We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying at a Local Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Volcans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Les Volcans to your Saves list
Hotel Les Volcans
George Sand, 63790 Murol, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Murol
Brighton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Like Staying at a Local Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We loved this local hotel and Murol. The hotel has a free car park and is right in the heart of the town from which we could walk everywhere, even up to the castle. The room was quite spacious, very clean and had good heating and blankets. The bathroom had a good shower as well. Our proprietors are a young couple who did everything to make our stay comfortable. The continental breakfast that we took each day was quite complete as well. Murol is one of the most interesting places that we have ever visited - Don't miss the Musee des Peintres de l'Ecole de Murol!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for my birthday whilst touring around the beautiful Auvergne region. This good value hotel is charming with pretty rooms which are comfortable and very clean. The young couple who have recently taken over this hotel are very welcoming hosts. The town of Murol itself is old and interesting to walk around. There is a very good selection of restaurants in walking distance, and also some nice shops. A quieter place to stay than nearby Chambon-sur-Lac.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We are just back from a road trip through France and Murol was one of the places we visited. We stayed a few days at Hotel Les Volcans and we were immediately welcomed by the owners. It made us feel comfortable, to be received by such nice smiles and friendliness, especially after a long drive.

The hotel is very simple and cosy, and definitely clean. We liked the homely and countryside feeling in the hotel. The owners, quite a young couple, are very nice and very helpful. They both speak very well English, their kids are lovely and liked to interact with us as well.

There was no internet connection in the room but there was connection downstairs in the shared living room.

We paid € 7,50 for the daily breakfast, which was for a typical French breakfast (croissant, butter, cheese, jam, coffee (with hot milk if you'd like), etc.). The breakfast is optional.

The location is perfect - at night it is nice and quiet. It is not far from anything. The owners are more than happy to help you with the sight seeing activities in and around Murol, they are absolutely lovely and warm people.

We would love to stay at Les Volcans again and we can definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. It is suitable for families (with kids), for couples, for singles, etc.

Also if you'd like to book a room with them, it is best to contact them directly rather than via a booking website.

Room Tip: We think that all rooms will be equally quiet. There are no elevators, but the owner of the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mequon, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Traveling from Paris to Provence, we broke up our drive with a stopover at Hotel les Volcans. The drive was lovely; the Auverne region is a gorgeous mountainous area with a beautiful vista at every turn. Arriving at Hotel les Volcans, we were a bit surprised to find it up against a main road, but it was indeed a quiet night's sleep that we enjoyed. No a.c., but the weather was cool in early May. We enjoyed Anne Mary's lovely garden with a cold beer upon check-in. She even offered us a choice of rooms as she wasn't booked up. Loved the deep-set windows. When a storm blew in, we were able to enjoy the breezes due to the deep roof overhang as well. Anne Mary proved herself a most courteous hostess when I left a necklace and earrings, contacting me by email and forwarding my "jewels" on to our gite in Provence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed two nights to do some walking in the Vallée de Chaudefour. It's a good base, right in the village, so you can walk out to restaurants and shops.

The couple who run it were very welcoming and helpful with advice about walking routes. The room was fine and the breakfast was very good, including a selection of local jams and cheese.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This delightful hotel was a real discovery. Because it was so relatively inexpensive, we didn't have high expectations, so imagine our surprise when we pulled into the the flower -filled grounds and beheld a charming and obviously much-loved hotel. M. and Mme. les patrons were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a brand new bathroom. Murol nestles in a deep valley and all the lanes are narrow and the hotel plots necessarily small: we were initally concerned that the traffic noise would disturb us but Madame was quite right when she said that all would become tranquil once the weekend visitors had returned to Clermont. There is ample parking and a pretty little garden in which we sat out in the sunshine. We were visited by a very sweet Collie dog who had lost his master and the children helped madame to comfort him until he could be collected. All this added to the charm and happy memories. Nearby are some super restaurants and there is plenty of choice. As well as the castle of Murol (on Sundays, alas, only a garrulous guided tour rather than any mediaeval jousting) Mme recommended the lac de Chambon which the family loved. Lots to do, especially for children. Breakfast the next day was generous and made even more delicious by madame's home made plum jam. I would be very happy to recommend this lovely hotel and we are very keen to go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Volcans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Volcans

Address: George Sand, 63790 Murol, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne > Puy-de-Dome > Murol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Murol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Les Volcans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Volcans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.