We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night in the Erongo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Erongo Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 90590 | Klein Windhoek, Omaruru, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Windhoek
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful night in the Erongo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Erongo Wilderness lodge in February. Although it was in the heat of summer, the lovely swimming pool kept us cool in the afternoon. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the dinner was absolutely amazing! By far the best game fillet I had in my life! the tented room was very comfortable and we hade a very good night under the mosquito net. I enjoyed my time at Erongo Wilderness Lodge very much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    34
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Every member of staff was efficient and caring. As a gluten free traveller I am used to requests being ignored, not here, They made sure I never missed out. glamping at it's best. Morning and evening walks to see sun rise and fall.

Room Tip: I count the nearby hills as a fitness centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The highlight was the Landscape. The Erongo mountains are amazingly beautiful and completely worth it. The guided walks were a delight and the guides had all very nice personalities and were also good knowledgeable. Rooms are spacious and have a beautiful view, bathroom nicely designed and very good. The only downside was that during high summer it gets very hot inside, but ok, we went to the desert during high summer...
The breakfast was very good and complete- continental an cooked. Dinner was good as well, but not gourmet. I recommend eating outside with candlelights, as we did one evening. My husband and I loved our stay there, even being a bit pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Loved my 2 nights at Erongo.
The site is really incredible! I was very impressed with the location. Loved my tented-room, very clean, spacious, with everything you need.
We were well welcomed,and I liked the family-home vibe to it. It's not uptight as other lodges.
I specially like the morning hike to the top of the rock! The view was absolutely breathtaking!
Staff very friendly and discret.
A stunning place to spend a couple of days. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

and unforgettable. Tents with bathrooms in the rocs. Surrounded by spectaculor huge rocks and mountains. Every morning you wake up with the sound of all kind of birds , colourful parrots, and you look into the faces of unnumerous Klippdachse. Every item fits into the landscape. You may do early bird walking in the valley or afternoon climbing on the rocks. The staff helps you with everything. Food is great , the restaurant the most romantic I have seen And when I was there I saw thousand and thousands of butterflies....I will come back one day! And the most funny thing was that I had to sign that I will not pull the tail of a leopard..... I did not"!

Room Tip: all tents are just stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent two nights here in December 2012 and would strongly recommend it. We slept in a thatched tent high up among rocks with a spectacular view along a small valley and with local, vocal baboons for company! The lodge and the tents are cleverly hidden among piles of rounded rocks, pleasantly remote and in good walking country. We had very well informed guides - we saw some good game, a good variety of plants and trees and some wonderful birds. We ate good food and were warmly welcomed. Our last stop before leaving Namibia and one of the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a truly beautiful and exquisite lodge and one of the best we visited on our Namibian holiday. Fantastic hosts, friendly, professional staff, good food, absolutely stunning tents in very private locations with gorgeous balconies, relaxing and romantic. This truly is a proper 'tented' camp, very stylishly appointed with beautiful bathrooms built into the rocks. The baboons put on a fabulous show for us and a massive Eland came to the waterhole whilst we ate dinner. This was a bit of an extra treat since this lodge isn't a 'game' lodge and we weren't really expecting any wildlife.

It was an absolute pleasure to stay. Only one little suggestion - another fan in the tent would have been lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erongo Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 90590 | Klein Windhoek, Omaruru, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Omaruru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Omaruru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Erongo Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a special wilderness area in Namibia, encircled by the Erongo Mountains where the desert, mountain, and bushveld ecosystems combine. Here, in a secluded valley, you will find a lodge with ten luxury tented chalets in a dramatic setting of granite boulders and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Erongo Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erongo Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.