We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Erongo Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 90590 | Klein Windhoek, Omaruru, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great and comfortable lodge amidst beautiful surroundings. The room was actually a tent but with all amenities one could wish for. It was built on the rocks and had a deck with a spectacular view. We admired sundown on top of a big rock while enjoying cold drinks and snacks. In the morning we did a guided nature walk.

The lodges offers excellent food outside on the terrace, from which you can see the waterhole.

We would have stayed longer if we could.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    34
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would have loved to have more than one night here.

Our room was spacious, open to the vegetation & rocky outcrops and bathed with light. The attached bathroom was actually open to the wilderness -we had lizards on the walls lapping up the beautifully patterned moths.

For sunset we sat atop the huge granite boulder overlooking the restaurant and watched the warthogs running laps of the manmade waterhole nestled into the bushes below the restaurant. Erongo, however, is not a place for animal viewing - it's a stunning getaway retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This lodge offers breathtaking views, excellent service and accommodation offering an up close and personal experience with the beautiful surroundings. The lodge is all about exploring the granite boulders, creeks, valleys and bird life on foot. Don't miss the sunset walk and force yourself to do at least one of the other trails. Tip: it's easy enough to takle the wallks on your own. The guide who accompanied us talked non stop and we know things about his life that we rather wouldn't want to know. Do it yourself. Lunch options are a little limited and the pasta we had was super basic and a little bland. However, the other meals offered are fabulous with another superb view of the surroundings. The tents could get noisy if it's windy and we had a bad "dassie" odour entering it So don't expect a hotel room but that's half the fun isn't it?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Am I pleased we decided to spend some time (2 nights) here- particularly after we’d spent time in Etosha, as the emphasis at EWL is more on landscape and walking- although I did see my first kill (more later). The set-up of this camp is excellent- the tents well-spaced, and the dining room and open terrace restaurant areas very lovely. Although it continued hot, we felt that accommodation in tents on stilts provided good air circulation and allowed comfortable nights. The food at Erongo was the best we encountered in Namibia. The walks were lovely, and we enjoyed the interaction with the guides. After breakfast on our second day I witnessed the following- about 10 feet from me. My attention was attracted by a very large, black wasp which had become quite agitated. It was being watched quite closely by a lizard. The lizard moved towards the wasp, which jumped onto its back but with no effect. Up to this point I hadn’t noticed a rather large (size of my outstretched hand) spider- which appeared oblivious to all of this. Next thing the lizard grabbed the spider and ate it whole- the body part was the size of a small kiwi. I looked for an explanation. The wasp was actually a spider wasp, which had paralysed the spider with a view to pulling it to its nest so that it could lay its eggs in the spider. The lizard rather likes the taste of spiders, and pinched the wasp's kill, the wasp retaliated, but its sting cannot pierce the skin of the lizard. The stuff of nightmares….., fascinating; nature red in tooth and jaw.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Erongo Wilderness lodge in February. Although it was in the heat of summer, the lovely swimming pool kept us cool in the afternoon. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the dinner was absolutely amazing! By far the best game fillet I had in my life! the tented room was very comfortable and we hade a very good night under the mosquito net. I enjoyed my time at Erongo Wilderness Lodge very much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Every member of staff was efficient and caring. As a gluten free traveller I am used to requests being ignored, not here, They made sure I never missed out. glamping at it's best. Morning and evening walks to see sun rise and fall.

Room Tip: I count the nearby hills as a fitness centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The highlight was the Landscape. The Erongo mountains are amazingly beautiful and completely worth it. The guided walks were a delight and the guides had all very nice personalities and were also good knowledgeable. Rooms are spacious and have a beautiful view, bathroom nicely designed and very good. The only downside was that during high summer it gets very hot inside, but ok, we went to the desert during high summer...
The breakfast was very good and complete- continental an cooked. Dinner was good as well, but not gourmet. I recommend eating outside with candlelights, as we did one evening. My husband and I loved our stay there, even being a bit pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erongo Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 90590 | Klein Windhoek, Omaruru, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Omaruru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Omaruru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erongo Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a special wilderness area in Namibia, encircled by the Erongo Mountains where the desert, mountain, and bushveld ecosystems combine. Here, in a secluded valley, you will find a lodge with ten luxury tented chalets in a dramatic setting of granite boulders and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Erongo Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erongo Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.