We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing a trick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale, KM 39, 98030 Forza d'Agro, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lee-on-the-Solent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Missing a trick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel, stunning views, should easily be rated higher if only they would pay more attention to the guests dining. The food was always serve yourself with hardly any choice from one evening to the next and the staff, with one or two exceptions, could be quite surly and curt even if you managed to catch their eye! The rooms were very clean with lovely views and the bar area was also very nice.

Room Tip: Upgrade the Grand Palace rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    148
    59
    40
    18
See reviews for
123
252
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our two week stay at the Baia Taormina Grand Palace hotel was a delight. We came for a well deserved rest and found it. The room was very comfortable and had a great large balcony overlooking the sea, like all rooms have. The staff is very helpful and generally friendly. A particular mention of Ms. Tina in Reception who went out of her way to organize the pick up of a package (small suitcase) for shipping by TNT.Excellent service.
This hotel is an oasis away from the charming bustle of Taormina and that is a blessing

Room Tip: The rooms in the Grand Palace are clearly better than in the Basic hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue & Sales at Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Paul,

many thanks for your positive feedback. It is a pleasure to have encountered your needs and a big thank from Tina from our Reception.

best regards, Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked 12 nights a double room at this magic 4 stars hotel through booking.com.
We enjoyed every minute, every sunrise or night spent on our superb terasse .The staff was extremely friendly and eficient-we loved Tina and Carmen and all personel from the reception, restaurant or the shuttle drivers. For exploring Sicily by car, visit Taormina and neighbourhoods or simply enjoy the sun at a private beach, or the pool it's an ideal place. Everybody is doing his best for your confort and satisfaction...so go,go,go!

Room Tip: the grand palace rooms(the new building) are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maratea, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is how a 4 star hotel should be like. 2 swimming pools, gym, restaurant, very good breakfast, fast and friendly service. add to this a magnificent view, a moon glittering above the sea, a pianist every night and you get an excellent mix.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in the world
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were booked 5 nights and stayed only 2 and that was because other hotels were booked out. We were not informed this place was 10 mins out of Taormina, that was our travel agent lack of information/knowledge, therefore We could not come and go as we wanted, as you had to book the shuttle to and from the hotel to get to Taormina. We wanted to swim in the ocean and it was only on the last morning we overheard another guest telling other people there was beach access. It was via a tunnel, but this was never told to us.
Our room had a spectacular view, however it was in need of a makeover badly! the tv was around 20cm, sitting on an old and unattracive stand. the wardrobe was ugly, there was no full length mirror, and the room was very plain and unattractive.
The balcony was small and for the 2 of us to site there co,for table we had to put the one sun lounge on its side and leaning against the wall.
This was definitely not the hotel for us and I would not recommend it for anyone who wants easy access to Taormina or to swim in the sea.
Staff did not volunteer any information at reception about services in the hotel, but this is not uncommon in Italy, we have learned to ask lots of questions when checking in.
To get to the reception we had to run the gauntlet of the smokers at the bar. The evening bar has no view, even though there are awesome views to be had, especially at disk when pre dinner drinks are the norm.
Average age of guest seemed to be around 70, not our age group either. Overall, a big disappointment and In all our travels this is the first hotel we have changed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for the feedback as shared on Tripadvisor.
Reading your words I sincerely find it difficult to find a point. Let me explain:
I personally met you upon arrival when you realized this hotel was not in the city centre of Taormina. You also mention you wanted to swim in the ocean and it should take a miracle to have the ocean in the centre of Taormina since everybody knows it is not located on the sea, at least the mountain part of the Greek Theatre and all monuments. Therefore we are not organized to make this miracle.
We are sorry the agency did not provide you with the correct information but in my opinion it is quite absurd to organize a trip from Australia and choosing our hotel for 5 nights stay without visiting our website and gathering more information.
I also assume you did not have a look at reviews on Tripadvisor, and just as an example, our Front Desk Staff is one of the most celebrated in reviews while you say they did not even give you the info you needed.
The last thing which really strikes me is the fact that you have chosen Mazzarrò Sea Palace for alternative stay for the remaining three nights. This hotel is a 5 stars luxury one while we are a four stars hotel with a good service according to reviews on the portals.
This seems like one person who wants to play football and chooses a tennis field to organize the match.
In any case we are glad you have enjoyed the astonishing views from our hotel.
Do not hesitate to contact me since I would be glad to better understand your points and in the meantime I thank you once again for the feedback and send my

best regards, Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Baia Tairmina - Carmen at the desk was a delight, Mario was a great host. All good things to say about the Hotel - food, room, VIEWS! , beach, staff, shuttles. They couldn't do enough for you.

One suggestion is to arrange your shuttles to the beach and Taormina early in the day so you get your choice - the shuttle bus has only 15 seats.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

It was a fantastic trip.
The staff is very professional. Can solve any problem and complete most difficult request.
It is very easy to get to Taormina and to the beach in shuttle, which goes every 45 minutes.
I also would like to mention excellent breakfast and dinner.
I really hope to come back to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Nazionale, KM 39, 98030 Forza d'Agro, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Forza d'Agro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms of Baia Taormina have a balcony or a terrace with superb views on the sea and overlooking the incomparable bay from Taormina to Giardini Naxos. Internet Wi-Fi connection is free of charge and guests can reach Taormina in 10 minutes with a private and free shuttle granted by the hotel. Two swimming pools are available for all guests and one of them is filled with natural sea water. The hotel has two restaurants with breathtaking views and offering either traditional Sicilian and international food. It is also possible to book beauty treatments or massages through the Exclusive Spa Centre of the hotel. Other amenities include a bar and pool bar, 24-hour Reception and one meeting room with audiovisual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel And Spa
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel Santa Teresa Di Riva
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Italy/Sicily - Province Of Messina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.