We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly but not quite.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo del Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palazzo del Mare to your Saves list
Palazzo del Mare
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Marmari
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nearly but not quite.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have had a very pleasant stay at the Palazzo del Mare. Must admit we were glad we spent the extra cash on a junior suite, the space and relative peace and quiet away from the main accomodation blocks was well worth it - the public areas around the pools (where most of the rooms are) can be quite noisy. So I would tend to agree with a previous reviewer that this well run property is probably closer to a solid four star grade unless you fork out for one of the beter rooms.

Positives
The Palazzo is a very well maintained property, the gardens are manicured, the standard of maintenance and housekeeping is very high
Quality and presentation of food in the main restuarant is very high, this is at the higher end of buffet style cuisine, several of the main dishes are cooked fresh on the spot while you watch. Good variety and selection for all tastes (unless you prefer sausage and mash that is!)
Pools are all well maintained
Front desk staff are generally very helpful and friendly - especially Lina who went the extra mile to meet our requests
All the waiting staff (bar and restaurant) were pleasant and helpful (with only one exception who persisted in trying to get me to spend more money than necessary - see below)
Visible management presence around the front of house which is unusual in our experience but seemed to help keep things moving
The beach area (whilst across a quite road) is well maintained
Ambiance was generally laid back (but then so was Marmari in general)

Less Positives
If you have a room in one of the main accomodation blocks, be aware that terraces on the swim up rooms are not exactly private, and visually the rooms are very close together
Given that the main accomodation blocks are on either side of the pool complex and that the property is generally on a long but relatively narrow lot, the main pool area and adjacent rooms can appear noisy / congested when the hotel is full (which it was for a few days until free transfers to the related Blue Lagoon Village property were offered) - the noise is channeled / echoes between the accomodation blocks with very little to attenuate it
Not all wines on the wine list were in fact available - alternatives were offered and as long as your waiter was not the in-house "Mr Upsell" (to be clear, this was just one persistent individual)you could still find some relatively good value for money wines
Your visit to the a la carte restaurant Bacco is not worth saving for that special evening - the food is no better than the main restaurant (clue: an electic truck was seen delivering dishes of food in the afternoon.....) and I am not sure most Italians would recognise this as genuine examples of their national dishes (clue: moussaka as dish of the day....).
The property next door (as in immediately on the other side of the wall) is the First Choice Holiday Village. I suspect this is not quite in the same class as the Palazzo, the main problem being noise pollution from the Holiday Village Entertainment Committee who by the sound of it were conducting their own version of the Hunger Games most days
The hotel did manage to completely run out of pool towels, apparently there just are'nt enough for all the guests when the hotel is full!

One thing to note - our visit was definitely in the early part of low season, I am not sure whether the overall experience would be quite the same in the high season, there were a few days over a weekend when the hotel was clearly full when the main restaurant was congested in the evening with simply too many people (in the end you were asked to specify a preferred time for your meal), and when the main pool was very noisy. So perhaps in the height of the season this is a place for families, and not a quiet break for two.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    65
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
108
185
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is lovely and all public areas are very clean and well kept. We had the basic room but as a 5* hotel you expect certain standards. There was a constant stream of ants until we blocked up their entry hole. Other than that the room was a nice 4* I would say and plenty big enough; we didn't have a pool view really but that didn't matter as we were hardly in the room.

The hotel staff were all lovely and very friendly especially at the lounge bar. The pool is amazing if a little cold - but is was only early May and after 5 minutes it was fine. Beautiful beach with comfy lounges and clear sea.

I would say not really a family hotel as there is a lot of water and not really much for children to do. It is also a fair distance from any other restaurants and bars but we found the prices at the hotel very reasonable in comparison to other 5* greek hotels.

Overall probably is a very good 5* if you pay more for a better room, if not it is a good 4* but Greek standards and would happily stay here again. Next time I would hire a car - just for a break from the hotel from time to time

Room Tip: Better rooms are in the 200s+
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is the fourth trip we have had to this hotel, and as I write this we have just booked our 5th.. for this summer.

