We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shamrock Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shamrock Motel
Save
You added The Shamrock Motel to your Saves list
2913 U.S. Route 3, Thornton, NH 03223   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Amazing experience with my family of four. Very pleasant host and the place is a steal. The rooms are very comfy and neat. No mess or untidy area, right by the highway. The breakfast they offer is simple but hits the right spot. For couple of days the place is perfect for couples or family or just by yourself. The hosts are very charming, polite and soft spoken. Like it a lot. Gives you the homely feeling away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We came back for our second annual visit this past July. Our stay was peaceful and pleasant. The proprietors are welcoming and kind, as well as knowledgeable about the White Mountain range with lots of tips and insights about different locations to visit for views or for a good workout!

Our room was spotless, cozy, and a comfortable temperature. The mini fridge is a helpful amenity. The other guests are always great, too. Families and couples alike are happy to chat about their recent hiking accomplishments or when they arrived and where they are headed next, but even when occupancy is high, there is still plenty of privacy. The view from the front porch of the motel is calming and beautiful. I wish I was having my coffee there and taking in that view right now!

Thank you for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

we have been to the shamrock motel several times and always have a great time. the rooms are clean and the hospitality is terrific. Byron and Donna alwayies make us feel welcome.The view from our front poarch was breathtaking, we look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I recently spent three nights at the Shamrock Motel. We stayed in Cottage 1, which suited our needs very nicely. Loved the screened in porch and the 2 bathrooms... We all enjoyed spending time at the pool, hanging out in the Shed, and toasting S'mores in the fire pit. My kids got a real kick out of the goats and rabbit that Byron and Donna have as pets. Byron and Donna were the best....they run a great, well-priced gem in New Hampshire, that has beautiful views of the mountains and is fairly close to major attractions!! Their continental breakfast is an added bonus. The pride they have in their motel shows! We are looking forward to next summer, when we can visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Shamrock's hosts are wonderful ! Smiling, always here when you need some advices about the best way to enjoy the area... We'll keep forever sweets and beautiful of this cute place. A place, quiet and charming. And really clean too !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from a 3-night stay at the Shamrock Motel and Cabins and this lodging and their hosts, Donna and Byron did not disappoint! First off, they are pet-friendly which is not easy to find these days. My min-pin and I enjoyed a stay in a large cabin, #10 on the far end of their property with loads of privacy. Actually this cabin was more of a cottage and it was roomy with 2 bedrooms and a combined kitchen/living room area. There were a couple of fans to keep us cool and a nice sized TV to watch programs/news on... outside the cottage and (this was the amazing part for me being an avid gardener), the grounds are tastefully landscaped and one gets the feeling of being out in the country with a variety of different trees, shrubs, perennials, etc. This is NOT your run-of-the-mill motel!! This feels like home!! Thanks again to Byron and Donna for accommodating me and my doggy at such short notice! As a matter of fact, I extended my stay an additional night as I felt so 'at home'... For me, the location was absolutely ideal as the property is right on Rte 3 North, at the foothills of the White Mountains and just a short drive right on Rte 3 into North Woodstock and Lincoln. Also, there is an enormous field across this property with amazing views of the foothills... the location has tons of privacy. The views from the pool are just that and, therefore, a very relaxing ambience! If you prefer a quiet, country-setting with lots of natural landscaping and a homey-cottagy and rustic feel, then the Shamrock Motel and Cabins are for you! Also, the kids will love the goats and the rabbit they have on hand to pet and feed! I will most definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Shamrock Motel for two years in a row, and use it as our jumping off point for hiking in the White Mountains. The motel is modestly priced and impeccably clean. The price includes continental breakfast and coffee. But best of all, Bryon and Donna are kind beyond measure. They always make us feel welcome and even offered breakfast to my sister, who drove in the next morning to meet us. This is the only place we'll stay from now on when we go on backpacking trips in the White Mountains.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shamrock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shamrock Motel

Address: 2913 U.S. Route 3, Thornton, NH 03223
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Thornton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Thornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run motel located in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shamrock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.