We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petriolo Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Petriolo Spa Resort to your Saves list
Petriolo Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Localita Petriolo | Pari, Civitella Paganico (GR) (Vicino a Siena), 58040 Civitella Paganico, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

we visited this resort in July, during our trip in tuscany.
The location was excellent only 20 minutes from Sienna.
There is nothing bad to say for this hotel. The rooms were nice and the pool area was gorgeous. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We also used the spa which was a very satisfying experience. I would recommend it without second thought.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    133
    44
    21
    18
See reviews for
63
329
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
413 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This resort is absolutely gorgeous with beautifully appointed rooms and lots of pool areas. With the amount of indoor and outdoor swimming/soaking areas, I would think this spot would be as attractive in the winter as it was during our summer stay. Take a dip in the thermal pools and then a refreshing swim in the cold pools. If you prefer to visit the spa, there are plenty of great treatments from a long list of massages, to facials, and even homeopathic treatments.

The entire facility is very clean and the staff are all very friendly and accommodating. My only disappointment are the poolside lunch choices. The menu is extremely small and the salad bar is really lacking. I think with this small improvement and better blended drinks...the place would be perfect. I would definitely recommend Petriolo to anyone visiting Tuscany...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Friendly staff, excellent foods and wines. Clean rooms with high standard.
Spectacular view from terrace. Nice pool area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This looked interesting online, but it was so much more in person! Beautiful rooms, breathtaking views, relaxing world class amenities, delicious food, and exceptional service! This is in our top 5 resorts that we have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Get a hillside view with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed here in mid Oct 2010 for four nights. Beautiful setting, great amenities and fantastic service. Not much around the resort so you will need a car to make day trips where there are several great places within an hour. Highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

After an amazing two week tour of Rome, Tuscany, Umbria and the coastline, Petriolo was the perfect place to relax. The staff is courteous, professional and welcoming. We did not speak much Italian, but that was not even a slight issue during our stay. The food and service were truly five star. The experience in their pools and spa, along with the personalized treatment would be very difficult to beat. The perfect place for any couple to unwind and relax. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Junior Suite if it is in your budget, although even the standard room will be the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I had 6 nights at this hotel in August 2011.
We were there for our wedding anniversary, and were so pleased to have chosen such a peaceful and luxurious note. Our junior suite was beautifully decorated, spacious and cool. it was extremely light and airy, and enjoyed a very private balcony overlooking the nearby hillside.

Some rooms on the other side were near the busy E72, so be careful which you book.
Car parking was easy in the large carpark outside the hotel, and although the location t first seemed remote, Siena was only 30 mins away, and Montalcino 20 mins.

Both restaurants were good, although dinner by the pool wasn't too alluring after spending a day there. the main restaurant had a terrace outside, and it was delightful to dine as the sunset over the hills. Lighting on the terrace could, however, be improved.
The restaurant staff were most helpful and engaging, and made our anniversary meal most special.
spa facilities were really good, with indoor pools, sauna and thermal pool. Outside the thermal and cool pool were spacious and well provided with sun beds.

All in all a brilliant place both to chill and to use as a base for seeing Southern Tuscany - although we did less travelling than planned because the restful ambiance slowed us down so much!!

Room Tip: check you are on the back away from the fast traffic on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Civitella Paganico
15.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antico Casale L'Impostino
Antico Casale L'Impostino
#1 of 8 in Civitella Paganico
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel Terme San Filippo
Hotel Terme San Filippo
#1 of 1 in Bagni di San Filippo
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Casa Guaitoli
Casa Guaitoli
#5 of 8 in Civitella Paganico
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
16.5 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
5.4 mi away
Casetta Francini
Casetta Francini
#3 of 5 in Civitella Paganico
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petriolo Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petriolo Spa Resort

Address: Localita Petriolo | Pari, Civitella Paganico (GR) (Vicino a Siena), 58040 Civitella Paganico, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Civitella Paganico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Civitella Paganico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Petriolo Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petriolo is located in the heart of Tuscany, surrounded by fascinating wild scenery as well as artistic and cultural itineraries of great interest. Immersed in the unspoiled beauty of the typical Mediterranean bush, the resort is only a twenty-minute drive from Siena, and 80 km from Florence, the capital of Tuscany. At Petriolo Spa Resort, well-being comes from nature itself, and predominantly from the hot sulfurous water which has been springing from the earth for thousands of years at 43° C, composed of elements capable of positively stimulating the entire organism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Petriolo Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petriolo Hotel Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Resort Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Spa Resort Italy/Tuscany - Civitella Paganico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petriolo Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.