We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a homely country cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Amara Mountain Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalaw
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wallasey, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Like a homely country cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We only stayed one ought at the Amara Resort but it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel consists of beautiful cottages set in beautiful gardens. The room was spacious and comfortable with antiques and paintings scattered around and in the pleasant lounges in the cottages. Food was pleasant and used fresh vegetables and fruit from the hotels own gardens. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We only stayed one night after a long drive from Heho. The journey to Kalow made the journey worthwhile. If trekking I would imagine this hotel would be a good base. The room, in an old colonial house was big with a four poster bed. The bathroom was well appointed. However there was no TV or refrigerator in the room. There is also no air conditioning but this is not a problem as it gets quite cold at night, in fact a thin duvet was needed. This was the only hotel in our tour of Myanmar that charged to use Wi-Fi, $5, it also gave a very bad exchange rate from dollars to kyats. The hotel only has a few rooms but did not seem busy, this meant that eating in the restaurant was a bit 'soulless' but as the hotel is a long way from the centre of town it was really the only option. Breakfast was not buffet style but was reasonable with some choice included.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a great change from the normal .A real retreat, superb staff ,superb room ,superb food.the only reason it does not get 5star is I like a drink in the evening and apart from restaurant there is no place to get a drink and no mini bar in room but apart from that i could not fault it

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I am very conflicted about our stay at Amara. We were there one night.

Pros:
- absolutely beautiful rooms and grounds
- incredible food at their restaurant (and great ambience)
- wonderful service

Cons:
- we felt nickel and dimed for everything. they grossly overcharged us when booking a trek to inle. We paid way too much per day (compared to every other traveler we met who was doing the EXACT SAME thing) and they even included a bunch of add-ons that were also ridiculously overpriced (delivering our bags at the end of the trek, the boat on inle to our hotel). they also charged $5 for internet that did not work.
- they forgot to charge us for everything so they even called our guide during our trek asking for more money. it was hard to argue over the phone and we felt stuck.
- it was difficult to do anything in kalaw not through amara because they werent that close to the town, which made their prices feel a bit predatory.

overall, we had a good stay but left with a pretty bad taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As others have mentioned, a lovely place and gardens and a nice breakfast and setting. This place is isolated from town, too far to walk, and hilly to ride if you stump up for the expensive bike hire. The real issue is the LOUD BARKING PACKS of DOGS virtually all night which ruins a peaceful nights sleep. What a shame something can't be done about it. With no fridge, no soundproofing between rooms and inconsiderate house guests talking loud, it spoilt our stay somewhat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

While the grounds, rooms and setting of the hotel were lovely, the absent staff and $120 a night price tag made my friend and I feel we had gotten a raw deal.

Compared to other hotels we stayed at outside Yangon, the quality of the rooms and service did not match up. We did not have an air conditioner, TV, or fridges in the room. It cooled down when we slept with the windows open but there were barking dogs outside. Our shower cycled between hot and cold water and drips and a downpour.

Chintzy red curtains cover the windows and the bed linens seem primarily made of polyester. The purple pillows did not match the overall design. All white would be much better.

Staff were extremely polite and competent but no one seemed to step up to ensure we were having a nice stay. We had to tell the kitchen we would have dinner in advance so they would open for us. Although the food was quite tasty and in a lovely setting, we ate equally tasty meals down the hill in Kalaw.

The hotel is truly lovely, however, and I imagine quite bustling with staff and guests in the high season. But I will not recommend it to friends unless they pay less than $75.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

For what you get it is expensive. No fridge for a cool drink, no TV, no aircon & no fan either..I went for a walk but no where to go....other than dogs running out barking at each other & me! Asked about dining & was told we needed to order "right now" & they would arrange to have it for us at 7pm. We did & the food was quite good but expensive. Breakfast was very good & we were the only diners so def low season!

Room Tip: Upstairs, spacious but no facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Mountain Resort

Address: 10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaw is a small town in Shan State, formerly created by the British government during colonial times as a summer resort in the highlands. The Amara Mountain Resort itself consists of two buildings, both colonial style and one built as early as 1909. It is surrounded by a cottage garden with ancient trees, brightly colored flowers and a bio garden, whose products are served fresh in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Amara Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.