We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Donsol” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysia Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elysia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Elysia Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Pangpang, Donsol, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Seattle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Donsol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautifully maintained. Gorgeous pool. Five minute walk to whale shark visitor center/pier. Excellent service. Nice sunset and beach. Good value for the money.

Rooms could use more furnishings (tables, chairs, hangers). Food is average, but reasonably priced and convenient. Recommend taking a tricycle into town to Giddy's place for Bicol espres and Laing at dinner.

Donsol is a sleepy village with few quality places to stay, though they are frantically building more. I must have seen 5 new resorts being built during my stay. Overall the Elysia Beach Resort is the best.

BTW, if you want to see the whale sharks, make sure to go during peak season (March-May). They are few or none during the rest of the season, including my Nov visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    53
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The only reason one would stay in Elysia is to dive with whale sharks. Whale sharks are in Donsol between November and May. We stayed in June, and the place was all but deserted (restaurant was closed, transport from the resort was hard to find). Not the staff's fault, as we were the only guests there. It also was too cold and windy to really do anything (June is the rainy season). To add to the off-peak disaster, a hurricane happened off the coast some 2 weeks prior to us getting to Donsol, so the beach was covered in debris.

Unless you're going to stay in Donsol during the dry season/whale shark peak season, stay in Legaspi instead.

Room Tip: One standard room holds one double bed, so it may be best to book a room per person or per couple. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went here for an overnight stay - just a weekend getaway. The hotel is clean, cozy and with simple amenities. The manager is friendly and approachable. Since we visited here during the off peak season, the hotel was sort of rented and reserved just for ourselves and two Korean female tourists. The pool is nice. A good place to relax, lay down in one of the hammocks facing the beach while watching the setting sun turn the sands to a golden shore. For me this is a good place for a quick break. Will try to visit this place again when the whalesharks are back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here last Jan 2012. Loved this resort. This is a great place to relax. Room was good with minimal amenities (no ref, no tv). I didn't mind though cause it was better to stay outside and appreciate nature. We were also very happy because we were able to swim with a whaleshark! :) This was definitely an unforgettable trip. My only complaint is the food. Just eat at Barracuda bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were very happy with Elysia. The staff was very helpful and responsive with booking, the location is walking distance from where you go for the whale sharks, the rooms are simple but very clean, the resort is small but has lots of places to relax (hammocks, beds by the pool) and perhaps best of all, the food was probably the best I've had in the Philippines. We'll be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very simple rooms but also very stylish. Hammocks and daybeds everywhere - no need to reserve seats!
Short 5 minute walk to the Butanding Tourist Centre and plenty of hotel restaurants and local restaurants along the way if you don't want to eat at the hotel restaurant.
We had a very relaxing stay here, despite our frustration at not seeing the whale sharks the first time we went out.

Room Tip: Room 1 has an additional window looking out directly to the beach complete with window seat. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I travelled to Donsol in the low season, and was disappointed with Elysia. I made the mistake of booking online (non-refundable), but even so, I left after 1 night of a 4 night stay. I was the only guest in the resort for some of my stay, and did not see a single other person (no staff!) for 24 hours after check in. The restaurant was not open, and the closest restaurant was about an hour away on foot. There were no tricyles in the area, because there were no tourists, so walking was the only option.

I was not comfortable with the level of security (none) at this hotel and the locks on the doors were flimsy and there was no safety latch. Also, in-room amenities were lacking considering the price of the rooms. No shampoo, only a bar of soap. The pool had a vaccum in it, so was not useable. I would not stay here again, even in peak season. I feel like the resort should have closed, or discounted rates, for what they were able to offer people (which was not a lot). Oh, and no bottled water either. I had to walk for an hour to get a bottle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysia Beach Resort

Address: 6 Pangpang, Donsol, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Donsol
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysia Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Elysia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.