We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guesthouse, beautiful location, book onward travel here cautiously” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baanrimtaling Home Stay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Baanrimtaling Home Stay to your Saves list
Baanrimtaling Home Stay
99 4 Moo 3 T.Vieng, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong 57140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Chiang Khong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great guesthouse, beautiful location, book onward travel here cautiously”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about our stay at Baanrimtaling.....really sweet staff, great and well priced rooms, an amazing view over the Mekong, and great food too. We were so thrilled when we came in on a late night bus and were met with such a lovely place and room, we almost wished we could have stayed longer but had a slow boat to catch.
Now, a word of caution about booking the slow boat trip through them. Were I to do it again I would definitely have done it on my own....not because it was overpriced, although it is cheaper to do on your own, but because it put our group in contact with some really scummy people, particularly one creep, who took us through the slow boat process (we were handed over to him at river crossing). He lied to us about many things just to make a buck, so we would exchange money and buy food before getting on the slow boat through his people. Also he used scare tactics telling us we wouldn't get a room for the overnight in Pakbeng if we didn't book now through him. DON'T BELIEVE THAT. We were there at the highest season and there were more than enough rooms at many places. Find one yourself. Also know that buying tickets at the guesthouse ahead does not ensure a reserved seat, although they tell you so. We arrived to find a few scattered and undesirable seats that we had to make work and it was very unpleasant. So just be aware of all this and enjoy the great guesthouse itself, but organize your own travel!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
32
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place sounded great but oh lord it's noisy. First up I was moved to the room below the restaurant which meant I heard every single movement and comment up to 11pm. Did that mean it was then quiet? Nope. The karaoke bar opposite blasts, and I mean blasts, appalling music across the river straight into the rooms. That stopped at around 00.30am. Did that mean a lovely sleep could then happen? Nope. At 6 am the local town struck up blaring radio music for 45 minutes. So at that point could I sleep? Nope. The restaurant above began again: scrape, clatter, bang. The whole building shakes whenever anyone moves around.

Hopeless if you have any interest in sleeping.

Very very disappointing.

Room Tip: You can't sleep here for more than a few hours :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

There really aren't many bad things to say about this place. Set about a kilometer from the main drag of Chiang Khong, Baanrimtaling is peaceful and has incredible riverviews. The rooms are cheap and the shared bathrooms are clean. The only downfall was that room 3 is under the restaurant and a little noisy until 11 and starts again at 7, but it's really not as bad as others have made it out to be!!! Maleewan is an incredible hostess, filled with information about traveling and willing to share it with anyone who asks! Free bikes make the small distance from town seem like nothing, and offer a great morning exercise and means to explore the little town. Wifi was free and fast, and the self serve refrigerator is all on your honor, making this place seem more like a home than a business. Maleewan also drove me to the bus station on my way out of town! A stay at this
guest house is highly recommended to see Thai hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laos
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

All that glitters is not gold … AVOID


Beware the smiling hostess Maleewan. She seems to promise so much, but the more we stayed and the more we were drawn into her confidence the more we were betrayed.

On first impressions this place and Maleewan are lovely. The view is great. We had booked the lower bungalow but she asked us to move the second day to the one above. She claimed this was a better room and that she was doing us a favour. We quickly realised it was actually so she could get two single men into the twin beds downstairs and wasn't for us at all. The new room was straight under the restaurant and incredibly noisy. Every chair scrape and every sound reverberates into the room, echoing and vibrating through the floorboards, bed, and furniture. It's impossible to sleep.

The food, the cooks knew how to cook some of the dishes but some were made half heartdly with lumps of uncut lemon grass and ginger and chunks of garlic and were quite frankly indeable. Also if you do decide to stay here you may not be able to eat when planned as if Maleewan is not around the minions don't speak any other language at all and can't recognise there own menu board. We asked for their runner bean dish and were swifly brought a plain baguette not my idea of a hearty meal!

It was when we spotted Maleewan shouting angrily at a staff member that we caught a glimpse of the real her. We should have trusted our instincts at that moment, and nearly paid for the mistake with our lives. What happened next is a cautionary tale to all travellers.

