We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business meeting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra House to your Saves list
Alexandra House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good business meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Arranged business meeting for work. facilities and room all good. Service excellent. Room well set up well and temperature good. No complaints. Tea and coffee all readily on tap and biscuits.

Good selection of food for lunch.

Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent business meeting here at Alexandra House, we differ from other conference venues with our Buffet Stations, as you were aware, you can break out at any point and enjoy refreshements, tea and coffee as many times as you wish.

Thanks again

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    177
    84
    18
    10
See reviews for
44
208
15
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great accommodation, helpful and friendly staff. Lovely breakfast. Only disappointment is the extremely limited availability of the swimming pool (1-3pm only) for use by children, a very awkward time if visiting the area for a holiday. This caused a great deal of disappointment and I think this should be made very clear on booking. The pool was one of the main reasons this particular accommodation was booked.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor,

We are currently reviewing the Child Swim times and may revise them, thank you for making your valid comments.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

An enjoyable weekend away, we wanted to take a weekend but not go too far, we got a deal through great little breaks,which included a bottle of wine dinner each night along with breakfast, taken in to account which I just stated they just about gave us the the room for next to nothing, the room we got a corner room and was a really good size in fact I would say is was a very large room. the food was just wonderful and service given was also top notch, the hotel is modern and tucked away on the outskirts of Swindon, it was quiet with no traffic noise we were at the back of the hotel. On the second night the fire alarm went off making us jump up out of bed, this soon went off and we were left wondering if we should leave or not ,as no one else were leaving we done the same, at breakfast the next morning we found a football staying at the hotel and playing Swindon that day, we laugh, joking saying it that what happens when a team stays there? one would say not but there was no real explanation of what happen

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Jon W,

Thanks for your recent comments about your stay here at Alexandra House.

I'm glad that you experienced the great customer service that our staff here work so hard to deliver, thanks for your comments on the food and quality of meals that you received.

I apologise that there wasn't an explanation for why the Fire Alarm had been activated and that it disturbed you.

Please keep watching the websites as we frequently update them with offers for Alexandra House.

Thanks Again

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Located in spacious grounds, externally this modern hotel rather resembles the Premier Inn style of construction, but internally presents a fresh and smart image providing conference facilities; a fitness centre; a lounge with bar (although the subdued lighting added an extra challenge to the completion of a crossword puzzle), plus restaurant, which we didn`t patronise as the menu choice appeared restricted to rather standard "pub grub". On the other hand, the breakfast selection was good although the toast machine appeared to be faulty.
The bedroom and bed were both roomy and comfortable whilst the en suite was adequate rather than generous in size. A significant plus point here was the welcome for our dog at no extra charge.
At the time of our visit there was no information folder provided in the rooms (apparently being in the process of updating). This meant that enquiries were necessary to establish breakfast times; wifi access and lack of a restaurant menu for leisurely perusal.
Service was polite, cheerful, attentive and efficient.
Would we return? Yes without hesitation, although we might well be tempted to dine out at one of the various pubs and restaurants located in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay here at Alexandra House.

I'm glad you found are accomodation as being clean, modern and spacious, as we are purpose built venue, our bedrooms and conference rooms have been designed to accomodate our various guests requirements.

Our Restaurant menu offers a variety of options to cater for all tastes.

Thanks for again for your comments and I hope that you return to Alexandra House soon.

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed recently on a course. Good quality modern building in quiet rural location - plenty of parking with no height barrier. All the waiting & reception staff (and we had to return to reception five times to get our keys reprogrammed) were excellent, and the restaurant manager was a real character - a great people person for dealing with a crowd. Food was very good, drinks expensive. The only niggles were infrastructure items: radiator in room was very noisy, but at least we were warm. The radiator was unusually positioned on an inside wall, so the room was quite cool over by the window (where the desk and relaxing chair were located). Noise from the corridors carried into the rooms, as there was no "lobby" type door within the room (as Novotels usually have). And those room keys, that needed reprogramming 5 times .... But overall, there are many hotels that could take a note of how the staff do it so well here.

Room Tip: Some are a long way from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for your comments on your recent stay at Alexandra House.

I am happy that you received excellent customer service here, as we train all our staff to deliver high standards of customer care.

Our drinks prices are comparable with the local hotels in the area, I am disappointed that you overheard noise in your rooms, this is uncommon and I apologise that you experienced this.

I hope you return to Alexandra House in the future.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on the outskirts of Swindon. Edge of a new housing estate. Modern hotel with cosy swimming pool. Some rooms are a long walk from reception. Restaurant not great. Had to send back both my starter and main. Staff very accommodating. They had a wedding on and we felt they put the effort into that and not the other customers. Location near some lovely places. Marlborough is great and Swindon designer centre. We still had a good time despite this.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments, on your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

I am disappointed that you didn't receive your meals to the high standard that is delievered here. The Kitchen and Restaurant team work hard to ensure all food is of an exceptional quality and I apologise for the shortfall that you experienced.

However, I am glad that you found all staff accomodating, as we endeavour to provide excellent customer service.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed a weekend here in late March and my partner is gluten intolerant. They went out of their way to look after her which was much appreciated. Service throughout the hotel was spot on, especially the Maitre d', whose attention to detail was amazing. Great room too; more like a suite. Fairly quiet at the weekend but no doubt a lot busier during the week, but a really professional team from arrival to departure. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thanks for your wonderful comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

Our Chefs and Restaurant team are happy to assist with any dietary requirements and I'm happy that your wife was accomodated.

I shall pass your feedback to all members of the team, and I hope that you return to Alexandra House soon.

Thanks

Ray Mckobben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Address: Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel ideally located just 4 miles from Swindon Centre in 20 acres of landscaped grounds with beautiful Cotswold countryside on the doorstep and close to a wide range of other local attractions in Wiltshire. Alexandra House is ideally positioned for breaks and weekends away at great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.