We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location a truly 5 * experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort to your Saves list
Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort
Localita' Casteani 1, 58023 Gavorrano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location a truly 5 * experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

After the snow and cold in the UK it was a complete change of scenery to be met at the Airport in the Roman Sunshine. The villa standing alone on the hill looked majestic amongst the Tuscan cypresses that hug the road leading to this imposing villa.
The Villa is immaculate in its presentation with stunning 360 degree panoramic views of the beautiful Tuscan countryside.
The Villa is everything you would expect, from the owners attention to detail, the perfect tranquil location and large comfortable bedrooms. Amanda the cook in residence cooked sublime meals and also acted as an unofficial guide with recommendations to some hidden local treasures. I would highly recommend this villa to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
74
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

From the long, romantic drive up through the vineyards to the warm personal welcome when you reach the villa, the Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort impresses from the start. Walking through the front door for the first time, we found the inside light, airy and modern and the outside simply stunning, with 360 degree views of the surrounding hills and countryside. Add to this a spotlessly clean, well-appointed and cosy room and an elegant outside pool and you have all essentials for a retreat of pure luxury and relaxation.
But what elevates Conti di San Bonifacio to pure nirvana is the care and attention that Manfredo and his staff bring to their guests. Always friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help, they somehow manage to be highly attentive without being intrusive in any way. If you want to chat they’ll chat late into the evening, but it’s also easy to spend time alone, drinking wine, visiting the nearby vineyards or lying by the pool taking in the beauty of the surroundings.
A delicious dinner is prepared every night, with an impressive selection of, mostly local, Italian wines to match. The real wine gems, however, are the Conti’s own bottlings. Look out for the Sustinet, the top offering, which is just waiting to be discovered by Wine Spectator and showered with the praise it deserves. Beyond dinner, fresh food was available to us whenever we wanted it, and carefully tailored to our particular desires. Given that my wife is a vegan and I am decidedly not a vegan this was no mean feat, but the kitchen managed this delicate balancing act perfectly.
Of the five different places we stayed at in Tuscany and the surrounding area, Conti di San Bonifacio was by far our top choice. At a similar price point it was simply light years above the competition. We would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone. We can’t wait to get back there ourselves!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This was the most relaxing few days we have spent together in years. All thanks to the amazing location - silent, remote, beautiful, italian - the sensational wines and relaxed, opulent surroundings.

The count Manfredo made any wish his command with his delightful sense of enthusiasm. Even having dinner a deux with me one night when my wife had to head off for a conference! Less romantic and more wine/grappa tasting, but excellent food, prepared by Amanda and her small team.

A fantastic place, fantastic people and worth a detour any time...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We booked this hotel a a stop off point really but on looking at the hotel website it looked like the quiet relaxing place that we were looking for. We were not disappointed! Although difficult to find on the map and on the Sat Nav(!), we entered the gates to the wine resort and were greeted with a beautifully refurbished Tuscan building. We were welcomed warmly by the consumate host Amanda and it turned out that there was only one other couple staying at the resort at the same time as us. As there are only five rooms in total it is never really going to get busy!

We were generously upgraded to the master suite which was beautifully appointed and full of natural light and were given a choice of one of the estate wines and a platter of cold meats and cheese by way of a welcome gift which was a nice touch.

The building itself has been completely refurbished and has been tastefully decorated (the stuffed birds and animal feet were not necessarily in the tasteful category, but please don't let that put you off!).

The staff are incredibly friendly and the nothing is too much trouble for them. Amanda is your hostess and chef and produces some wonderful rustic dishes at dinner time. The portions are large so don't fill yourself up at lunchtime! Dinner is a relaxed affair and can be eaten in the house or al fresco. We tried both!

The wines are of a good quality and prices for both food (€45 for a three course dinner) and drink are reasonable. An honour bar is also avaialble when the staff leave and when they do leave all they ask is that you lock the doors.

If you are looking to get away from it all and sample true rustic italian charm, food and wine, I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

My wife and I stayed at San Bonifacio for 2 days at the start of a week in Tuscany, and wish we could have stayed longer. Everything about the place: the location, the food, the wine, the pool, the rooms - are all fantastic.
Manfredo (the Count himself!) and his team have done an amazing job renovating the house into a stunning boutique hotel. Only 5 rooms, so you feel a bit like you own the place. Amanda is the chef and host, and a friendly and talented one too. Dinner is about 45 Euros for at least 4 courses (I lost count after the second bottle...) of wonderful Italian home-cooking. Amanda will tell you the menu during the day, and I'm sure if you had any real objections, they'd find an alternative - it's that sort of place.
They also serve lunches, although the platter of cold meats we had would have fed at least 5! We'd hired a car but didn't use it at all during our stay - too easy to just chill by the pool drinking the fruits of the San Bonifacio vineyard...
Not a cheap place, but then nothing is in Tuscany. And I reckon you'd pay more than this at some posh hotels and not get the same incredible level of service. Well worth it for a long, indulgent, luxurious weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This is one of the most tranquil and relaxing places I have stayed in. Amanda, who is principally in charge of looking after the guests is a wonder. The cooking is rustic and homemade Italian in style, but always delicious. The Count himself is charming and urbane and very happy to help and chat. One of the most relaxing places I have stayed at with a delightful shabby designed chic to it. Added to this the extremely good local wine and whether for a long weekend or a week, it is a great place to take a sophisticated break from it all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort is breathtakingly beautiful. The views over the Maremma landscape are stunning, and the stylish renovated farmhouse is simply gorgeous. As the hotel is very small and exclusive, we felt almost like in our own summer house, and enjoyed it thoroughly!

We stayed 2 nights in early September and got spoiled by Amanda, the manager, and Manfredo, the owner. Amanda is a great cook and her fish menu was one of the best meals we had in Italy. Manfredo made sure, we were always looked after. He was the perfect host!

As we enjoyed the hotel so much, we hardly left the property, although it's location allows for many excursions in all directions of Tuscany. The hotel is most perfect for short, romantic trips to Tuscany. There is no noise whatsoever and the stars in the sky at night are incredible.

The only improvement suggestion we can think of, is the coffee in the morning. Please don't serve the coffee in a thermo jug. Any coffee lover will wait until the espresso is done. Everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort

Address: Localita' Casteani 1, 58023 Gavorrano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Gavorrano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Gavorrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wine Resort Conti di San Bonifacio is an exclusive jewel of a hotel, suspended between sky and vines, in the Maremma firmament in coastal Tuscany. Guests who seek a retreat from their busy lives arrive to find views of vines, olive groves and the far reaching planes of the Maremma. Inside the restored farmhouse interiors are pristeen and in wonderful harmony with the organic colours and textures of nature. Light filled salons and tasting rooms, with abundant terraces reaching out and off the hill into glorious countryside.Guests spend their time between linen crisp bedroom suites, poolside or roaring fire depending on the season. All is possible here. Perfect tranquility or a vacation of activity including wine and cooking courses, yoga on the hilltop, horse riding and night treks or just simply discovering the medieval villages which crown each of the surrounding hilltops or the white beaches all along our coastline. History and nature marry here in conjugal bliss.The 360 degree views are magnificent, the position blessed with a sense of the spiritual. One feels a unique feeling of peace here as eagles and swallows swoop and soar overhead. Glass of wine in hand, aperitivo on the terrace, vineyard view dinners. Earth, wine and essential tuscan foods combine to offer the exquisite experience at this unique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Splendia, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conti Di San Bonifacio Wine Hotel Gavorrano
Conti Di San Bonifacio Wine Resort Italy/Gavorrano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.