We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful spa and hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petriolo Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Petriolo Spa Resort to your Saves list
Petriolo Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Localita Petriolo | Pari, Civitella Paganico (GR) (Vicino a Siena), 58040 Civitella Paganico, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Lugano
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“wonderful spa and hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

nice 5 stars hotels the recetption is very professional and welcoming you very nice petriolo spa is located in the middle of the country of tuscany on the road siena grosseto and 100 km from Perugia.
It is a oasis of relax and quality room nice and confortable large 5 stars bathroom
great panorama from the break fast restaurant
nice extern pool and nice spa massage really helpful ...
i will go again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    128
    44
    21
    18
See reviews for
63
322
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We went to Petriolo Spa Resort on our honeymoon in October 2010. We loved the resort - the food at the restaurants was amazing; the customer service was first rate; and the room had a wonderful balcony overlooking a lush mountainside. The spa services were luxurious. I would recommend a visit to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Fantastic room, brilliant Spa and amazing views. The service was excellent and all the staff very friendly. Just the right place to chill out and unwind. Especially enjoyed the outdoor thermal swimming pool, and the panoramic restaurant. Will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We booked this hotel as a place to stay while on our honeymoon travelling through Europe. We needed a place that we could take a break from sightseeing and museums ect, knowing it had spa thermal pools is why we booked the location. It is NOT close to any major sights of italy, it is close to wineries, and olive fields, a quite part of Italy. Approx 2 hours from rome by car. The resort is located off a main highway (easy to find) and is in a valley of hills covered with trees, a beautiful tuscan setting. The resort is massive, but once you know where you are going it doesn't seem as large. What we enjoyed about the Petriolo Resort and Spa, we stayed for two nights in September, the location is breathtaking, we booked a Junior Suite, and it was gorgeous! Two bathrooms, beautiful decorated, amamzing bed and great sitting area, even had a dining area, and balcony with great couch and comfy chair to relax and enjoy the views. Two comfy robes are provided and slippers for use while in the room and two robes are provided to use in the thermal spa area, which can be changed if wet. Bring two bathing suits if you plan on using the facilities more than once a day. And bring flip flops if you have small/large feet as the shoes are one size. mens 11.5 and ladies 8. I was suprised at how many people spoke english, a nice touch, making life that much easier. Breafkast is included and is very good, a nice mixture of the regular continental breakfast, but also scambled eggs and bacon.
While swimming in one of the many pools, there are 6 different pools i think, we did notice that the tiles are falling off the walls and the drywall is cracking, but we also noticed that the spa is working to fix these damages, which are caused by the water so im sure when they planned it was an over thought as to how much damage the suphur really causes, anyway, it does not disturb the amazing feeling or relaxation that the facilites do bring about. We felt amazing after just 2 days there, a weekend would be long enough. The food was expensive, and we did not enjoy the dinner that we ordered, but the wine was affordable and delicious. We did leave the resort for lunch & dinner the next day and found 2 amazing restaurants within a 2 min drive, both affordable and homeade dishes. We would recommend this place if you are looking to relax, stop for a few days and just want to swim and take care of yourself. We left feeling rejuvanted and happy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Great service, personalize attention to detail, cleaness. Great pools and wonderful atmosphere. looking forward to go back. The love of my live enjoy it too. we need to go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

In July, I was in Italy in Tuscany between Siena and Grosseto. We found this hotel named The Petriolo Spa & Resort. It caught my eye because of the many spa pools and different pools with different water temperatures it has. Including the Bio-Sauna. An excellent place to relax and keep the stress away. I highly recommend this hotel by the look of the room and the generosity of the staff. I would leave my house now just to spend another day there!!! And next time I will stay at least one week. I recommend this hotel for 3-4 days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

What should we say about this hotel? We found it excellent and not better than average at the same time.
Let's begin with the plus points: sensational fitness amenities, good spa and pool, cleanness in the whole hotel, quiet situation, huge and comfortable room, parking places for free, good recommandation form the information staff for excursions and outside eating.
Unfortunately we have to mention a few the minus points as well: 1) it was impossible to get hot water in the bathroom: so it was not agrable to have a shower or to take advantage of the bath; 2) poor quality of the breakfast for a 5 stars house; 3) the breakfast finishes at 10.30 am already; 4) dead atmosphere in the hotel, no live, nobody at the restaurant and at the bar; 5) the safe did not work.

We will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetrioloManagement, Direttore generale at Petriolo Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
Dear Sirs,

we are very happy to have welcomed you at Petriolo Spa Resort and we thank you for having chosen our resort.

However, we are also very sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations somehow and we apologize if you may have experienced some kind of disservice.

It is important for Petriolo Spa Resort Management, as well as for the Spa, Health and Resort staff, to greet each guest with warmth and care, and to provide them with the highest quality of service and comfort.

Therefore, we feel that it is our duty and obligation to take this opportunity to express our deep surprise in reading about what you said ‘it was impossible to get hot water in the bathroom: so it was not agrable to have a shower or to take advantage of the bath’ it is not possible and, sorry, but it is completely false: we have always hot water at 50° centigrade.

Our mission is to ensure the highest level of customer service and satisfaction and for this reason we appreciate receiving feedback from all of our Guests. We shall therefore draw on your insights and suggestions in whatever measure it may possibly further our quest for an extraordinary and memorable stay at Petriolo Spa Resort.

Best regards,

Alessandro Ercolani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Petriolo Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petriolo Spa Resort

Address: Localita Petriolo | Pari, Civitella Paganico (GR) (Vicino a Siena), 58040 Civitella Paganico, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Civitella Paganico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Civitella Paganico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Petriolo Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petriolo is located in the heart of Tuscany, surrounded by fascinating wild scenery as well as artistic and cultural itineraries of great interest. Immersed in the unspoiled beauty of the typical Mediterranean bush, the resort is only a twenty-minute drive from Siena, and 80 km from Florence, the capital of Tuscany. At Petriolo Spa Resort, well-being comes from nature itself, and predominantly from the hot sulfurous water which has been springing from the earth for thousands of years at 43° C, composed of elements capable of positively stimulating the entire organism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Petriolo Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petriolo Hotel Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Resort Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Spa Resort Italy/Tuscany - Civitella Paganico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petriolo Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.