We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in Donsol for whale shark watching and relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysia Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Elysia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elysia Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Pangpang, Donsol, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Donsol
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best resort in Donsol for whale shark watching and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

An exelent resort with only 15 rooms directly to the beach and only 5 min walk to the whale shark center in Donsol. Very clean and firiendly. All rooms are facing the swimming pool. The food and service in the open air restaurant with a view to the beach is exelent. One of the best resort we have been to in the Philippines..

Room Tip: Room No. 1 and 15 has a window also to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
46
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a great value resort for those chasing the whale sharks. It is very clean and the staff are nice. Rooms are simple, but comfortable. Only a walk away from the whale shark tourist centre. The food is the only thing that could be improved slightly if I was to rate it an overall 5

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wow. Made me want to own the place.

Its clean, its simple and its done right. The clean, spacious and minimalist rooms are a great backdrop to the well planned grounds and excellent layout.

Great staff and great value place to stay. I would recommend you look no further than this place if youre headed this way. Other resorts around the country could learn from this very simple and effective formula.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here as part of a quick tour with Donsol Eco Tours. We couldnt be happier, the staff were amazing, helpful and nothing was too much trouble - even going to organise a honeymoon dinner for us when they found out.

The rooms are simple but serve the purpose well. The restaurant is fine and has some great dishes. The rooms overlook the pool which is again great.

The only thing would that would have made it better would have been to see Whale Sharks...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we went first week of November, the property was wonderful, the hammock, the pool and cabana type sitting outside made our day. Staff took good care of us, upgraded our room too. the food was generally average, but no complain.

We went at the very start of the season and practically the only guest not only for the resort but the entire beach. so some of the suggested food places etc were not even open. bit spooky at night though being the only tourist in the resort, but slept reasonably well for the first night. The Bed was good, the toilet was average, low water pressure; loved the window sitting while reading, enjoying the view. Would have stayed 1 or 2 more nights, if we were not the only guest at that time.

The beach is long but rocky/dead corals and not too fun to swim. But it was a good walk and few nice photographs, good part then was we practically had the entire stretch for ourselves and the few local fishermen. No whale shark, but we were not expecting them either, we went there just for a beach outing only.

overall was refreshing and rejuvenating stay, would go back, probably not at the peak season but not when alone either :-)

Room Tip: ask for the room by the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautifully maintained. Gorgeous pool. Five minute walk to whale shark visitor center/pier. Excellent service. Nice sunset and beach. Good value for the money.

Rooms could use more furnishings (tables, chairs, hangers). Food is average, but reasonably priced and convenient. Recommend taking a tricycle into town to Giddy's place for Bicol espres and Laing at dinner.

Donsol is a sleepy village with few quality places to stay, though they are frantically building more. I must have seen 5 new resorts being built during my stay. Overall the Elysia Beach Resort is the best.

BTW, if you want to see the whale sharks, make sure to go during peak season (March-May). They are few or none during the rest of the season, including my Nov visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The only reason one would stay in Elysia is to dive with whale sharks. Whale sharks are in Donsol between November and May. We stayed in June, and the place was all but deserted (restaurant was closed, transport from the resort was hard to find). Not the staff's fault, as we were the only guests there. It also was too cold and windy to really do anything (June is the rainy season). To add to the off-peak disaster, a hurricane happened off the coast some 2 weeks prior to us getting to Donsol, so the beach was covered in debris.

Unless you're going to stay in Donsol during the dry season/whale shark peak season, stay in Legaspi instead.

Room Tip: One standard room holds one double bed, so it may be best to book a room per person or per couple. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elysia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysia Beach Resort

Address: 6 Pangpang, Donsol, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Donsol
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Donsol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysia Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Elysia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.