We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sol y Mar Will Be a Family Highlight For The Rest Of Our Lives.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol y Mar

Sol y Mar
At Cabinas Sol y Mar, Playa Zancudo, Costa Rica
776-0014
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sol y Mar Will Be a Family Highlight For The Rest Of Our Lives.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed in the Cabanas for 6 nights, Dec 23rd to Dec 28th 2011. The road to get there was rough to say the least but once we arrived it was great. Rick and Lori where gracious hosts. The food was great, the beer cold, the beach and ocean were fabulous. The rooms were nice, no frills other than two nice fans and tight screens on the windows to keep out the mosquitoes at night. Our large family fit nicely into two cabanas. It was a very relaxed atmosphere, no shoes, no shirt, no problem which is the way it should be at this beach front paradise. We had wireless in the bar area and we could even get it in our cabana a few times. Highlights were the fabulous waves and sunsets. In the evening the mosquitoes did come out especially when the breeze stopped but what else would you expect in a place call "Mosquito". The long drive was worth it. Rick arranged for a driver to pick us up and the airport, even though our plane was almost an hour late we made it to Sol y Mar by about 11 p.m. in time or a refreshment at the bar.
We had discussed with Rick the desire to do some activities while we were there and Rick had made arrangements ahead of time, emailing and communicating with us prior to our arrival about each one and they all worked out great thanks Rick.
This place met or exceeded my expectations and will be a family highlight for the rest of our lives.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    19
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I should try some of these recipes at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We were staying at the cabinas, so we went charging all to the room, we tried dinner the first night there and immediately realized we weren't likely to go anywhere else in Zancudo for food.

I simply couldn't put down the Bangkok Thai Tacos (minty ground beef, served with a stack of lettuce leaves and rice so you can make your own wraps/tacos).

I had it twice until I discovered the Chilli Cheese Fries. Outstanding and completely different.

The menu is not extremely long but the variety and the specialties that appear on the whiteboard by the kitchen door should give you enough options to keep you interested several days.

The breakfast with Gallo Pinto was perhaps not the best ever (uneven saltiness), but still pretty good.

The cocktails were fine as well.

On day two I knew the bill was going to be above our ambitiously tight budget plan, as we pretty much sat the whole afternoon going through the cocktail list and ordering tacos and fries occasionally, but we didn't mind. It was so good it was worth it. We probably gained a few pounds, but we left feeling very happy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I just can't get enough of this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I'm not sure it's the beach being so close you can hear it or the weather or the folks that find themselves in Zancudo, but it is likely a combination of all three that keeps us coming back to the Sol Y Mar. No, it's not for everyone! It's not air conditioned and the menu is not pages long. In fact, there really isn't a menu, just a board with the specials of the day. However, the food is always good and there are large portions. They'll even cook the fish you catch with Captain Ronny if you ask. The wait staff is casual and Willy, the chef and chief bottle washer, will come by your table to see what you think of it? The beers are always cold, despite the outdoor temperature and Karrrrla seems to know your drink preference after just one cocktail. Lori & Rick, the owners, seem more like good friends than proprietors and always go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The crowd knows the drill and are equally as friendly and accommodating to all whether it's Wednesday's with Peter and his guitar or Sunday afternoon horseshoes. It takes a special kinda traveler to get to Zancudo and Teresa & I are always happy when we get there and sad when it's time to leave this paradise.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“For a laid back place with good food, great music, and super friendly staff, you can't beat Sol y Mar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

If you're lucky enough to get to Playa Zancudo in Costa Rica odds are you will eventually end up at Sol y Mar restaurant and bar. You won't be disappointed. The food is very good, inexpensive, and their menu is varied enough to cater to almost everyone. Its roof is thatched with palm fronds and sits about 30 yards from the beach. They offer nearly every kind of tropical drink you can think of, (and some that you probably haven't!). Carrrrla,
the bartender, is attentive, cheery, and makes you feel welcome.
The owners, Rick and Lori, were two of the most amiable folks I've ever met while travelling.
They get to know everyone on a first name basis within a day or so.

But the real highlight of the place is the unbelievably eclectic music they play that made it so special for me. Everyone from visitors to locals to other lodge owners seem to make their way to Sol y Mar at one time or another. It's just a great place with great atmosphere and the entire staff makes you feel like one of the family as soon as you arrive.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly and Entertaining Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Rick and Lori operate this Restaurant/Bar/Cabina Rental business. It is an incredibly friendly and welcoming venue. Among other attractions they include live music by Peter who will sing to you on Wednesdays and take you fishing the next day, horseshoes on Sunday with locals, and special events that are loaded with fun. The location is on the beach with beautiful sunsets in the evening. This is a must visit if you are in the Playa Zancudo area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol y Mar also viewed

Playa Zancudo, Province of Puntarenas
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol y Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.