The hotel is brilliant, if you are looking for 5* on Kos Island, this is the place to come to.. We have looked at other hotels on other islands and none of them look this good!

Please see my previous review for in depth details..

Kos Airport is still the only thing that annoys me about travelling to the Island but you spend so little time there that I can get over it! If you have no expectations then you can't be disappointed with it!

Highlights for Palazzo....
Swim up rooms are a must...
Cocktails on the beach at about 4pm..
Happy hour at the Beach bar...
Sunset..
Zia Mountain Village for an Evening Meal. (book through Tagnaki Tours)
Excellent, Friendly and Welcoming staff.. with excellent standards..

Can't wait to go back..

Room Tip: Swim Up Rooms with Direct Entry to the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo del mare for our honeymoon in Sept 2012. Great rooms downstairs, its well worth the upgrade for the private terrace and direct pool access.
Food was great over the whole 2 weeks and, although buffet style, the quality was great and varied enough to not be boring.
We usually had lunch at the pool bar which also did great food (the Italian sandwich was amazing) at reasonable prices (considering quality and that the hotel is 5 star).
Staff were always pleasant and helpful, room cleaned daily. Pool amazing.

This is the ideal hotel if you just want to get away from it all. The town if Mamari is small, with a few shops/restaurants and is 15-20min walk from the hotel.

Had an amazing time and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Majority of downstairs rooms have private terrace (2 loungers and umbrella) with direct pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel - I can not fault this at all, it is everything you expect from a luxury hotel in a tourist destination. rooms were great and spacious, food was great and well presented, (but as it is a buffet after 2 weeks got a bit boring) . Only comment I would have, is that if you turn up in the lat 15 minutes of breakfast, the staff are clearing up and occasionally I felt we were a hassle to reset a table.

Pools - These are immense, if you want to swim and relax in a pool then I do nto think you will beat these anywhere, clean, deep and quite.

Local area - There is really not much too it and it is quite run down, however the hotel has everything you could want so was not really a problem. I booked car rental with a local company in Marmari (local village) before I went, which saved me about £80 so worth looking into.

Kos airport- a not a nice place! Given that we had taxi transfers the airport and getting to the hotel was a nightmare. Our Taxi took about 20 minutes to turn up, which the Thompson rep apologised for, but all the coaches had left before we did, and then coming back it was horrendous in the airport. total lack of organisation and then 4 airplane passengers crammed into a space only really fit for 2 at a push. If you are flying charter - just be aware that the airport is a dump! Not the hotels fault so I have no marked them down because of this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Returned for second visit in June 2012 following an amazing time the previous year. Didn't think it could be any better but we were wrong. It was amazing

Pros

The hotel is simply perfect - however long you stay for wont be long enough!

Rooms - direct pool view rooms are well worth the upgrade

Staff - upon arrival, staff knew us as returning guests and were treated warmly. All the staff from waiter to senior managers work extremely hard and very long hours. We would like a special mention to Klaudia, Vasilas, Anastasia and Manos. These members of staff truly made our holiday. We hope these staff members are here next year. 

Location - set on a private beach and only 15 minutes from the airport, this really is heaven. 

Cons

Dress code at dinner was not always enforced. It's not too much to expect you to dress appropriately in a 5 star hotel

On departure, it took nearly 30 minutes for our bags to be taken from our room to reception (bearing in mind, walking the same distance took less than two minutes)

These two small niggles, didn't impact our holiday but wanted to give a balanced view. There are so many wonderful things about this hotel and so few negatives. Within a week of coming home, we had already booked for Summer 2013. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Before I booked our honeymoon I spent hours looking through trip advisor at a vast selection of 5* greek hotels, and glad I did a the Palazzo del Mare was everything I wanted for our honeymoon.

Firstly the hotel was beautiful, absolutely love the architecture! As we first approached the hotel it looked stunning, and we were not disappointed as we explored further. Check in was very easy and no waiting around, we arrived about 10 minutes before the restaurant closed so we were asked if we wanted to go and get something to eat.

