We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit even better than the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ai-Aiba Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omaruru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ai-Aiba Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O Box 555, Omaruru, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Second visit even better than the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you like rock art, this is the place. Manager Martin is a fantastic host, there is much to see in the area and he and Swen know how to find it. The lodge public rooms are lovely, open to the air, sparkling clean, comfortable and welcoming. Our room was clean, spacious, and quiet with a great view of the water hole. Food was good and well-served. We enjoyed watching the wart hogs "mow" the lawn on their knees and helping to feed Romeo the parrot, but all of this was second to the rock art sites. So many interesting panels, including those once copied by the Abbe Breuil and lovely hikes to find them. A special place!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw and stayed in appeared identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff very helpful, and the food tasty and well-prepared. We enjoyed seeing animals at the permanent waterhole not far from the hotel, and got a kick out of the warthog family grazing on the grass a few feet from the restaurant. Tranquil, quiet, serene setting. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The chalets are basic, no amenities at all, not very well furnished and are acceptable in cleanliness and comfort. The air condition is turned on at 1600 and turned off at 0700 automatically and there are no controls in the room to even adjust the direction of the fan. It was very hot when we were there and the room became like an oven. The hair drier has to be rented on a daily basis. I find this unacceptable as nowhere in their advertisement do they mention these two 'rules'. The meals are nice and the grounds are well looked after (the lodge supplement feed the animals when there is not enough food, which is commendable) and attract a resident family of wart hogs. What makes this lodge is the manager Martin and his assistant Sven. When I mentioned we were there because of the rock art around Ai-Aiba, Martin made it a point to show us not only the regular sites but the 'extras', some of which were truly beautiful. This lodge has a lot of potential but it gives the impression that it is taking advantage of the rock art to fleece the punters. The grounds have the usual game (giraffe, zebra, etc) which nearly every other lodge provide but what other lodges do not have is the unique San rock art. If you want to see these, you have to stay at Ai-Aiba so the owner has a captive audience without having to do much. Without Martin and Sven, the lodge has no charm. They are enthusiastic, fun to be with, knowledgeable about the area, its history and both have been expatriates long enough to give interesting and cohesive insight into the country. If you want to see the extensive rock art, it is best to make prior arrangements. Martin is very amenable. It is certainly worth it to do so. You will not be disappointed! The 'very good' is given primarily to the staff as the lodge is just about average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The Aiaiba Lodge lies in a wonderful Valley not far from Omaruru. The place has a stunning view into the Valley and offers some good Hiking and Animal Watching (Giraffes, Cats, Oryx etc.). The Lodge has 10 Cottages each with 2 Rooms. The Car can be parked close behind the Lodge. We enjoyed the good Breakfast and very good Dinner. What we didn't like was that our Room wasn't cleaned (just the Beds where made) and the Attitude of the Manager towards his Employees. Also we experienced that some Customers received an Extra Service by the Manager.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When we arrived at ai aiba we were not expected altough our travel agent got full confirmation. Luckly they had two rooms so we check in with our travel voucher. It was uncomfortable gettimg there and not being expected so we dont know where the problem was. The children enjoyed the stay alot. Martin and his staff was very friendly and dinner was also very nice. The aircons was a huge dissapointment as it is not advertised on the website that they work on timers and the rooms were very hot. It is only put on at 4pm in the after noon and works troughout the nkght till 6am. This place is beautifull but extremely hot and I believe that it must be the choice of the paying guest od when to put it on or off. Rooms are very basic and I honestly think alot more can be done at this lodge. You also have to pay to use a hairdryer which is absolutely rediculous. Also no fridges in the rooms to keep water cold. The location and views are beautiful and the layout of the lodge. Dinner was great and the food was superb.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The attention to detail and dedication of the management really shows at Ai Aiba. The staff actually seemed happy, which was almost unique on our trip. The food is good, the rooms clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our time, the grounds have lots to offer in terms of culture, wildlife, birds and scenery and it's a great place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The location is beautiful, and we saw plenty of animals wandering by, including some giraffes. It generally felt very relaxed and quiet, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a high standard, and the central lodge is also very nice with a small swimming pool overlooking the savanna and a bar area.

I can't really think of any negatives. When we arrived we were surprised there were no mosquito nets around the bed, though it seems now that it wasn't really a problem as we didn't get bitten at all. At some points it was difficult to find a member of staff, but when we did they were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ai-Aiba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai-Aiba Lodge

Address: P.O Box 555, Omaruru, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Omaruru
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty lodging in Omaruru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ai-Aiba Lodge 3.5*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai-Aiba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ai-Aiba Lodge to your Saves list