We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Something for younger children” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Zoo

Vallarta Zoo
Camino al Eden 700, Mismaloya, Mexico
52 322 228 0501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Mismaloya
Attraction details
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something for younger children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was nice to have an option for our younger son to do for a few hours. This Zoo is in Mismaloya an old kinda run down Mexican city. It was interesting to see some "unusual animals." But the hill walking made it more of a "hike." The animals are not cared for like in the US so it was difficult to see that but at the end of the time there our son had the opportunity to play with a baby Bengal Tiger (for a fee). He enjoyed the day and I would reccommend going but just being prepared with good shoes and a bottle of water.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    223
    71
    31
    58
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Zoo - Poor Treatment of Animals”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

First all, I would not even give this place 1 star but to post this, I had to provide something. This zoo is awful. The pictures on their website do not show much of the environment, just a close up picture of the animal. Most every animal was housed in filthy enclosures that were way too small and not properly outfitted for their species. For example, Bengal Tigers are kept in barren kennels that are the size of a dog kennel, Jaguars in a 1 ft wide x 7 ft long run, The Hippo had a water hole the size of a hottub and the water had to have been at least 90 degrees (on top of being filthy), Most of the animals were displaying signs of stress: hair/feather loss, open wounds and panting. The babies that they charge you to play with are chained to the corners and also show signs of distress. While I was observing them, one of the baby monkeys had gotten tangled on his leash, was reaching out to the "attendant" for help to become untangled. When I informed her, she replied "he is just playing".

Do not support this type of treatment of animals. I'm very surprised that anyone would say this was a zoo they enjoyed and were ok with the conditions that the animals were in. Very sad place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go family outing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very hilly so have good shoes. The animals are in your face close!! Very cool. Nothing scary!! For $50 pesos you can buy a bag of food for the animals. Don't use it all up, the poor camels at the end never get anything !! :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great little zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The zoo is located at the south end of Bamderas Bay in the town of Mismaloya which is easily accessible by bus. This is a great little zoo. Unlike the US zoo's, you are able to get close to the animals in their enclosures. Food us sold for the animals. It is great fun to feed the giraffes. They stick their heads out over the side of their enclosures and scoop the food right out of the palm of your hands.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PVR Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We enjoyed it. We played with a lion cub and walked through the entire zoo feeding the animals! We had a bag of food provided by the Zoo with pictures identifying what each animal can eat. We fed zebras, hippos, ostrich, giraffes and a lot more right from our hand. That being said - it's a Mexican zoo. The enclosures are a bit on the small side and some may not appreciate that.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallarta Zoo also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Vallarta Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.