We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing balconies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale, KM 39, 98030 Forza d'Agro, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Forza d'Agro
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing balconies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Baia Taormina for three nights in September, on the third floor of the Grand Palace. Our room had an amazing and large balcony, very private with an unobstructed view of the ocean which was great to wake up to. The decor generally is a bit dated - maybe more suited to slightly older travellers than us (we're in our mid twenties). The room, restaurant and pool area were all spotlessly clean. We read that the trek to the grand palace was long but it didn't bother us (maybe 5 mins average) and the lifts were ok. If you're driving there is good parking right at the top to save you moving bags through the whole hotel. The pools were great - beautiful to sit by and the top one is very deep! There was some confusion in the shuttle bus and booking system - one left without us even though we were on time, and other times they didnt check the bookings for the return trip which could leave you with a wait or having to take a taxi. The service wans also a bit varied - staff always trying to be friendly but sometimes overwhelmed and a bit off hand. Overall a good option for staying near Taormina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guests from Melbourne,

many thanks for leaving such a kind feedback about your stay with us.
Also thank you for having remarked the confusion with shuttle, we are trying to improve this service during peak periods.
We hope to welcoming you back at Baia Taormina and send our

warmest regards, Mario Miano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    136
    57
    41
    18
See reviews for
98
222
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Baia Toramina for one week in September 2012 found the hotel to be very good with clean rooms large balconies and good facilities. The one thing that lets it down badly is the food,when you are paying 4 star prices we found it poor that you had to queue canteen style to get meal which was virtually the same every night. Breakfast was buffet style again with no variety. Staff were pleasent and helpful. A hire car is necessary as the hotel is about 7 kilometres from the town.There is a shuttle bus but there are only so many times you can walk around the town.
A & D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guests from Poole Dorset,

thank you for sharing your review.
I am sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay here with us regarding the food section.
We are committed to giving all our Guest an experience of excellence. I would really appreciate it if you would get in touch with me, either here on Tripadvisor or via email

best regards, Mario Miano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just had 3 nights here. Views to die for and the staff were great.
Food was disappointing as it was all buffet for tour groups so we catch the shuttle to Taormina and ate there most days.
Despite the food we were happy with this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guests from Newham,

thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.
As you noticed, our staff is dedicated to providing high-quality, personal service while the views are really unforgettable.
We have also read your comment about food and we take it into great consideration.
We hope you will have the chance to visit us again and send our

kindest regards, Mario Miano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A great good value hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and went out of their way to help us. There is a buffet style supper which is once again, great value for money.
We had a very nice room on the 3rd floor of the main building which was excellent. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dera Guests from London,

thank you for your lovely review about Baia Taormina.
I am delighted that you liked our breakfast and rooms.
We do hope to welcoming you back again soon upon your return to Sicily.

Sincerely, Mario Miano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was expecting great things from this hotel, but in reality it was a bit "tired", the bedrooms were very basic, clean but basic. No shelter from the sun on the terrace (don't bother with the Superior room its idential to the classic) so you couldn't sit out there and no privacy and the terraces were open to other rooms. No seat cushions at all, if you sat at the dressing table (I use the word lightly) you couldn't actually see yourself in the mirror as it was too high, not good when you are trying to put contact lenses in! The shuttle bus was a godsend as parking in and around this area a nightmare, but it only took 15 and you needed to book as soon as the booking sheets were put on the reception. I wouldn't recommend having a hire car as the roads are extremely steep and very narrow, very limited parking and at 3 Euros an hour, it soon mounts up. Breakfast was excellent with scrambled eggs and bacon, and a buffet of cereals, fruits, ham and cheese. If I go again I would go to a hotel within walking distance of Taormina because thats where all the restaurants are. Warning, The bed was the hardest I have ever slept on.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for a superior room, the only difference is the terrace but you have no priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guests from Somerset,

thank you for your opinion as expressed on Tripadvisor blog.
We have discussed all the points you mention and we value them a lot.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly since we hope to have another opportunity so that your stars can increase from 3 to 4.

best regards, Mario Miano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fantastic 4 day stay with very good service and attention to detail.
The location, services, food, shuttle bus to Taromina town and
standard was all excellent. The cleanliness, the choice of food
was fantastic. Could not find fault with anything.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms at the grand palace hotels are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dera Guests from Manchester,

thank you very much for your beautiful review.
We are very happy that you have appreciated your stay with us.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards, Mario Miano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We really loved this hotel. Our room was in the newer Grand Palace and was enormous with a fabulous large terrace which had loungers and a large seating table. It was quite a trek from the main hotel to the newer rooms. The views were spectacular and poolside was really stunning. The ony dissappointment was the expensive restaurant. We only had one adult eat and the kids had a
Astra dish each and we were charged over €100! The food was good but not really justifiable at that price.

Room Tip: We got a sea view family suite and it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guests from London,

thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay.
We are glad you have enjoyed your vacation.
As for the food, we have noticed that you liked it but you found it very expensive. Please note that our food rates are in line with other 4 stars hotels and moreover we always try to get the best products, especially for fresh fish and other things that have a certain cost if you want them to be top class.
We hope you will come back in Sicily and send our

best regards, Mario Miano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Nazionale, KM 39, 98030 Forza d'Agro, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Forza d'Agro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Forza d'Agro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms of Baia Taormina have a balcony or a terrace with superb views on the sea and overlooking the incomparable bay from Taormina to Giardini Naxos. Internet Wi-Fi connection is free of charge and guests can reach Taormina in 10 minutes with a private and free shuttle granted by the hotel. Two swimming pools are available for all guests and one of them is filled with natural sea water. The hotel has two restaurants with breathtaking views and offering either traditional Sicilian and international food. It is also possible to book beauty treatments or massages through the Exclusive Spa Centre of the hotel. Other amenities include a bar and pool bar, 24-hour Reception and one meeting room with audiovisual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel And Spa
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel Santa Teresa Di Riva
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Italy/Sicily - Province Of Messina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.