We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food real authentic decor and food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benton's Sugar Shack

Benton's Sugar Shack
Route 175, Thornton, NH 03285
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Thornton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Freeport, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food real authentic decor and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Felt like we were back in time , and people and food were the BEST. It was clean and had lots of choices on the menu. If there is one complaint it is they gave us too much food. Whished I was home and would have used a gfoggy bag but was traveling. Have to expeience thios PLACE

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    22
    8
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My main goal was to experience the sweet nectar from Sugar Shack, so Blueberry pancakes were the vehicle of choice... AWESOME they were! Meals come with the BEST home-fried potatoes, and another side, I just had to try the maple baked beans, they were the best I've ever had. We were a party of 5 and had about 40 min. wait, BUT lucky enough to experience LIVE music and tap dance show to make the wait slip by in no time!!! It took awhile to be served our meals, but again it was worth the wait. The staff are hard working and very attentive with coffee refills and constantly checking on your order. We did not have any leftovers, BUT we didn't need lunch, still full late into the day.. MANY folks had their dogie bags to go. The atmosphere is very warm and welcoming, there's even a cute little shop where you can purchase maple syrup, jams, fresh baked breads, as well as t-shirts and other gifts... Can't wait to be back in Thornton again to ENJOY the best breakfast ever!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Plenty of good home cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

How many times can you say you've had leftovers when out for breakfast! This place had very friendly attentative staff & fast service! The food is served on paper plates with plastic utensils, but the plates are overflowing with delicious food! I would get here early though as it is a small place and fills up pretty quickly! They open at 8:00, we got here a little early to a crowd waiting for them to open! When we left the gift shop area was full if people waiting to be seated! I would definitely come back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were here for two weekends and managed to eat at the Sugar Shack once on each weekend. We got there just after the place opened for the morning so that we would be able to get a seat. When leaving, there was always a line waiting for tables to be emptied. The food is fantastic and in large quantity so that you definitely do not leave hungry!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Benton's Sugar Shack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a family run business that has been here for a three to five generations. Large number of choices for breakfast with their own maple syrup, which is also available in their store front. The hours are weekends (year round) from 8 am to 2 pm. It's best to arrive rather early or you may have a lengthy wait as this place is pretty popular!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benton's Sugar Shack also viewed

Thornton, White Mountains
Waterville Valley, White Mountains
 
Campton, White Mountains
Thornton, White Mountains
 

Been to Benton's Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benton's Sugar Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.