We innocently asked if there was an alternative means of getting to Luang Prabeng than the notorious slow boat. 'Oh Yes' Maleewan enthusiastically exclaimed. 'A french couple and many others paddle down'. We were instantly captured by the possibility and her confidence as she relayed how long it would take, and even the money we would certainly make from re-selling the canoe down there. Furthermore, how helpfully, she knew just the man who get us a great deal with her assistance.

We bargained through her, trusting her local knowledge as born and brought up in the Chiang Khong. What a mistake. We set off on what was supposed to have been a week's journey to Luang Prabeng. After 4 days we had got about 1/6th of the way. We are both experienced kayakers and one of us owned a dugout canoe in Africa. This one turned out to be a total con. It is made of much flimsier wood that normal local canoes, and as we quickly found out from locals Maleewan conned us into paying 4x too much for it. The most serious issue is that the boat was extremely dangerous – and she made no attempt to warn us of the perils of the Mekong currents in such a dodgy canoe.

This place has left a very bad taste in the mouth. Be warned: all that glitters is not gold, and this one could have cost us our lives not just a serious amount of money. But even if you don't decide to follow our path, if you want to sleep stay somewhere else. AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Really nice guesthouse right on the Mekong River. We originally booked for just 1 night but the guesthouse, staff, atmosphere and town itself were so nice that we ended up staying 5.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was offered to us at normal room price due to it being low season. The room was spacious and comfortable with private bathroom and a balcony with chairs to sit and take in the view of the river.

There's plenty of space to sit upstairs and look across the Mekong too.

Owners Malawan and Don were really friendly and helpful and told us loads about things to do in the area and it's history.

Hostel has bicycles that you can borrow for a ride around town. Its the perfect place for a relaxed few days. If you're on the way to Laos and have time don't cross the border straight away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Yeah, Chiang Khong isn't Bangkok. There aren't many things to do there. It's a sleepy border town. It doesn't have any foam parties or all night raves. Etc, etc. So what? The whole point of going to a place like Chiang Khong is to get away from noise, pollution, idiots, and crazily overpriced tourist traps and a night or two at Baanrimtaling is just what the doctor ordered (although calling it "THE place to stay in Chiang Khong" is a little silly if one's only stayed in one place there). I only stayed for one night as I was on my way back from a visa run to Laos, but I could easily have stayed a week- just not in the room I was in. It was pretty disappointing and it looked like it was designed by that Austrian guy who kept his daughter in his basement. But for 150 baht I suppose one can't expect too much. If you have the means, I highly recommend upgrading yourself to get an ensuite toilet and shower, a bed that's not manky and a pillow that doesn't need to be wrapped in a t-shirt before putting one's head on it, and a very, very acceptable balcony with river view.

Good points about the place: excellent view, not expensive and fairly tasty food (some grown in the garden below), honour system fridge (pay what you owe- don't ruin it for everyone else, okay?), fairly fast free WiFi, the people that own it live in it and are very easy-going and not at all snotty or nosy, plenty of things to read, relatively easy to find from the Immigration place.

Not so good points: the single rooms downstairs are slightly frightening, there's an annoying karaoke place exactly across the river on the Laos side (luckily it seems to shut at midnight but it does ruin the evening a bit), it gets a little buggy at night (just live with it).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed in the bungola type which cost 400b per night. The owner are very friendly and provide a lot useful info.

The location is just 400 meter from the bus stop. 10-15 mins walk to more restaurant along the main road. However, the food they serve is very nice. We had all our dinner at the guesthouse during our stay.

You can view sunrise from the room. The river infront of the guesthouse is the border of Laos.

We enjoy our stay and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baanrimtaling Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baanrimtaling Home Stay

Address: 99 4 Moo 3 T.Vieng, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong 57140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Khong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Khong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Baanrimtaling Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanrimtaling Home Stay Chiang Khong, Thailand - Chiang Rai Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baanrimtaling Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.