We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What a joy"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoke Gabriel Lodgings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoke Gabriel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Badgers Retreat, Orchard Close, Paignton Road, Stoke Gabriel, Totnes TQ9 6SX , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Weekly Rate B&B
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"What a joy"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Badgers Retreat was everything we anticipated and more. Our first experience of a Wolsey Lodge and it more than lived up to its reputation. David and Helen go above and beyond to ensure everything is perfect for your stay. The breakfasts are first class, the beds sumptuous, the views spectacular and they have the happy knack of making you feel YOU are the most important guest they have ever had. David's helpful knowledge of the surrounding area for walks, wining and dining and activities was wonderful. We shall certainly be recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: The ensuite rooms have views across the valley and your own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
79
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Badgers Retreat has certainly earned its 5 Star rating. Combine this with Helen and David's hallmark of Comfort, Hospitality and Warmth. In short always a memorable stay with a lasting impression.
We first stayed in April and came back for a longer stay in June.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thanks to Helen and David for a lovely weekend. This was a last minute visit and so a great surprise to find such a top quality B&B. Perfect modern clean room and bathroom, with beautiful view from the balcony. Fantastic breakfast (better than many hotels), nothing too much trouble, will definitely return, recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McClellanville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ultra modern luxury in a very warm and friendly atmosphere. Having about 5 months experience staying in B&B's over 3 trips to UK, we can definitely say that Stoke Gabriel is tops in UK!
Everything we could want had been anticipated, every request done with pleasure. Whether recording something on TV while we were out, scanning some paperwork I needed online, or maximizing our time in the area - David and Helen made it happen.
Helen and David are the friendliest most caring hosts we have met!

Room Tip: Make a reservation in advance as they are very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you're looking for the perfect place to stay, Stoke Gabriel Lodgings is definitely the place for you. It offers everything you could wish for the perfect break away. We've stayed in many hotels and B & B's but this is the best yet. Stunning location and beautiful views from our bedroom (with it's own balcony), modern light and bright furnishings with real attention to detail, everything was spotlessly clean and tidy with a bathroom that I wanted to take home with me, in fact it's my dream house and location! David and Helen were great hosts and made us feel very welcome, we even had a cream tea on our balcony on arrival. Perfect is the only word for it! We hope to go back again very, very soon.

Room Tip: A room with a Balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

David and Helen made our stay in Stoke Gabriel really special. They are genuinely lovely people and their generosity, warmth and thoughtfulness fills every corner of Badgers Retreat. It was the first time I had holidayed alone with my 3 year old daughter and she very quickly voted with her feet by making herself very much at home - they welcomed my daughters 'part of the family' attitude showing her how to feed the guinea pig and 'help' prepare breakfast. Wewere introduced to 'crabbing' at the Weir - restaurant tables were booked, clear directions to local beaches given and problems solved. Stoke Gabriel is a gem of a village and the location ideal for exploring beautiful Devon. I could not have wanted for better hosts. the rooms were quiet, extremely comfortable with fabulous views and I appreciated the filter coffee provided in the room and my daughter appreciated the bowl of sweets as well as biscuits - all signs of the typical 'extra-mile' hospitality that we experienced. My only hesitation in recommending it is that we don't want it to be booked up next time we go.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Simply exceptional in every possible way, with not a stone left un-turned! David and Helen had everything down to a fine art and it was wonderful to be welcomed into their beautiful home. I will definitely be going back and highly recommend this amazing find! Truly unique and special! :)


Ruth. Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stoke Gabriel Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Gabriel Lodgings

Address: Badgers Retreat, Orchard Close, Paignton Road, Stoke Gabriel, Totnes TQ9 6SX , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Stoke Gabriel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke Gabriel
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoke Gabriel Lodgings 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning modern architecture, bright open living spaces and incredible views are the hallmarks of Stoke Gabriel Lodgings, a Wolsey Lodge luxury bed and breakfast (B&B) that is quite distinctly different. Set high above the River Dart just outside the quintessentially English village of Stoke Gabriel, near Totnes in Devon, the house was completed in 2010 and has been designed to take full advantage of its elevated location deep in the Devon countryside. On arrival in Stoke Gabriel you will be warmly greeted by your hosts David and Helen and offered a classic Devon cream tea and a chance to take in your rather special surroundings. The luxury B&B guest accommodation features rooms that are spacious and lavishly furnished with comfortable seating areas, televisions and delicious offerings on tea trays. The en-suite bathrooms are equally well thought out and designed complete with wet shower areas and heated towel rails for added comfort. Patio doors open to your own private balcony overlooking the garden and Devon countryside – a perfectly quiet retreat to enjoy the peaceful Stoke Gabriel location. Oak floors and furniture of the guest living and dining rooms reflect the contemporary light and airy ambiance whilst outside the newly planted garden landscape is best enjoyed from the large terrace or conservatory. Breakfast offers an array of cooked delights whilst dinner can be taken at one of the many excellent local pubs and restaurants. Your Hosts: As hoteliers for over 30 years, David and Helen Littlefair know exactly what their B&B guests expect and, together with their three grown-up daughters have created a lovely family home to share. Holidaying in Stoke Gabriel for many years before building a home here, their intimate knowledge of the best places to visit are eagerly shared with guests staying at their rather special, luxury accommodation. The Location: Stoke Gabriel Lodgings is located in Stoke Gabriel, near Totnes in Devon. National Trust and English Heritage properties as well as the South Devon Coastal Path, beaches galore and the diversely interesting towns of Brixham, Dartmouth, Totnes, Paignton and Torquay are all within reach. Above all, why not make this luxury bed and breakfast accommodation your base for exploring the wild open splendour of Dartmoor, perfect for walking and cycling and so much more. Attractions Near Stoke Gabriel Lodgings: Dartmouth & River Dart, Greenway House & Gardens (former home of Agatha Christie), Coleton Fishacre & Gardens (D'oyley Carte family's former home), Compton, Totnes & Dartmouth Castles, Beaches at Goodrington Sands, Broadsands, Preston, Blackpool Sands & Slapton Sands, South Devon Steam Railway, Dartington Hall Education Centre, Benedectine Monk's Buckfast Abbey, South Devon Coastal path for walks, Fishing port of Brixham. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoke Gabriel Lodgings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stoke Gabriel Lodgings to your Saves list