We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeing, kids love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarot Garden

Tarot Garden
Strada Garavicchio - Capalbio (GR), 58011, Capalbio, Italy
0564 895122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth seeing, kids love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It reminded me both of Guell park in Barcelona and Hundertwasser Haus in Vienna. It is small - just around 1 hour there would do, but there are surprises there that I have not seen elsewhere. Ingenious structures. I liked it a lot and the kids loved it.
We made the route especially through there from Toscana to Rome. However I don't know if its so much worth the effort. If the other quicker road is boring for you... and if you have a spare 2 hours, then sure - go for it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dror S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oasis of Color in Southern Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have been trying to get to this garden since learning about the artisit, Niki de Saint Phalle, a few years ago and seeing her work in Paris. It was so worth the effort! If you are an art nouveau or Gaudi fan, you will fall in love with her use of color, images, and materials. Each of the 22 sculptures is unique and has a story of its own. We spent about 2 hours wandering through the garden, as well as going inside many of the sculptures themselves. This garden is worth a visit from either Rome or Florence; you can plan a stop at one of the beautiful beaches along the coast on the same day. But make a visit to this garden a top priority on your next visit to Italy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
209 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This garden is at least as inventive and magical as the one that inspired it, Barcelona's Guell Park. It's a pity that it's a bit off the beaten track, or maybe it's fortunate because it makes it less assaulted by visitors as other places and helps preserve its innocence. Not all of its corners were accessible to visitors, though, which shows that it's suffered some wear and tear even as it is. It was otherwise also interesting to hear, talking to other visitors coming on the same day as us, that some of them had no idea that Niki de Saint Phalle and Jean Tinguely had been established artists, but were able to enjoy their work just as much. This is definitely a great experience for both children and adults and a great landmark of Modernism on the turf of Classicism, Renaissance and the Baroque.

Helpful?
1 Thank PickyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Skane Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cool and wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had seen pictures of the garden, but nothing could compare it to a real visit. The sculpures are big, colourful and beautyful. Everyhing reminds me of Gaudi, but this is more colourful. We went there with our children (9 and 4 years old). They also loved the park and you could find water taps where the water was drinkable. The children could shower themselves in the water - becouse it was a really hot day. Bring your camera!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Humlabumla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a magical place in the middle of magical Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went to see it because we love Parc Guell in Barcelona and wanted to see the garden inspired by it. Place is sort of hidden, but it right off the road. You walk in through a very masculine modern-looking gate, walk up 200 m and immerse into wild imagination of the meaning of tarrot cards recreated in beautilful colorful full of life sculpture. All of them without exception are magnetic because of hard work, which went into them, and sacred meaning, which nevertheless found response in our hearts as we walk through the garden. There was everything here one thinks about along the life way - God, faith, death, justice, love and sinn. This is the brain food for adults; my 3 kids just enjoyed the endless color spendor and funny way beautiful things in life are presented - a dragon (strength), a woman (high emperess), unjustice locked in the cave. What a fun afternoon and insight into a mind of a great artist not known to us before this visit. You will not regret seeing it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarot Garden also viewed

Capalbio, Province of Grosseto
 
Orbetello, Province of Grosseto
Capalbio, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Tarot Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing