We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if your doing the river cruise on your own stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel to your Saves list
ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   666 Saiklang Rd, Moo 8, Wieng, Chiang Khong 57140 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chiang Khong
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“if your doing the river cruise on your own stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

nice hotel before setting off on the river cruise. You'll get a good rest here before enduring the long boat for 14 hours!

Staff were freidnly and great and breakfast nice. I personalty wouldn't eat in the restaurant as expensive and not that nice.

Room Tip: get a river veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    19
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
50
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was a lovely hotel for the night before our Mekong River Slow Boat cruise. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a nice river view room, which was a surprise. We enjoyed sitting on the small balcony and watching the traffic go by on the Mekong. The room was small compared to others on our trip so far, but adequate for overnight. The bath, too, was tiny, but serviceable with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Since we had a tough travel day, we opted for dinner at the restaurant, which I would classify as ordinary and expensive for what it was. The included breakfast offered made to order omelettes, and fresh fruit and breads. Most of the other choices on the buffet leaned toward the Asian palate, and since we were just starting on Malarone, our appetites were not inspired by those choices. The weather was very chilly in the early morning, and the outdoor terrace dining was not very comfortable, and most of the food couldn't be kept warm enough in the weather. The breakfast staff was attentive, especially helpful with a strange coffee machine. Overall, a bit pricy for the room and the food, but met our needs in a pleasant enough way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. It is so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a river view room which was fine for our one night stay and was very reasonably priced. Our evening meal was good as was the breakfast, although it is worth mentioning that it was very chilly first thing in the morning because of the time of year. The restaurant has lovely views over the Mekong. There was one draw back in that they were building on the plot of land next door and it was very noisy as they were pile driving. They did however stop work at about 6pm. The hotel arranged our transport to the newly opened immigration office and bridge over to Laos. It is worth allowing extra time for this as it now takes about 15 minutes to get there and gets busy very quickly.

Room Tip: We liked the room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Arriving in Chiang Khong for the barge crossing into Laos around lunchtime meant I had not intended to stop on the eastern side of the Mekong. However, 40 BMW 1200 GSA's lined up out front of this venue caught my attention. An accommodation venue is good for many reasons, not the least of which is the company you meet.

I was very surprised at the quality of this relatively new property. Cottages set in manicured gardens, most with a balcony and view of the muddy Mekong. The rooms are of comfortable size and the appointments are of a high quality. Very comfortable bed, sat TV, well stocked modern bathroom.

The dining room is also very comfortable and spacious. A broad selection on an international menu, although there were around 50 dining. Nevertheless, the food was of a high standard.

Next time in Chiang Khong I will check with Teak Garden first before looking at the other options.

Room Tip: Some bungalows have a better view than others. Check first. You may spend much of your evening sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed there for one night before we crossed into Laos. The rooms are small, but clean. The staff was friendly. It is right on the river and some rooms have a balcony on the river. It is not necessary to book these rooms, however, as you can sit on the restaurant patio as long as you like and get the same experience. It is right in town, but, there is nothing to see except a couple of temples. Our complaint is with the food. We ordered dinner from the menu and the chicken was inedible, all fat and gristle. The breakfast was a good buffet, with a good selection, but everything was cold, even the eggs. The serving dishes are all cold.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here one night only because this was ideally suited to pick up our Mekong River cruise in the morning. We found it to be a surprisingly pleasant hotel, comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the Mekong River. The room was comfortable, breakfast was unexpectedly good, and the balcony was a perfect place to while a way some time. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but found a terrific, all-you-can eat BBQ restaurant across the road.

We took a pleasant walk along the river before dinner but really didn't explore the town any further.

Room Tip: River view with balcony is worth getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a lovely hotel perfectly located on the edge of the town centre, on the bank of the Mekong and right opposite a large town in Laos. This was particularly noisy and busy due to the Chinese New Year, resulting in some spectacular firework displays. It is a good place to start your Mekong river cruise from and has pleasant staff.

The good -
The staff are helpful and the location and gardens are spectacular. The beds are very hard but are clean and the sheets fit. The shower room was very good. Very nice balcony overlooking the river on the river view rooms. Kettle in the room. Very good free wifi.

The bad -
There is nothing really bad, but the food was disappointing. Breakfast on our first day was self service in the restaurant area, unfortunately it had been cooked when the place opened at 6am and was poor. In contrast, when we left for our river cruise,very early the next morning, it was cooked to order and was much better but with a pretty poor choice. We did have an evening meal and this was poor. Friends we met later highly recommended the simple restaurant opposite the hotel entrance.

We did like this place and would definitely return on a future trip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel

Address: 666 Saiklang Rd, Moo 8, Wieng, Chiang Khong 57140 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Khong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chiang Khong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the relaxing province of Chiang Rai, ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel enjoys a beautiful riverfront location on the Mekong River, which is adjacent to the main road of Chiang Khong. The hotel is a Fusion between Lanna and Modern style. ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel also has a wonderful and relaxing garden of hundred years old golden teak trees. ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel is located on the border between Thailand and Laos, and it is a convenient gateway to Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel Chiang Khong, Thailand - Chiang Rai Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChiangKhong Teak Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.