We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Los Cocos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Zancudo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Los Cocos
Save
You added Cabinas Los Cocos to your Saves list
Playa Zancudo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in one of the Rancho Cabinas. Susan and Andrew were excellent hosts. The cabina was a perfect home in paradise. With everything I needed to cook our own meals... including a blender for Pina Coladas. Hanging out on the beach looking for seashells, playing in the waves, sunbathing or sitting in the hammock with a book. Felt at home and never wanted to leave. We drove to the cabinas in our rental car. The roads were bad. Would definately consider the water taxi next time.

Room Tip: Have Susan help you pick the perfect cabin for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Plenty of wonderful things have been said already and they are all true! Los Cocos is a magical world with lush landscaping and four charming rancho and banana cabins. The owners have created an unmanicured paradise, displaying their artistry both inside the cabins and on the property. Susan’s murals and paintings display the vibrant plant and wild life colors of Zancudo. Andrew’s Easter Island-like sculptures can be discovered along the coconut lined walkways or popping up somewhere on the grounds. Besides being artists, and cabin owners Susan and Andrew are remarkable people. They created this place from scratch. Their calm, easy, and attentive manner rubs off on guests who stay anywhere from a few days, to months. It’s the ideal place to de-stress.

I highly recommend taking advantage of the several boat tours Susan and Andrew offer. We just went to Casa Orquideas, a botanical garden tour featuring edible and ornamental plants and trees a boatride away. It was terrific. Again, another example of a resourceful couple who created something from nothing, learning along the way. The tour was small and so personalized that we were given edible samples of their produce including sucking on a cacao seed. We squeezed a fragrant oil from a flower that can be used as lotion or soap. We smelled many different types of orchids all giving off some kind of perfume type scent. I felt as though we were in someone’s back yard who just happened to be experts about everything on their property.

We are hooked on Los Cocos and have returned five years in a row, somehow finding a way to stay longer each year. If you want simple charm in a natural setting this is it.

