We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just for those "getaway" weekends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pico Sands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pico Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Pico Sands Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pico de Loro Cove, Hamilo Coast | Brgy. Papaya, Nasugbu, Luzon 4231, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nasugbu
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“just for those "getaway" weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Me and my team went to have our R&R at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We had the mountain view rooms.

We loved the pool overlooking the cove. It has multiple levels so it's not that crowded even if there are a lot of people in the pool. The partially submerged lounge chairs are a plus as well specially if you're sun bathing.

The pool in their beach club is smaller than what they have in their country club. But why would you need the pool when you have the beach available in just a couple of steps. Just like all the other beaches in Batangas, it's black sand. But the view is still breathtaking.

Dinner was a bit disappointing. We had it at Pico Restaurant and Bar. They serve mostly Italian and they are a bit pricey. Breakfast is included with every room reservation. there's not a lot of food varieties but there's your usual pancakes, omelets, Filipino fried rice and Filipino viands.

The only downside here is that beach/pool towels are for rent. They are at 50PHP and in case you were not able to return them by 10PM the day you rented them, you will be charged 500PHP each.

All in all, it was great experience. Their staff are very hospitable and helpful. Our reservations agent was Jezza and Noemi was the one who took care of us upon check in.

Please feel free to contact me for more information about our stay at PicoSands - jaletaguilar@yahoo.com

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    62
    52
    24
    16
See reviews for
86
24
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very well designed hotel. The room we got has a receiving room and a bedroom loft . Restaurant was average. Olympic size pools , indoor basketball/badminton courts and gym were top notch . Beach clubhouse is the best so far i've seen in Nasugbu area. Very excellent guest services . This is the best hotel resort in Batangas . Rates are a tad more expensive compared to the other resort hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went to pico de loro and stayed at the pico sands hotel. Rooms are clean, spacious, and has balcony with a great view of the mountain or the lagoon. The food's also good as well. You'll never run out of things to do at pico de loro - they have several pools, game rooms, and the beach. The only setback is the price which I find a bit pricey. A good alternative is to stay the condominiums being rented out at pico de loro.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked pico sands via agoda. Went mid may 2013. In summary id say dont expect it to be top notch -- though its price seems to indicate so.
Beach is fine, clean and teeming with fish. Tan in color. Waves are very kid friendly. Life guard on duty. Divided into sections for the protection of swimmers and aqua sports users. Dont expect a kilometer long beach front. Since this is the highlight of the whole area, it can be crowded. Went there on a weekday, beach cots are full, chairs and tables beside beach club are too. So imagine that on a weekend!
Bech club pool - super small for the size of the development.
Beach club restaurant - like eating in any other restaurant in the mall. Nothing superb or fancy.
Club pool - bigger. But For some reason, the kiddie slide was not being used by anyone.
Kids indoor playground - parts where closed but dont being repaired. No one manning the area, so really its a free for all. Clean as far as any playground could possibly be. Though aircon was dripping on one side.
Billards - never got to use it. I think they only have 4 or 6 of them.
Bowling - 6 lanes only. But clean and working well.
Club food - same as all other restaurants in the area. So so.
Hotel - check in was fast. Check out was horribly slow. Only 2 elevators servicing the whole hotel. Went there on a weekday. There was a time we had to wait for 15 mins to get a ride. From 3rd floor, we were forced to ride the elevator going up just to go down to the lobby. Becuase by the time elevators going down reaches our floor from higher floors, they are all full. Dont bother with the stairs, we tried since we were nly 3 floors down- closed on the ground floor going out.
Hotel food -same
Room - we got corner room. Clean, big. Tip: dont bother with lake view or mountin view. Both are beauties. But, hmm ... 4 star without bidet in toilet? What the . . . !
Over all, will we come back? Because i have small kids, beach is fab and safe. But otherwise, too over priced and crowded for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was in Manila for two weeks May-June 2013 and Pico de Loro was an accidental choice after a last-minute decision with the family to head for a beach vacation before school started for my nephew and niece. Other options we had initially looked into were fully booked and after making a call to Pico's head office and speaking to Aila Cebeda, she was able to confirm two rooms (and then 3 which we needed!) and we were off.

