We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant single night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craigellachie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Craigellachie Hotel to your Saves list
Craigellachie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant single night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for one night with our (grown up) daughters. Rooms were clean and roomy and beds comfortable, the highlight was the shower which was powerful and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, and staff were efficient and pleasant. Room rate was rather high. Public rooms comfortable and pleasant for relaxing in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, rooms on the other inside of the hotel overlook the main road, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    113
    56
    28
    15
See reviews for
39
154
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

In the heart of Speyside a beautiful Hotel with a Whsky Bar to die for; is unfortunately let down by it's bland food served by inexperienced staff in the main Restaurant. However the 'Bremners' Lounge and Bar downstairs is both warm, relaxing, good food, music and a Barman who knows what he's doing.

Room Tip: Ask for room three at The Highlander Inn a short walk over the road. Equally good whisky bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am sorry we did not deliver to your expectations. We always try to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My fourth stay at this delightful country Inn in the heart of Scotland's Speyside single-malt distillery region. Refurbished rooms are comfortable sn spacious and restaurant cuisine and service is especially good. Highly recommend Craigellachie, especially for their bar: over 700 single-mal Scotches available!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I should start off by saying we ate in the bar below the hotel and didn't see the rooms.

The first thing that struck as I walked in was the fire was on, but it's the best summer we've had in 10 years outside? So we had to sit as far from it as possible. The bar menu is extremely limited, deciding what to have didn't take long. Burger, fish and macaroni were ordered, which is 2/3 of the menu! I will start with the good bits burger was very good, well cooked and decent quality. The fish was ok no bones, fresh but greasy. The chips were soggy and greasy, there were pieces of batter from the fish on all the plates that had chips. No veg came on the child's fish even though its listed on the adults. Now the macaroni was pasta with a cheese sauce the consistency of soup! The sauce really wasn't good at all.

Two plates were removed whilst one person was still eating, the lad was polite enough obviously needs a little training.

The juke box spits out a random song every so often, we got Kanye West - Gold Digger complete with all the swearing played for us and our 9 yr old.

Normally I'd complain but I didn't know where to start, we were wondering what was going to happen next!

The toilets are tired and in need of repair and decoration too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your posting. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel and we had a spacious room and very clean. The wifi in some areas does not have signal. Staff friendly and their restaurant serves very nice food. The highlight is their whisky bar. 100's of bottles. If you don't stay at the hotel their whisky bar is something to view and experience. They are a bit on expensive side for the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This Hotel takes you back in time with large rooms, a grand staircase, and a whisky bar! We had a corner room with a view of the town. Reception staff very helpful with ideas and directions. Included breakfast was tasty but dinner in the bar was just okay with minimal service. Went the next night to Aberlour (10 min. away) and had dinner at the Mash Tun (make reservations couple of days ahead). We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant. There isn't much to do in the town but we did walk down and explored the Spey River at 10 pm. When we came back to our room, we had hot chocolate waiting! The best part was, of course, the decanter of scotch waiting for us in our room at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Craigellachie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A group of 10 friends returned to this hotel, which is a favourite retreat at different times of the year. We were attending the Aberlour Highland Games on the 3rd August and as always felt really at home. The whisky bar is a favourite haunt and our Argentinian friends were wonderful company. Cara, Lindsey and all the staff work very hard with what is clearly a shortfall of resource. Unfortunately the Manager Ian does not have the proper attitude for this line of work and was quite dour and unhelpful and appeared to resent his customers relaxing and enjoying themselves! Unfortunately one of the couples were placed initially in a room with water damage and damp but this was rectified the second day. For the future this room should be unoccupied until issues resolved. In addition the breakfast has became complicated for both customers and staff- so let's go back to full access to fruit juice and yoghurts etc. All in all a wonderful break and we will be back!
Hopefully with a new Management approach

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words towards the staff. I fully accept about the room but as I explained at the time a previous guest had flooded it and our only option would have been to outbook your party members to another hotel as we were full.

Your comments about fun are interesting when one of your own group, on returning from a convenience break, passed the comment to me that "it doesn't seem like we are being loud when we are in the Quaich but you can clearly hear the noise upstairs". If I seem to be not wanting to let people have fun I trust you would be so forgiving if you were in the room upstairs being kept awake by the people in the bar downstairs after midnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigellachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigellachie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the malt whiskey industry, the idyll enjoyed of the Craigellachie Hotel is almost unrivalled anywhere in Scotland. Combining the style and elegance of a bygone era with the most modern of hotel facilities, guests can enjoy marvellous accommodation in any of the 26 en-suite rooms. Choose one of the Master Rooms or Mini-Suites which overlook the River Spey and the famous Craigellachie Bridge built in 1814. Dining experiences will only but delight, with the Ben Aigen Restaurant offering a range of traditional dishes. After a meal, relax in the Quaich Bar and select one of the 700 single malt whiskies that adorn its walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Craigellachie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigellachie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.