We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many buddhas...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shwe Oo Min Paya

Shwe Oo Min Paya
Oo Min Road, Kalaw, Myanmar
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Kalaw
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Aberdeen, UK
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“So many buddhas...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a cave filled with many many buddhas. We were initially going to visit Pindaya but changed our mind as we had seen a LOT of buddhas by this point, so this cave was worth a short visit instead. Its really just a cave filled with loads of buddha statues, but for the most part has managed to escape the neon lights and tinsel which surrounds so many other buddhas in the country.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Compulsory place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had visited this place about 2 times when I was young. Found great improvement in transportation especially the roads.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Main pagoda in the are”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is popular with the locals, and the views from it are as interesting as those within it. Worth going to if you are in Kalaw but not worth a special trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trekking in Kalaw, Myanmar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

27 Mar 2013: part of my trip to Myanmar was trekking in Kalaw. At early in the morning, I was transferred by car to Tha Yet Pu village ( 30 minutes) where I met the trekking guide and started walking to Kan Par Ni village (1 ½ hours). We visited different families of the village and saw the pottery and black smith workshops. On the way, I saw dust rising from afar. The guide told me to give way because the tracks were narrow. To my astonishment, we had to give way to a massive herd of cows, and followed by buffaloes!!! The guide cooked us lunch in his house, made mostly from bamboo, amazing!! After lunch we proceeded to Waa Gyi Myaung village (located on the highest mountain of Inle lake region, 3 hours) through different villages of Taung Yoe, Danu and Pa O ethnic minorities. The Pa-O tribe is renowned for their very individual dress. Both men and women wear long black trousers and shirts with the women offering splashes of color and brightness with their turbans and dramatic earrings.. As a tribe whose economy is based on agriculture, most of the work going on was focused on their main crops of wheat and ginger. Finally at the end of the day, we reached a secluded monastary locatedin the mountain. And that was my accommodation for the night! In the open prayer hall, we had our dinner, slept and next day's breakfast. A 3am, a priest came out to pray in the hall. What more can you ask with Buddha watching over you and a priest chantting prayers while you sleep?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice walked with many Buddha images inside. The cave was quiet, only us and two other local visitors. The case was damp and as other religious site in Myanmar, no footwear is allowed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shwe Oo Min Paya also viewed

 

Been to Shwe Oo Min Paya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shwe Oo Min Paya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.