We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Week-End Getaway!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hastings Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hastings Resort to your Saves list
Hastings Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   14 Beaver Creek Lane, Gilmour, Ontario K0L 1W0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Week-End Getaway!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We purchased a Buytopia coupon for 2 week-end nights for the price of one.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Nicole at the Front Desk. Throughout our stay, her attentiveness and effort to make our stay special...made our stay special. Always very friendly and accommodating.

The room was cozy and warm (It was still around 8 during the day and around 0 at night). The Lodge was made of wood and had that wonderful country "wood" smell when you walk down the hallway towards your room.

Nicole gave us a tour of the Chalet. It was very nice with lots of space for 4 couples
(4 Bedrooms) and a pull-out bed.

The Dinner in the restaurant (Saturday & Sunday), in our opinion was of 4-Diamond (CAA) claibre. Our Server, Alana was professional, friendly and attentive. Her recommendations were perfect. The food was definitely a 5 out of 5, We shared the Ribs on one night and Pork loin the other, along with many of the appetizers-all delicious.

Breakfast in the restaurant was prepared by Nicole. I highly recommend the Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal and the "Build your own Omlette" (Portabello Mushrooms, Onions and Fetta for me-Yeah baby!).Very delicious and great value.

I can imagine how much fun this resort will be in the Summer time when the activities (Canoeing etc.) are available. We chose to drive around for a few hours and come back by 7pm for Dinner each evening. We found a Bowling Alley open just a few minutes south of Bancroft, just like a scene out of a 1950's movie (Country fun at it's finest). Had a blast!

We stayed from Friday evening to Monday Morning. We extended our stay by an extra evening for only $50.00, great deal.

The area around is very magical and grounding at this time of year. The smell of the wilderness, the quiet evenings on the balcony, listening to the wind blow through the many trees as they sway, gently knocking into each other.

We will be back and highly recommend this place for anyone wanting nice romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Hastings Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your exellent and sincere review of our property. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the premises. We understand that we have room for improvement and we are working on making the property and the service more enjoyable for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    35
    26
    25
See reviews for
28
115
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pro....Beautiful setting in naturally setting
Con>>.Service was horrendous...all smiles no action (unless you wanna pay) at resort
Con>>...Food was good but pricey for the size of it...and no ice for my drinks???
Pro...The grounds were well maintained and the staff helpful..(someone pick up after the dog please)
Con >> not much for activities unless you want to pay thru the ##@ for an (atv>snowmobile)
Pro...Great getaway for couples looking for peace and quiet away from the city
Con>>> Manager seems a bit grumpy and never seems to be available to talk
rooms were small and in need of repair
We were glad we had a coupon for this place ...even then wasnt worth it...save your money for somewhere better

Room Tip: Get one with a non broken shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Hastings Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for registering on this website and finding time to review our property.
Unfortunately in your review you don't always clearly articulate what you mean. What do you mean by 'horrendous service' if everyone was smiling at you?
If you are implying that the service is horrendous based on the fact that your drink was lacking ice, please accept our apologies. Our staff would have gladly replaced the drink for you, if you asked.
We are glad that you enjoyed our grounds. We dedicate a lot of efforts and resources to make sure that the grounds are always clean and taken care of. However, as we are located in the middle of a forest. Wildlife are often visiting our grounds. For instance, we currently have 9 geese and a couple of swans enjoying our manicured snow free lawns. Our guests, who come to experience the serenity of untouched nature, enjoy sighting wildlife on our grounds.
We are not sure if you enquired about our ATV rental pricing. We are charging less than competition and, with a purchase of a Groupon deal, you received a 25% discount for the ATV rental.
We are glad that you enjoyed the food at the restaurant. However, we would like to note that in order to offer our guests high quality food, we need high quality ingredients and a skilled chef. We regret that you found your meal overpriced.
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend there in the cottage. The rooms are big and clean. The bedding were fresh, everything worked perfectly. Friendly staff. Very quiet and beautiful surroundings. If you want to spend quiet and relaxing time - it's a great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

we have spent Easter in that resort. Total of 3 families we rented a cottage, 2 floors, 4 bedrooms, 2 bath. We had plenty of room, the staff is very helpful and friendly. All kids loved to play in the game room, the food in their restaurant is delicious. Definitely would recommend that resort to all my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We used winter discounted vouchers for a mid-week stay at this resort and almost left one day early. Can't imagine paying full price for this place.

The actual location is fantastic. The lodge environment has a great vibe, the building has a great design with beautiful night lighting, but the devil is in the details:

~ we were "greeted" by a very unfriendly man; there was no full-time receptionist on duty - so hard to ask for anything

~ upon arrival, our reservations couldn't be found, but they managed to give us a room

~ the bathroom in our first room had a hole in the ceiling, which leaked water when guests above started to shower - we immediately asked for another room

~ paper thin walls in the whole resort make the whole stay unpleasant, like walking on egg shells - this is a big issue with this place

~ the one redeeming feature of this resort was their restaurant - they had amazing food and the service was okay too

~ 2nd main issue is that this resort needs a common area for relaxation for the guests, it needs more zones for them to relax, where you can read a book or spend time outside your room: this resort had no place to go, other than your room or the restaurant. This is important especially in the winter. If they had some big lounge adjacent to the lodge, with a fireplace and windows, it would make the whole stay "a lot" more enjoyable

~ overall, this place should be called a B&B, not a resort

Room Tip: You probably won't escape hearing other guests conversations, so bring ear muffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hastings Resort third weekend in February 2013. Nicole at the front desk was great, and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The hotel itself had a certain grace and beauty when we arrived in the late evening the paths throughout the resort were lit up beautifully, and really accented the fresh snowfall nicely,... it certainly looked and felt very charming.

The food at the resort steakhouse was as amazing as the service. We had a huge breakfast at an ultra reasonable rate. We stayed for supper and both ordered the 'King of Hastings' NY striploin meal and the Baileys Creme Brulee for desert. This meal although pricier then our usual fare was totally worth it. I forget the waitresses name but she was great and even opened up the upper loft area to please my wife(who wanted dinner with a view).

I also appreciated the fact we were able to get one of the pet friendly room so our Bernese mountain dog could come and enjoy the weekend too.

Nicole directed us to good hiking trails and we spent one afternoon touring and taking pictures in Bancroft.

Thanks again, and we look forward to returning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My family of 8 stayed at the chalet (8 adults) over the valentine weekend. We had a wonderful time. The chalet was nicely equipped and super clean. Nicole and James were super friendly and very accommodating. The steak house had some of the best food we have all eaten (diamond in the roughhouse)

Thank you to the wonderful staff! We will definitely make this trip again.
AG,AE,MM,SS

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hastings Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings Resort

Address: 14 Beaver Creek Lane, Gilmour, Ontario K0L 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gilmour
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Gilmour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hastings Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hastings Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings Resort Ontario/Gilmour, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hastings Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.