Once Checked in (and fed) we were taken to our room on a golf buggy. We had one of the swim out rooms in the 200's, I had emailed in advance requesting this and were delighted with it. The room was just how it looked in the photos, the patio area was huge, our room was more set back from the pool so our patio was larger than most! Our terrace area was opposite the pool bar, although others on trip advisor had complained about the loud music, we found it fine, and I wouldn't have described the music to be loud at all on our stay. I think from memory we had room 237.

The pool was fantastic, we stayed in the middle of the summer holidays, and due to the sheer size, you never felt it was busy. We found the water temperature of the pool to vary throughout our stay, mostly it was warm, only cool on the days when it was a bit windy, but it was so hot in august even when the pool was a bit cooler it was still very refreshing to go for a swim.

Fantastic food, we stayed half board and found this suited us very well. Great selection of meals throughout the stay, even my husband who is quite fussy would thoroughly enjoy the dinners.

We hired a car for a few days whilst on the island, I would definitely recommend this as it's very easy to navigate round the island and a few great things to see. My favourite of which was Zia - It is a town up in the mountains, we came here one day and found a beautiful restaurant with stunning views, and subsequently booked up for dinner for the next night. This was one of my highlights as watching the sunset from this picturesque greek town is truly breathtaking and very romantic!

A few tips that we found quite helpful -
1. At breakfast if you ask the waiters you can get a latte instead of a regular coffee (at no extra charge)
2. As we arrived late on the first night (although just catching dinner) We got dinner included on the day of departure - as we were departing at 7ish we swapped this for lunch at the bacco (again at no extra charge)
3. We didn't feel we needed to have taken towels, as you have towels in the room, as well as getting beech towels on top of that, which you could change as many times as you wanted at the gym for fresh ones.
4. I know other people have said this, but definitely try and get a room in the 200's, all of them have the west facing terrace/balconies and was really nice to sit out in your own area in the sun all afternoon/evening.

Finally a couple of special staff mentions - there were two people in particular who we found to be outstanding, and certainly a credit to the palazzo, and the was Lina on reception and Alessandra, thank you for helping to make our stay so wonderful! Would definitely recommend!!!

Room Tip: Definately get a room in the 200's if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo del Mare

Address: Marmari, Marmari 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Marmari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marmari
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marmari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo del Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Mare, a luxury five star hotel with 175 guestrooms, was built in 2008/9 and extended in 2010. It is located near the village of Marmari, at the north-west coast of the island of Kos, only 50 m from the beach, 15 km from the airport and 17 km away from the centre of Kos island. The Hotel has a two-storey main building, one building with three floors, ten two-storey buildings and the area of the Presidential suite and the ten Executive suites, all with private pools. Each luxurious room and richly appointed suite features a bath or shower, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities (replenished daily), direct dial telephone, internet access and in-room safe (both free of charge), individual air conditioning and a satellite TV. All ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.Palazzo del Mare offers a variety of facilities like the Sogno main restaurant ( a buffet restaurant with terrace), the Pool Snack bar for lunch and the famous Bacco Italian a’ la carte restaurant (dinner only), which provides a traditional Italian atmosphere, but also an excellent service and classical dishes – all prepared fresh daily. For refreshing drinks you will find the Sole Pool bar, Vento Lounge bar, Porto Beach bar and Parola Café offering crepes and ice cream.Our international guests can enjoy a 4500 m² swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, an indoor heated pool (120 m²) with separate Jacuzzi, a children’s swimming pool, the fully equipped Onda Gym as well as the Armonia Spa (450 m²) with various treatment rooms, where our only goal is the inspiration and the ”harmony” of your body and soul. In the hotel you can as well find a mini market, a boutique shop and an internet corner.Ideal for those, who wish to try something new and combine a relaxed holiday with high personal attention, that puts guest’s comfort above all! From the moment you approach Palazzo del Mare, you know you are in for a quality experience…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Palazzo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Mare Marmari
Palazzo Del Mare Kos/Marmari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.