Peggy W. from Maine

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

What a beautiful place! We spent 4 days in the smaller rancho, which was just the right size for me and my husband. One bedroom with a double bed, small kitchen and bathroom, and a porch with chairs and hammock. This is a truly relaxing place - off the beaten path, huge beach with no one on it, gorgeous sunsets and lovely gardens. We cooked our own breakfasts in the small kithen, but ate other meals out at the surprising number of good restuaurants in the village. Susan and Andrew are friendly hosts and provided free bikes for us. We did the river kayaking and botanical garden tours with Andrew, and they were both very informative and fun. If you are looking for a great place to "get away from it all", this is the spot!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed a week at Los Cocos in the Teak Cabin. The seclusion, beauty of the shade trees, and proximity to the beach provided us with breath-taking views from the cabin's porch. The cabin was super clean, and the kitchen modern and convenient. We took advantage of the Fruit and Vegetable truck and purchased anything else at the nearby market. We loved the tours organized by Susan and Andrew. We took the Rio Mangrove tour with Susan and the Wildlife Sanctuary tour as well. The boat trips provided glimpses of wildlife from dolphins to birds to alligators to spider monkeys. The water at the beach is warm and safe for swimming -- very gentle surf. Also great fun to walk up the beach to the Sol Y Mar and walk through the palm trees to the restaurant where breakfast through dinner is available. As a bonus we enjoyed Susan's art gallery and purchased a print as a memento.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My family (three generations) made the trek to Zancudo in April and loved it. It is THE place to go if you're looking for an off-the-beaten path, low-key, and family friendly beach spot. Susan was an invaluable source of information both before we arrived and once we got there. Her advice on how to handle our time in San Jose and build a trip itinerary that afforded plenty of time for relaxation in Zancudo and quality time in the Osa was spot on. The Harry House was the perfect place for our six-person crew. We enjoyed morning walks on a virtually secluded beach. The swimming was perfect - head south for bigger breaks and good boogie boarding, north for a calmer, gentler float. The midday was hot, but lolling in the hammocks of the Harry House porch, playing cards and reading was the perfect antidote. Afternoons and evenings were spent swimming, beachwalking and checking out some of the many area eateries. Note, Zancudo is not the place for you if you're looking for a slamm'in night life and high end amenities. You'll be plenty comfortable though and can count on Susan and Andrew to help out if anything comes up. The tours are a nice option as well and were a good way to mix things up. We stayed for 7 days and enjoyed a trek to the wildlife sanctuary including an amazing display of dolphins and a brief stop to snorkel. I can't think of any better value in terms of a place to stay. The one thing we had not anticipated was the cost of food. You can spend from $20 per person per meal or $5. The Harry House had a kitchen and we did eat in a couple of nights complete with fruit delivered by the local fruit truck. In our case we went from Zancudo's low-key environs to the high-end escape offered by Bosque del Cabo in the Osa. Both were special in there own way and our family was evenly divided between if we could choose only one place to go between the two, which would we choose. Luckily we didn't have to choose, but if it is a bona fide escape and opportunity to chill at the beach you'd be hard-pressed to beat Zancudo. Thanks again Susan and Andrew!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I spent 10 nights at Los Cocos in The Teak House. It was awesome. We felt like we were camping in the jungle ... well in a cabin of course - not a tent :). We did some of our own cooking ... bought groceries down the street and off the Produce Truck for the freshest fruit & vegetables. We dined out at a couple of the local restaurants as well - all good. Andrew and Susan are wonderful hosts. It was a unique experience for us as it was our first vacation like this that wasn't all-inclusive. I think we will do this again some day! Thanks Susan & Andrew.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at Los Cocos for 2 weeks and then had to move on for our last week to the Sol Y Mar because the house was booked up. I Liked the Sol Y Mar for its Bar and Restaurant but the accomodations were not nearly as nice as staying in a beach house at Los Cocos.
We (Mick and Jodie, in our mid 40's) stayed at the Harry House and I expected some nice atmosphere, but OMG it was just mind blowing how nice it was, the house is 2 story, just BARELY off the beach with a huge wood deck on the second story, beautiful hardwood throughout and 2 bedroom upstairs and a self contained apartment downstairs with access to a washer and dryer of your own. bikes in the garage for you to use (very nice) and pleasantly located amongst the palm trees for shade. We had a very romantic time and if you want anything around Zancudo, Andrew is the guy, and I mean THE guy. Our flight couldn't take anybody's luggage and they said they would "send it on the next day" This was MAJOR, because the airport is a hour boat ride away. Not to worry, when we arrived , Andrew said he would take care of it for us. (he runs the private water taxi service too) Sure engough, the next morning, he arrived back from the long round trip back to Gulfito with our bags in hand, didn't ask for a thing , I gave him 20 bucks anyway, I was so grateful. They are so laid back and yet take care of you it makes you feel very comfortable right away. The house totally made our vacation and next time I am going to book one for the entire vacation well in advance. Los Cocos had several things we liked. Great service, NICEly located out near the resources but very private, far enough away from the popular bar to be quite but near enough that it was only a 10 minute walk down the beach. This place was so enjoyable that I felt I was a newly wed (married 10 years) and was the vacation of my life for me. Los Cocos offers a variety of accomodations from little cabinas to full on houses and they are all pretty nice, I especially liked the look of the "Teak House" a small beautiful house, just perfect for 2. and I would heartily endorse the "Harry House" God I miss it ! Andrew and Susan were also wonderful to us, and we took the kayaking trip up the river to do some back country mangrove kayaking with some really great wildlife experiences. We also had them arrange for us to go over to the Oca peninsula wildlife reserve and hike around for a day, very nice and they set it all up for us, providing the transportation across the Gulf to Puerto Jimenez and even brought us a couple of thermoses of coffee for the trip , just for us, so nice! If you don't want to go to the restaurant down the road to eat, you can just stock up at the country grocery store a 5 minute walk the other direction. Just to let you know what to expect, the beach is right there and its nice but the sand is not white, its kind of grey and yes, stuff washes up every night, but its mostly just wood and palm branches. You can expect to walk the beach any time of the day or night safely and you will probably pass about 10 people per mile of beach MAX. its out of the way but worth it just for that. When you fly into Gulfito, you have to take a cab down to the little dock (Mulliticto) but its only about 5 bucks, very cheap. Andrew will pick you up there and take you all the way to Los Cocos accross the gulf about a 40 minute ride which is BeauTI-ful and a nice setup for things to come . the public water taxi runs a couple of times a day, but it is NOT worth the savings , Like everything there are cheaper options but Los Cocos offers up the better stuff and its SO worth it. I would do this again and plan to , the only thing that held us up this year was my wife needed eye surgery. If I could somehow make a living there, I would move to Zancudo and when I go back, I am staying at Los Cocos.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Los Cocos

Address: Playa Zancudo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Zancudo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Zancudo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront cabins, and rental homes, set in gardens overlooking the sandy beach and blue waves of Playa Zancudo. All cabins have kitchens, good beds, and decks with hammocks, comfortable chairs, and tables. Great swimming beach edged with coconut and almond trees. Also boat tours, bikes and kayaks at Los Cocos. Nice local community scene, several good small interesting restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Los Cocos Costa Rica/Playa Zancudo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Los Cocos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.