We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - peaceful and private” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages Monreale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cottages Monreale to your Saves list
Cottages Monreale
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   81 The Crescent, Sassafras, Victoria 3787, Australia (Formerly Monreale Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location - peaceful and private”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Far enough from Sassafrass- but close enough too

We stayed in the Watergarden - but all the cottages looked similar , although different sizes. You feel like you are by yourself in the middle of the forest. We cooked our own breakfast - fresh ingredients supplied . Plenty to do in the small townships all within short driving distances

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
4
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

As you walk up the path to Monreale reception, its almost like being in another world. It's so green and the gardens are beautifully manicured with picturesque little bridges, big established trees and even a trout pond - Each cottage is tucked away with completely private views.
It's well off the main drag and when you wake up in the morning its to the sounds of birds chirping and nothing more. Staying in both 'the Sanctuary tower' (Linden Gardens) and 'Lochiel' B&B's, we awoke to trucks blasting past on both occasions.

I have stayed at Linden Gardens, Lochiel, and just about every B&B on the Mountain that has advertised luxury 'frilly bits' free accomodation. I mean, a touch of country is lovely, but doilys under every paded tissue box is just too much. Monreale is the only place to stay that meets every one of my fussy requirements:

*The only one of the mentioned properties NOT located off a main road
* Real wood fire places not gas
* Extremely comfortable spa's with a view to the television
* Tank water so no guilt using the spa's
*Great up to date dvd library
* Really lovely hosts - Cheryl is just wonderful
* Breakfast provisions local, fresh and much better quality than the others.
* Port and choccy's as a gift yummo!
*In-room massages a must.

Have stayed here about 6 times over the last few years and the quality has not wavered. I do not write this review to bring down the other b&b's - they are also very nice, but when I look at trip advisor it is to compare venues of a similar nature.
Lochiel- I didn't even meet the hosts, the key was under the mat and it felt a lot like a hotel. We awoke to traffic.
Linden - Booked on wotif ($290) and as a result was treated extremely second rate. Only booked the day before but felt embarrased when this was pertinently emphasised without a smile in front of other guests at reception. Eggs were microwaved for breakfast. Woke to traffic

Monreale - Hosts Cheryl and Karl delightful and welcoming, remember details about you, accomodation outstanding, peaceful, best outlook and was the best price ($270). There is literally nothing you can think of that is not provided.

Stay here, you will not regret it :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

A relaxing get away, lovely suroundings, peaceful and romantic. Set with beautiful gardens and waking up to the sound of nature. the spa was awsome. and the cosy fire and soft music heated the atmosphere. only stayed 2nights there, would of loved to stay longer. A good place to stay if you want to get away from the fast paced city life or if you want to impress your partner.Also Great Honey moon Retreat. I would get married there!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Watergarden Cottage at the Monreale Estate in Sassafras.

The cottage was beautifully set up for our arrival. From the Muscat and chocolates on the coffee table, to the image of a glowing fire place on the TV. The cottage was cozy yet spacious. Set up with everything that you could need including a fireplace and corner spa for those cold nights in the Dandenong Ranges.

Although I would recommend that you shower at a time when you think no one else is in the shower. We suspect the water system is linked with the other cottages. Showering at night was fine but in the morning it was a bit temperamental.

It is a must to order a dinner package. Quite reasonably priced for a 3 course meal including a bottle of wine. It is well presented and brought straight to your door.

I would definitely recommend this property and hope to stay there again. It is perfect for a romantic getaway and the staff were really great too.

  • Liked — The muscat & chocolates were a very nice touch.
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages Monreale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages Monreale

Address: 81 The Crescent, Sassafras, Victoria 3787, Australia (Formerly Monreale Estate)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Sassafras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Sassafras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottages Monreale 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages MONREALE offers a world of indulgence...sophisticated accommodation, romantic dinner pleasures and spa packages. The estate boasts a 100 year old historic country house, four classic cottages and two heritage retreats nestled in magical rainforest gardens featuring waterfalls, ponds and tree fern groves. Elegant country chic decor, wood-fires, deluxe spas in open plan living with views that frame picturesque scenery offer a totally secluded destination for lovers of romance, life and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cottages Monreale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages Monreale Sassafras, Victoria, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages Monreale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.