spotlessly clean. It doesnt have a star rating but it would definitely be 5* with me. I look forward to coming back.

Thank you Jane and Micheal it was an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a fantastic B&B, welcoming hosts, spotlessly clean and comfortable facilities, nothing too much trouble, and I would recommend to anyone visiting Caithness. One tip - it is a spiral staircase up to the bedrooms - you may want to be aware.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Michael and Jane really are the perfect hosts, welcoming and attentive but respecting privacy. On our third visit we were very much treated like old friends, but on our first visit were welcomed just as enthusiastically. Michael and Jane aim to please and in this they certainly succeed, enabling their guests to have a relaxed, peaceful and most enjoyable stay. Their home is situated in a pretty glen and is surround by trees, an unusual feature for Caithness. These trees provide a home to a variety of birds and also to roe deer.
The house is most comfortable ensuring a relaxed and sound sleep at night.
Jane's cooking is superb and there is a tasty menu to choose from with local produce, all dishes we have tried were utterly delicious. My husband drooled over the ice cream sundae so much that Jane was persuaded to provide it three nights running. Breakfast is a treat and the entertainment is provided by the multitude of birds at the feeder outside the dining-room.
We did not try the hot-tub, but fellow guests enthused about its merits. The complimentary Old Poulteney liqueuer after dinner was a most unexpected treat and I am now a fan.
We can't recommend this B&B highly enough. A perfect place for a rest and recuperation, an excellent base for exploring Caithness and Sutherland, and a chance to meet the best hosts ever.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

If you crave the serenity of the country with the service of a first class hotel, The Crossburn is the place for you. Michael and Jane Travers offer the ultimate in B&B hospitality.
The room we had was nicely appointed - restful and superbly comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was spacious, modern and sparkling clean. The towels were luxurious. Breakfast in the large dining room was tops. There was a choice of full English, several cereals, home-made bread, fruits of all description. Truly a feast. The view is spectacular, looking out to the many pheasants, birds, and bunnies that inhabit the area.
Unlike most B&B establishments, the Crossburn also offers dinners for an additional fee. They are worth every penny! We had duck with cherries one night, mildly spiced leg of lamb another evening and excellent Scottish salmon with a light terikayk glaze the third night. The vegetable side dishes are well paired and often come from the Travers' large garden. Jane is a great baker so leave room for dessert.
One of the very best points about the Crossburn is its location. There is much to see and visit - the Castle of Mey and other stately homes nearby, the many harbours, the hiking trails, the mainland's most northern point. Anyone traveling this far north is advised to take the day ferry to Orkney. The Islands are ancient and evocative - a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see the remnants of a civilization older than the pyramids of Egypt.
Michael and Jane Travers are bon vivants who will welcome you with true hospitality and delicious home cooking. It is no wonder that The Crossburn is rated the #1 B&B in Latheronwheel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed here on our trip back from Orkney as a stop over for the drive home South. After a pretty rough evening ferry we were glad we had done so. The B&B was easy to find and we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The location of the B&B is brilliant and it was unfortunate the weather was so poor as it would have been great to have a proper walk around. It is set in the countryside with its own woodland and burn. We never took up the offer of the hot tub outside but it certainly is a plus.

The room itself was well presented and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a small TV and DVD player in the room, an en-suite bathroom, the usual tea and coffees with fresh milk and a hairdryer.

Breakfast was tasty and is was nice to be able to watch the birds on the table at the dining room window.

We only had a flying visit this time but would definitely stay here again if we are travelling through or staying in the area in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

A Fantastic B & B, Michael & Jane are great hosts, serving a very heraty well-recommended breakfast. The room I stayed in was extremely comfortable with great views, excellent value for money, I will definately be returning and recommending it to friends and family!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

The Crossburn is a jewel in the Highlands, the setting is magical and peaceful. Our stay was superb from start to finish, Jane and Michael are the perfect hosts and Jane's cooking is delicious and plentiful.
For the perfect romantic weekend, complete with hot tub in the garden The Crossburn must be the first choice. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crossburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossburn

Address: Smerral | Latheronwheel, Latheronwheel KW5 6DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Latheronwheel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Latheronwheel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this luxury bed and breakfast. Set in private secluded gardens and woods with a covered outdoor hot tub in the rear garden. Home cooked food from a varied menu. Off road parking. Ideally situated off the A9 road to John o'Groats (35 miles away) and the ferries to the Orkney Islands. The Castle of Mey (The late Queen Mother's private home) less than an hour's drive. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crossburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.