We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Valle del Buttero

Save Saved
You added Residence Valle del Buttero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Valle del Buttero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Silone, 21, 58011 Capalbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Capalbio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have have just returned from six nights at the hotel. The whole stay was incredibly good value with spacious rooms including kitchenette, tasty breakfasts with lots of choice and excellent service. Valle del Buttero is within the picturesque, charming, medieval village of Capalbio which meant we could walk out and have around 10 great restaurants on our doorstep.

The pool area is really clean and relaxing despite the rather cold (!!) pool in September. The only slight negative was the bed which was too hard and not very comfortable. But that aside would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    62
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
53
81
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Piegaro, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

It is not often that a place exceeds all my expectations, but Valle del Buttero managed to do it! My husband and I live in Umbria, in Piegaro, and needed a quick two day break to explore something different. We found the Residence Valle del Buttero last minute and booked. The medieval town is very sweet perched over a valley known for its herdsmen, cowboys, called butteri. This resort overlooked a valley with horses too. Lovely suite with kitchenette, sitting room, balcony, large bedroom with canopy and wonderful bathroom. Immaculate suite with all the extras. Free WiFi and air conditioning. Amazingly huge buffet breakfast! The pool is just exquisite with a pool bar for snacks, drinks, ice cream. Huge fluffy pool towels provided. All the linens are first class. The bed was incredible, nice and firm with lots of pillows. TV in bedroom and also in living room. Coffee and drinks bar in the spacious lobby. Pool, ping pong, card games (looks like a very family-friendly place)! But we had a romantic getaway planned and it was just perfect for us. We could not believe the value offered for such a moderate price. The owners are so friendly and the staff very attentive and helpful. Short stroll inside the medieval walls of Capalbio, which is very historic and typical surrounded by walls, to fine restaurant where we enjoyed sitting on the terrace and watching the passing parade. Menus to all restaurants provided in the lobby along with loads of information about the area. Next morning after that very ample breakfast we went on our way to Monte Argentario and had a lovely day at the beach. I cannot say enough good things about our stay and I'm sure we will make this our "getaway" when we wish to explore the beautiful Maremma area of Southwest Tuscany. Lucky us to be only two hours away via Orvieto to what could be the best hotel in the Maremma!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, well worth the few Euros extra! Lots of room and balcony. Ask for the hillside vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is the best hotel in Tuscany.
Best staff, great pool and fantastic location.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed a Sunday and Monday night in July 2011. The staff are welcoming and helpful, and the room we had on the ground floor was fine, but it was disappointing to only get a view of the road outside. I'm sure the upper floors have nicer views of the beautiful Tuscan countryside. There is free parking, a nice pool, board games, a billiard table, table tennis and fussball, but really we hardly spent any time at the hotel. Unfortunately we didn't realize that breakfast wasn't included (though there is a sign saying this) because at 9 euros a pop we'd have preferred to get something in the village. The breakfast choice is okay but not very extensive. Capalbio is great though, amazing views, and we had some good food and wine. However I think it's wise to check what's going on at the time of year you go --- we were lucky that the summer events were in full swing, and some bars were open to 2am. We had some good seafood at the Sagre del Pesce nearby in Torba and it was great to be part of a local festival (again, lucky with the timing). We didn't fancy the Sagra della Lumaca (snail festival ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel: it was perfect, we had an apartment on the garden, they set up a table outside for us for our breakfasts. And all our requests were met quickly and with a smile!
We will come back and recommend this hotel to our friends. Thank you Roberta and Sara!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Valle Del Buttero is really the only "hotel" in Capalbio. My wife and I were there in November, which is definitely their off season, but were really impressed by the staff, the size and quality of the rooms and the value was not to be beat.

If you are going to be in or around Capalbio in the offseason, I would heartily recommend Valle Del Buttero.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

A very good hotel, albeit that the furnishings were a bit dated, but very clean and tidy. Lovely pool, very friendly service, would definitely book here again if in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Valle del Buttero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Valle del Buttero

Also Known As:
Residence Valle Del Buttero Capalbio, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Via Silone, 21, 58011 Capalbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Capalbio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Capalbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Valle del Buttero 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel and residence Valle del Buttero is located in the vicinity of the historic centre of Capalbio, just 10 minutes from the sea.Its pristine coasts offer a unique enviroment with sandy beaches designed by the greatest creator of all time: nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Valle del Buttero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Valle del Buttero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.