We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Hidden Gem of a town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Guiscardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Guiscardo to your Saves list
Palazzo Guiscardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Provinciale Vallecchia, 16, 55045 Pietrasanta, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pietrasanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cowbridge
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Hidden Gem of a town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a surprise the hotel and town are. The rooms are so stylish and staff so helpful and obliging. Excellent blend of old palazzo updated with the best of both worlds. The added bonus of a beach club at Forte di Marmi, with all mod cons, was the icing on the cake. Whoever was at reception was always ready to help out with restaurants, train timetables, places to visit and what to do. Shamefully my Italian is poor but all the staff spoke English to help us out. Brilliant find and Pietrasanta is a treasur of art galleries and restaurants.

Room Tip: Only nine rooms but whilst view from rear not brilliant but very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    23
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
87
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute and while it is very nice, I felt that £275 for a small "junior suite" which looked out on to a flat roof, disused shed and had large dead plants outside the windows was overpriced. This hotel has limited facilities, no pool or grounds, you park on the street outside and the breakfast area is "cosy" to say the least and there is no restaurant or bar. Service is minimal, information about the town only offered after we asked. It is a chic boutique hotel with modern art on the walls. Breakfast was good and wifi free. Not worth the money we paid but if you got it cheaper it is a clean, beautifully decorated, pleasant small hotel. It is located a short walk from the centre of Pietrasanta which is a really cool and lively small town for a short visit. I agree with a lot of the comments made by reviewer europair - the staff do seem rather absorbed with their beautifully created hotel, almost to the detriment of the service offered to guests. When I pay for an expensive hotel room I expect good customer service and hotel facilities as well as a high standard of decor.

Room Tip: The view from Suite Verde Cipollino is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was a great lovely hotel which we later discover is the number 1 hotel in pietrasanta. It is well deserved award. Myself and wife loved it . It was a perfect location for our honeymoon. The hotel very artistic and creative .. The rooms are between traditional and modern. Art is modern . it felt like being in a constant art gallery. The rooms and marbel is great..We loved the Bathtub..

Room Tip: Get the Parking Pass from reception . It will allow you to park anywhere in Pietrasanta. very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I, stayed at the hotel from July the 3rd to July 8th. and it was a wonderful and unique experience. We have been in other 5 star hotel in Pietrasanta, but Palazzo Guiscardo is the best by far.
The room, the service and the food are excellent. The ambience and the art surrounding the walls are unique.
All the employees make you feel like at home, what a gorgeous hospitality.

Mauricio Vallejo

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I don't live in italy since 10 yrs, but this past June I went back to my Tuscany and I stayed at the "Palazzo"
Not only his amazing location, the beautiful town, the beautiful beaches, but feeling cuddle by "The Palazzo" makes everything more amazing.

Room Tip: The Junior suite are a "must try"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

With my wife and two children we had an excellent stay in this outstanding location. Not only gorgeous rooms, but hospitality, great breakfast, art, every attention to detail and a wonderful genuinely enthusiastic staff.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We flew from NYC to have a wonderful taste of the natural beauty of Tuscany and we experienced the best vacation we could have imagined in Pietrasanta at Palazzo Guiscardo hotel.
Our family (we have two little girls) was hosted for an entire week in a first class and upscale environment all the while feeling as if we were in a contemporary art gallery surrounded by history.
Pietro, the director, made us feel immediately at home with a warm welcome and an impeccable service.
The apartment was terrific as well as the attention to details starting with the timely room service, the overall cleanliness not to mention the Hermes toiletries…
The breakfast service started off our days in the best possible way with a large assortments of pastries and fresh fruits.
In the evenings, we rarely ventured out for meals as we had the fantastic option of the hotel’s own restaurant Osteria alla Giudea located a short walk from the hotel.
I definitely would recommend Palazzo Guiscardo either for single people or families who wish to experience Tuscany at its best!

Andrea and Allegra, New York

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palazzo Guiscardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Guiscardo

Address: Via Provinciale Vallecchia, 16, 55045 Pietrasanta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Guiscardo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Pietrasanta Palazzo Guiscardo is located in an original Liberty style building that dates back to the 1800s. The hotel has eight rooms of which one suite and three junior suites all furnished in different ways, with antique furniture and canopy-beds. Soundproofed and independently air-conditioned with marble in the bathrooms enhancing their elegance. The reception and environment are those of a private home, with the services of a grand hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Escapio and Jetsetter so you can book your Palazzo Guiscardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guiscardo Pietrasanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Guiscardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.