We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to enjoy mother nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Erongo Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 90590 | Klein Windhoek, Omaruru, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy mother nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Erongo is located in the mountains and is more lush than most of what you see in Namibia. The stay was enjoyable and the hosts worked with us to make the stay worthwhile, although we were only there one night. Erongo is is a tented camp, with each tent on it's own platform and a covered au natural bathroom with only the local creatures to spy on you. All the tents platforms are newly enlarged with new tents and larger outdoor spaces. Erongo is set in a rock filled area, set in amongst those rocks and with much low scrub trees as the major vegetation. Among the local residents are large numbers of Rock Dassies - which despite their diminutive size (about 20 centimetres in length for an adult) and no tail, are related most closely to their bigger brethren - the elephant. They appear to be communal in nature and when walking near them many sets of eyes stare down at you from their perches on the rocks above you. Again though our time here was limited to a single night it is a place one who enjoys being with nature would enjoy. As with many of the places to stay in Namibia it is set off far from any other place to eat so you will take all meals on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent higher up - better views at dawn/dusk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    36
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
88
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SANTA MONICA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Except for the stultifying heat (no air conditioning here!), this was one of the most memorable places we stayed in our two weeks in Namibia. Everyone from Ernestine to Lee to Heloisius was friendly and warm and happy to answer any of our questions. The fact that the guided walks were complimentary was a delightful and welcome add to the stay. Our two nine year-olds declared the food at Erongo "the best" and we would have to agree. We stayed for four days in Cape Town, drove through Namibia for ten, and then ended with five days at a Game Lodge in Greater Kruger, and Erongo definitely had the tastiest food and most beautiful setting. The love birds and the male agama lizards were stunning in their colorful display, and the rock hyraxes were funny to watch. Birders will love this spot, but we found the scenery to be the main draw.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Erongo is a special lodge if you want something a bit different & is very considered of its environment (tap water is strongly encouraged, along with 'water usage' reminders & strict rules about waste etc.) The tents & platforms are beautifully designed & arranged among the rocky environment with no two quite the same. They are quite rustic but include comfortable beds & good bathrooms. I loved how all the design detail in the lodge in both the private & shared areas, eg. bathrooms/stairways/pool/windows incorporates its natural environment – it’s very well done. Erongo is definitely a place to get away from it all – the nature drive was very special, including a short hike to a cave where there are ancient bushman paintings, & a spectacular sundowner spot with the most amazing coloured sunsets. The evening meal was ‘fine dining’ from a set menu, taken under the most incredible starry sky I have ever seen, with sociable seating around the firepit where we were joined by one of the managers – Murray. Both he & his wife, Leigh, were friendly, welcoming & helpful; & our guide for the drive & walks, Gelasius(?) was also friendly & very knowledgeable – a credit to the lodge. We really enjoyed the morning hike up ‘baboon’ mountain too. The only downside was that it really was very expensive, the most expensive stay of our trip & just a bit too much. (the drinks in the mini bar & the nature drive - which is extra, were also quite pricey). We & our friends were the only guests (in high season) & we only stayed for 1 night. It would have been great to stay for 2 to relax into the slow pace of the place & I get the impression reading other comments that they get lots of 1 night stays – probably mostly for the reason of cost. I would suggest they lower the rate slightly or offer some cost incentive to encourage longer stays – where I think both the guest & they (& their environmental considerations) would benefit. (p.s. I’m not sure why this is listed as Windhoek – it’s near Omaruru)

Room Tip: We liked room 10 - one of the an older style tents, but set furthest away with more privacy & po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roquefort les pins france
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed 2 nights ealy December, some tents were getting rebuilt, personnaly, we prefered the old ones. We had the last tent all the way up, very comfortable and not too hot at night, fantastic view and a lovely private back garden with our own outdoor "bath tub". Not all the tents have a private back garden.
We loved this place, the srevice was very good and the food excellent.
Omaruru is a very nice town with some interesting souvenir shops.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed in the Erongo Wilderness Lodge for one night after working in Windhoek. Its an easy 3-3.5 hour drive from Windhoek. The lodge is so quiet and in a beautiful rocky setting. The lodge has all new luxurious tents that take full advantage of the setting- very spacious and luxurious. The walks are lovely and the guides knowledgeable. A great escape if you need sun, nature and stars.

Room Tip: We had a tent that was at the end of the boardwalk - off on its own. Peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way from Etosha to Swakopmund. The tents are rustic rather than luxurious, but have all the amenities you need – fridge, tea/coffee facilities, good bathroom, lots of outlets for charging cameras etc, as well a deck to take in the beautiful views. We did both the sunset and morning walks, which were fun and interesting, and quite easy. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. We didn’t see much in the way of animals – the very cute rock dassies, dik diks and the porcupine near the restaurant at dinner time – but the landscape is really the drawcard here. The food was good and the restaurant has a lovely open deck with beautiful views. As in most of Namibia, the pool was too cold for us to use, but I did see some brave souls venture in!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Good welcome from "Johny" but then downhill.

Untidy reception area, not welcoming

Receptionist looked very untidy, no uniform.

Manager looked very unkept/scruffy.

Tents disappointing, small ( based on the sizes of other places) & very basic, we felt we were living on top of each other. Also tents looked as if they were "past their sell by date"

Room fan did not work, failed to oscillate, we mended it ourselves.

Food first night was not edible, Beef & Ostrich, other nights were better.

No lounge area except two small very worn sofas in eating area.

Bar staff did not know the prices of drinks & no price list in Bar area. Nobody, including the Manager knew the price of Campari, even though the bottle had been well used.

I was promised by the Manager a listing of bar prices, I requested on the first night, & was told it would be available the next morning. Needless to say it never arrived, very amateurish.

Lack of Restaurant staff in the evenings, & there was a sense of staff problems.

It should be stated that we, on our return home raised these issues with the company who arranged the stay, they have passed all comments to the Management company at Director level, their reply being “They have taken on board your comments”
Let us hope so.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Erongo Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 90590 | Klein Windhoek, Omaruru, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Omaruru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Omaruru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Erongo Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a special wilderness area in Namibia, encircled by the Erongo Mountains where the desert, mountain, and bushveld ecosystems combine. Here, in a secluded valley, you will find a lodge with ten luxury tented chalets in a dramatic setting of granite boulders and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Erongo Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erongo Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.