We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whisky trail!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craigellachie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Craigellachie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigellachie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Craigellachie
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Whisky trail!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This Hotel takes you back in time with large rooms, a grand staircase, and a whisky bar! We had a corner room with a view of the town. Reception staff very helpful with ideas and directions. Included breakfast was tasty but dinner in the bar was just okay with minimal service. Went the next night to Aberlour (10 min. away) and had dinner at the Mash Tun (make reservations couple of days ahead). We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant. There isn't much to do in the town but we did walk down and explored the Spey River at 10 pm. When we came back to our room, we had hot chocolate waiting! The best part was, of course, the decanter of scotch waiting for us in our room at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Craigellachie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    91
    47
    22
    13
See reviews for
34
121
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A group of 10 friends returned to this hotel, which is a favourite retreat at different times of the year. We were attending the Aberlour Highland Games on the 3rd August and as always felt really at home. The whisky bar is a favourite haunt and our Argentinian friends were wonderful company. Cara, Lindsey and all the staff work very hard with what is clearly a shortfall of resource. Unfortunately the Manager Ian does not have the proper attitude for this line of work and was quite dour and unhelpful and appeared to resent his customers relaxing and enjoying themselves! Unfortunately one of the couples were placed initially in a room with water damage and damp but this was rectified the second day. For the future this room should be unoccupied until issues resolved. In addition the breakfast has became complicated for both customers and staff- so let's go back to full access to fruit juice and yoghurts etc. All in all a wonderful break and we will be back!
Hopefully with a new Management approach

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words towards the staff. I fully accept about the room but as I explained at the time a previous guest had flooded it and our only option would have been to outbook your party members to another hotel as we were full.

Your comments about fun are interesting when one of your own group, on returning from a convenience break, passed the comment to me that "it doesn't seem like we are being loud when we are in the Quaich but you can clearly hear the noise upstairs". If I seem to be not wanting to let people have fun I trust you would be so forgiving if you were in the room upstairs being kept awake by the people in the bar downstairs after midnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is an old fashioned relaxing hotel with a great selection of malt whisky and a library full of books. Great to chill out when the weather not so great but good to stay in if on an activity holiday as they bring lots of bath towels and drinking chocolate.. We were walking the Speyside Way,which runs past the door. they could make more of this by supplying bus timetables info etc
Food menu did not change a great deal each day but the food is very good and the restaurant has an old fashioned charm and good service.

Room Tip: We had a small room but there are better more spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and were disappointed. I think the hotel gets away with being mediocre because there is so little competition here - just the adjacent inn, which looks to be in a similar state. I would stay somewhere in Dufftown instead.
The building itself is nice enough, but being right next to a big road there is a lot of road noise in the bedrooms. Staff are clearly short-term holiday hires rather than professionals - service is slow, uncoordinated and frustrating. The beds are small: they have no King-size beds. The best we could get was an upgrade to a room with a Queen-size, for £20 more per night.
Breakfast is uninspiring and poorly prepared: a hard-boiled poached egg on the Eggs Benedict? Fruit Salad that consists of sliced apples swimming in orange juice? Two boiled eggs, one of which arrives with a large piece of shell missing because someone dropped it?
None of this should be news actually: the other reviews that point out this kind of thing are pretty spot on, but management must either not read the reviews or believe they can get away with doing nothing. Don't go here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay.

Contrary to your posting many of our rooms do have king size beds but as most would assume these are in the larger upgrade rooms. All of our junior suites and all bar 2 of our deluxe rooms face overlooking the Spey.

I regret breakfast was not up to the standard you and I both expect and for that there is no excuse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had our wedding last year here but didn't stay in the hotel itself. We decided to try it on our anniversary as a treat, and what a treat it was! Although our experience the previous year was very good, we were still very pleasantly surprised about how good the room was, how fantastic our meal was and how reasonably priced it was for what we got. I am not sure if the hotel was wise to the fact that we had got married there the previous year and pulled out all the stops, but couldn't have been happier with the experience. One negative was that the internet connection was terrible, really terrible. But we weren't there to be online, so wasn't too much of an issue. However it seems like a trivial thing to get right, and in this day and age....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. As in my previous response fast speeds are simply not available in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The facility could use an update, but the staff are charming, and the location--if whiskey and castles are your thing--couldn't be better. We spent two days wandering the area, including a visit one of the "Glen" distilleries, several castles and driving in the hills. We were disappointed we didn't bring our running stuff--the Spey Way is just metres from the hotel and looked like it would have made a fantastic morning or evening run.

Our only serious complaint was the wireless--it was hopeless--reception apologized as we were checking out, but reasons given for lack of reception were not strong. For the price of the hotel, this should be remedied.

Room Tip: A room behind the kitchen (204) is a bit small, and it's less romantic to have to walk past faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Unfortunately, as we are a considerable distance from the exchange which is itself quite elderly, fast broadband speeds as normal in cities and towns are simply unavailable and in the evenings speed in the entire area is an issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

booked family dinner for 7. Menu looked impressive but was a total disappointment! 6 of party ordered steaks which were tough and tasteless. I had sea bream, was tasty enough but tiny helping. One family member ordered sticky toffee pudding which came in crisp bite sized pieces!!! All in all, a very expensive let down. Lovely building and surroundings but meal was truly bad.Even chef admitted that beef hadn't been hung properly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Manager at Craigellachie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
This has not been brought to my attention. Please contact me direct so we may make ammends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craigellachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigellachie Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the malt whiskey industry, the idyll enjoyed of the Craigellachie Hotel is almost unrivalled anywhere in Scotland. Combining the style and elegance of a bygone era with the most modern of hotel facilities, guests can enjoy marvellous accommodation in any of the 26 en-suite rooms. Choose one of the Master Rooms or Mini-Suites which overlook the River Spey and the famous Craigellachie Bridge built in 1814. Dining experiences will only but delight, with the Ben Aigen Restaurant offering a range of traditional dishes. After a meal, relax in the Quaich Bar and select one of the 700 single malt whiskies that adorn its walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Craigellachie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigellachie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.