We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Sleepy Wenchang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waika International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waika International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waika International Hotel
No.166 Wenjian Road, Wencheng Zhen, Wenchang 571300, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 hotels in Wenchang
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Sleepy Wenchang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wenchang is a small sleepy town with limited tourism, save overseas Chinese who come to visit their ancestral homeland. With that background - one would understand why there isn't more tourism or amenities in this hotel/area. But Waika probably is the best Wenchang City hotel -- otherwise folks are staying out by the shore to take advantage of the beach.

The hotel itself is nice - with comfortable spacious rooms and the breakfast buffet was actually one of the nicest we'd seen in a Chinese hotel in China - with mainly Chinese food choices, but also some standards suitable to the Western palate. The fruit plate they gave us upon arrival was also a nice touch.

The hotel has a second adjacent building, where possibly more rooms are, but where the spa and other amenities are located. We checked out the spa for their very reasonably priced massages, since it opened late. I got a Shanghainese pedicure and my sister got one too, in addition to a massage. I opted out of the massage because they are done on hotel beds - which tend to bother my neck. She said her pedicure was not that great, while mine was fabulous. Her massage was decent and the post-massage bath was very comfortable, since it is in a very deep wooden tub.

In the main building is a salon that also seems to open rather late.

The location is very close to the train station - we paid 30 rmb for the 10 minute taxi, though I probably could have paid 20. There are also tuktuks that could do if you didn't have much for luggage.

We took a local bus for 1 rmb down to the city center, which was really interesting.

My biggest gripe is that the concierge is hardly a concierge. They don't seem to have any familiarity with the local tourist sites nor know how to arrange anything. Luckily for us, they have an EXCELLENT bellhop - I think his name was Huang, who arranged everything for us. We are so grateful for his help - and disappointed we did not get a chance to meet him (and tip him) again before we left our short one night stay. He realized our Chinese was not strong, so spoke slowly and carefully for us. He also listened to what we were looking for, and made arrangements that suited us the next day (a 500 RMB day long tour to many interesting cultural sites in the area -- which requires quite a lot of driving, btw). For our immediate arrival, he also pointed us to a good restaurant for the famous Wenchang chicken, and told us how to take aforementioned bus to the city center.

If you end up having trouble with any tourism issues - try to look for this amazing bellhop!

One more note - there is a great BOC ATM in the lobby - a sight for sore eyes when just about every ATM in Hainan only seems to take Unionpay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel proudly claims to be a 5 star one. I don't understand how it got that rating.

I will list the pros out first:

1. The rooms are new and spacious and nice. Bathrooms are also clean and spacious. The lobby also gives a good impression.

2. Housekeeping staff are helpful. So are the concierge staff.

3. Free wireless internet in the lobby.

Cons now:

1. Breakfast buffet may have variety but definitely not a 5-star standard one. The chef (the one at the noodle station) served a man who blatantly jumped the queue first and when confronted by me (female), just shrugged it off. Outrageous. What kind of 5-star service is this?

2. In which 5-star hotel in the world would you receive flyers advertising escorts and prostitutes stuffed under your room door??? Sleazy much?

3. Went to the sports room to play table tennis. The staff manning the area was clueless. He sat in the room with us and promptly fell asleep there. He also didn't know whether we had to pay to use the facilities. Clueless.

4. This 5-star hotel uses dispensers in the bathrooms to dispense soap and shampoo. No nice little bottles.

5. No free wireless internet in the rooms.


All in all, it is a nice hotel to stay in. Probably the best in Wenchang. Facilities are still new and room is spacious and comfortable Prices are also cheap, compared to Western standards..But the hotel doesn't deserve its 5-star rating/tag. A 4-star one at most.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My brother and I had a chance to stayed at Waika International Hotel from Friday 8th July 2011 till Monday 11th July 2011.

This time we will able to try the rooms both at the Tower Block and as well as the Annex Block.
The only marked difference is the Tower Block room are very well decorated and room layout is with a twig of luxury which give rise to the higher room rate.

Nevertheless, rooms amenities are similar and "homogenous" in all manner and not form of luxury.

The Towe Block housed all the dinning are, Restaurant, Cafe and Gym as well.
Waika International do have a landscaped, free-size swimming pool area with trellises.
On the fifth(5) floor is the HONGKONG CLUB similar to VOLVO CLUB alike in HongKong.

The Annex Block is still under slight renovation for the Retail Areas.
You can find Supermarket, Bank, Beauty Shop and can purchase your fastrain ticket here at a counter opened two months ago in May 2011. That make your intended travelling to others counties with ease
as you need not compete with the rush at the actual Train Station for the tickets. Advance bookings are allowed.

Indeed, Waika is A Home near to my Ancestory Home away from my home in Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My Brother and I stayed at Waika International Hotel fro 30th March 2011 to 4th April 2011.

This International Standard Hotel is south of Wenchang City along the longest and widest Wenjian Road. Along this road you can find all amenities leading all the way to Dongfeng Road which is the buzzing city central of "Orchard Road" of Wenchang.

It is definitely well located and with ease and convenient.
Daily Buffet Breakfast is inclusive in the hotel rate.

For non-corporate traveller with a little more budget, expecially those making pilgrim
to their roots and paying respect of their ancestor homes, it is worthy and affordable.

Importantly, our stay there had been most relaxing, enjoyable and with a good sleep
away from our home.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waika International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waika International Hotel

Address: No.166 Wenjian Road, Wencheng Zhen, Wenchang 571300, China
Location: China > Hainan > Wenchang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 hotels in Wenchang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Waika International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waika International Hotel Wenchang, Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waika International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.