We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tarot garden made by Niki de Saint Phalle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarot Garden (Giardino dei Tarocchi)

Tarot Garden (Giardino dei Tarocchi)
Strada Garavicchio - Capalbio (GR), 58011 Capalbio, Italy
0564 895122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Capalbio
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Geneva switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The tarot garden made by Niki de Saint Phalle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a place for the whole family - everybody will love it! The artist has put her whole heart into every piece of work made on this place. Niki de Saint Phalle got inspired by Gaudi's Parc Grüell in Barcelona but has passed him in emotions and details by far. Incredible that this place is in the middle of nowhere with hardly any sign at all until you are actually on the very road! GO THERE! and enjoy with friends or family!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    182
    29
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Worth seeing, kids love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It reminded me both of Guell park in Barcelona and Hundertwasser Haus in Vienna. It is small - just around 1 hour there would do, but there are surprises there that I have not seen elsewhere. Ingenious structures. I liked it a lot and the kids loved it.
We made the route especially through there from Toscana to Rome. However I don't know if its so much worth the effort. If the other quicker road is boring for you... and if you have a spare 2 hours, then sure - go for it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oasis of Color in Southern Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have been trying to get to this garden since learning about the artisit, Niki de Saint Phalle, a few years ago and seeing her work in Paris. It was so worth the effort! If you are an art nouveau or Gaudi fan, you will fall in love with her use of color, images, and materials. Each of the 22 sculptures is unique and has a story of its own. We spent about 2 hours wandering through the garden, as well as going inside many of the sculptures themselves. This garden is worth a visit from either Rome or Florence; you can plan a stop at one of the beautiful beaches along the coast on the same day. But make a visit to this garden a top priority on your next visit to Italy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This garden is at least as inventive and magical as the one that inspired it, Barcelona's Guell Park. It's a pity that it's a bit off the beaten track, or maybe it's fortunate because it makes it less assaulted by visitors as other places and helps preserve its innocence. Not all of its corners were accessible to visitors, though, which shows that it's suffered some wear and tear even as it is. It was otherwise also interesting to hear, talking to other visitors coming on the same day as us, that some of them had no idea that Niki de Saint Phalle and Jean Tinguely had been established artists, but were able to enjoy their work just as much. This is definitely a great experience for both children and adults and a great landmark of Modernism on the turf of Classicism, Renaissance and the Baroque.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Skane Lan, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cool and wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had seen pictures of the garden, but nothing could compare it to a real visit. The sculpures are big, colourful and beautyful. Everyhing reminds me of Gaudi, but this is more colourful. We went there with our children (9 and 4 years old). They also loved the park and you could find water taps where the water was drinkable. The children could shower themselves in the water - becouse it was a really hot day. Bring your camera!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarot Garden (Giardino dei Tarocchi) also viewed

Capalbio, Province of Grosseto
 
Capalbio, Province of Grosseto
Orbetello, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Tarot Garden (Giardino dei Tarocchi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarot Garden (Giardino dei Tarocchi), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.