We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST make time for this.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simien National Park

Simien National Park
Debark, Ethiopia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Debark
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An area of outstanding rugged scenery and extremely rare wildlife has some interesting trekking routes.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“You MUST make time for this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I wish we had more time. Our days were spent driving around the park looking at some of the most beautiful, dramatic scenery ever. The wildlife was also amazing. Hours spent watching the baboons. we saw many birds as well as the Ibex. Stunning place, just a little hard to get to.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    27
    11
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Get lost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The sense of space and elevation is incredible and what's more important, it hasn't been ruined by tourism. A new road is being cut which could change that, but for now this is a destination for anyone who wants to lose themselves (apart perhaps from the mandatory scout and copious wildlife),

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trekking was a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Trekking was by far the highlight of our adventure. We went with Addis Yimer addis_yimer@yahoo.com and it went super smoothly. I emailed a couple of people and he was the most reasonably price at $175 a person. We had a team of 9 people making sure that our experience was safe and we were well fed and happy. The food that was prepared for us was exceptional.

The cook even baked a cake for us out in the middle of no where on a fire for my friends birthday!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“mini hike in Simien mountains, near Gondar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This time we did a short, half day hike only. In December 2004 we stayed 3 nights on top of the Simien Mountains, which was fabulous. Our short hike was equally enjoyable, organized by the Lodge du Chateau. The views are stunning. The sound of silence surrounded us. Layers of mountains were all around us! A feast for our eyes and senses! Nature is best show on earth! We even had opportunity to watch group of Galada Baboons (who may be precursor to human speech...).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naestved, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ethiopia must visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You can get visa on arrival. Check tripadvisor and other forums before you start packing your suitcase. ATM works almost everywhere, get local sim for your mobile. . It’s a good idea to pack some reading material.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simien National Park also viewed

Afar Region, Ethiopia
Bahar Dar, Amhara Region
 
Bahar Dar, Amhara Region
 

Been to Simien National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simien National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.