Pico Sands Hotel and Pico de Loro Resort is located in Nasugbu, Batangas and is a 3 hour drive from Manila via Tagaytay City. There are clear directions along the route but were given driving directions by the hotel. The scenic drive brings you to Hamilo Cove after passing through numerous high-end resorts along the Naugbu Highway.

We intentionally arrived early to enjoy the pool and the beach before the check-in time of 2PM. Harlyn from Front Desk was very gracious, took my mobile number and called us at 12 noon to inform us that the rooms were ready and we could check in.

Although Nasugbu town is just 30 minutes outside of the resort, we decided to try the restaurants within the resort despite the bad reviews provided on TripAdvisor. We had breakfast at the Beach Club and had no complains. Service was efficient, the food was not excellent but it was good (well, sandwiches and pancakes were what we ordered so you cannot mangle that much). For lunch we tried the Pico Restaurant at the hotel after checking-in and enjoyed the set lunch for 6 people (we were 5 adults and 2 kids - 9 and 11 years old). We decided to add the recommended Bulaloso and that was a really great decision - it was awesome!

The resort has a free goftcart style shuttle that you can use to get from the hotel to the beach club and other facilities. The watersports equipment at the beach club were reasonably priced for a high-end resort (and the beach was very clean and allowed the kids some snorkeling experience. The pool both near the hotel and the beach club average about 4 feet deep so it is safe for older kids but they also had very efficient lifeguards. The pool area closer to the hotel had a jacuzzi, lounge chairs half submerged in the water and a good sized lap pool.

Overall, it was a great experience and the family had a very relaxing and fun weekend. I would be very wary of the negative comments that are on TripAdvisor. Perhaps they were posted by visitors at a time when the hotel was overbooked and staff were overwhelmed (but still, the hotel was fully booked when we were there) but we did not encounter any incident worth complaining about.

I actually commend the staff both at the sales office for their great assistance in booking our vacation last-minute and at the hotel (Front Desk - Harlyn and her other colleagues, the staff at the beach club and the restaurants) for their very professional and effective coordination in ensuring that guests were served very well and that we enjoyed our stay.

I would definitely recommend (and have already to many of my US-based friends after they saw pictures we have posted on Facebook) and will book again next time I am in Manila.

Kudos Pico de Loro and Pico Sands!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I attended a training for 3 days at Hamilo coast Pico de Loro/ The place is relaxing and had lots of amenities and facilities. Shuttle services from and to all points were always available.They even have their own ambulance service for emrgencies. But all of the country club amenities are overpriced. Considering its a members only club..one has to get a pass worth 500 pesos to use the pool, bowling alley, badminton courts to enjoy them, and i believe its non refundable or no consumable! So meaning membership fees do not include them..But the food are varied ,and so there's a lot of choices and they are quite tasty and on the average good.Room service is another thing though, if you want food, you can call but you have to pick it up in the resto. The rooms are spacious and beds are heavenly. Suggestion for the rooms i think air freshners ar4e needed to keep off the newly cemented smell. The smell is overpowering when y9u neter the rooms. Overall it's a great place with good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I've been through countless hotels and resorts throughout the philippines and this i can say by far the most serene, a little pricey but worth it, It's ur gateway to pico de loro! Once you're booked in here you don't need to pay for a guest fee like we used to if we rent one of the member's units at pico and you also don't need to purchase the charge card for 1k, instead the hotel will give you a charge card that doesn't need to be reloaded, everything is just charged to your room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pico Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pico Sands Hotel

Address: Pico de Loro Cove, Hamilo Coast | Brgy. Papaya, Nasugbu, Luzon 4231, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Nasugbu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nasugbu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pico Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pico Sands Hotel is a tropical contemporary seven-storey hotel within the coastal community of Pico De Loro Cove at Hamilo Coast. It has 154 spacious, thoughtfully designed guest rooms with awe-inspiring views of the mountains and a tranquil man-made lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pico Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pico Sands Hotel Batangas/Nasugbu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pico Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.