We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra House to your Saves list
Alexandra House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Beaconsfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent two nights here by way of a travel zoo deal. Excellent hotel, clean, quiet, comfortable beds and spacious rooms. Staff were extremely helpful and the spa/swimming pool facilities were lovely, very welcome after a long day sightseeing! Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jill M,

Thanks for your lovely comments about your stay here at Alexandra House,

We try to provide an outstanding service to all our guests and I'm glad you had a good time when you stayed.

Kind Regards,

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    177
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
45
208
15
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend break at this hotel. I must say everything about this hotel was excellent, yes it is a corporate hotel, but the rooms were spotless, and very spacious,with a very comfortable bed. The reception staff were very polite, cheerful and helpful. The food in the restaurant was quite frankly outstanding, we thoroughly enjoyed the meals we had both evenings, the staff in the restaurant were attentive and pleasant. Breakfast buffet was lovely, good choice all hot and was kept topped up. The only slight negative was that the drinks in the bar were a little on the expensive side. The hotel is set in some lovely grounds, and have good leisure facilities. Overall I would recommend this hotel, we shall certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your lovely comments about your stay here at Alexandra House. I will feedback to all departments, Housekeeping, Reception, Kitchen and Restaurant who all work together to ensure all guests receive a high standard of customer care.

We hope you return again,

Kind Regards,

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Albeit primarily a conference centre, and having been a guest but also living locally, I recommend this as worth a visit. Rooms all very good and comfortable, with good leisure facilities and pool.
The hot summer has seen various events around barbecue in the inner and outer courtyard area allowing me to enjoy a beer out of a chilled glass with my dog resting quietly by my side!
Bliss!
Manager Bilal could not be more attentive to his task and I now really value this facility, and will be looking to use it more in future. What better recommendation?
Usually quieter at weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay here at Alexandra House.

We like to make use of our outdoor facilities when the weather allows and I will feedback your comments to all our team members and of course Bilal.

Kind Regards,

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent two nights and the hotel is clean and modern but no air con so the room was quite stuffy. The bed was so comfortable, power shower great. The cleaning staff do an excellent job and were very polite and friendly. We booked through central reservations and they said they would charge our credit card. On arrival the receptionist said the card had not been charged so we paid in cash and asked for a receipt and she said we would receive that on check out.... on our insistence we finally got an invoice. The food was good, bit of a wait for a poached egg. It seems they should bring in extra staff when there are weddings on as it was a bit manic at breakfast. We ordered our wine at dinner which was warm so asked for another bottle and was told as it was one of the more expensive wines there were only two kept in the fridge and they had already been bought. The restaurant manager was apologetic and most helpful. Great member of staff. The leisure facilities are brilliant.... the jacuzzi is first class. I would stay with this chain of hotels again but not this one. The only reason is that this hotel it is really for functions and coporate meetings and lacks atmosphere. But full marks for the staff doing a great job. Value for money so give this hotel a try.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Rooms were clean and adequate. We were on a deal which included food -but the food was not very good. The choice looks good but the buffet is left out for a long time and we had braised beef off the menu which was very dry! When we mentioned this we were told others had said the same! No explanation or apology. On the up side - the waiting staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is clearly a hotel set up for corporate guests during the week so had very good deals on for other guests at weekends. We had the three course dinner and breakfast included in our room rate and it was very good value. The evening meal was a choice from the menu or the buffet selection and both choices were very good. Room was fine, clean and modern. No air con, which was OK when we stayed as the weather wasn't too warm but I wouldn't have liked it during the recent hot spell.Pool is adequate and changing area is clean and modern, towels provided. Hotel is set in lovely countryside and there is a golf course nearby which offers discount for hotel guests.
Staff were very helpful, chatty and pleasant. I would definitely go again with a similar value for money deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback, team really appreciated your positive words.
At Alexandra house we do pride ourselves in trying to keep a good hotel and when we see feedback like this it shows that all our hard work has a positive effect on our guests..

Thanks once again and we look forward to welcome you back to Alexandra house in the future.

Ray and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Only stayed one night. It was adequate, no more. Very clean and well equipped with perfectly comfortable beds but only minimal supplies of tea and coffee stuff and no free wi fi. Some truly hideous pictures on the walls and our room was a very long hike from reception. All very corporate and nothing to distinguish it from any other hotel chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to reply back to trip advisor and to give us your honest appraisal of our venue, if you take the time to look through the trip advisor website and you can see photographs. We do feel that the photos show the building as it is. We certainly never pretend to be something more not; we are a modern building with very good facilities. We are a great springboard to Bath, Bristol and on to the Cotswolds.

Just to answer your question on WiFi, we do have free WiFi it is at lower speed which will allow you to pick up emails, but not stream video. This facility is chargeable like most corporate hotels. We give enough tea and Coffee for two guests. but of course if guests want more they can only pick up the phone and ask our reception team and we be glad to supply more.

We do really appreciate your feedback, whether feedback is good or bad we as a team really did taken on board. Thanks once again for using us and we do hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Ray and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Address: Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel ideally located just 4 miles from Swindon Centre in 20 acres of landscaped grounds with beautiful Cotswold countryside on the doorstep and close to a wide range of other local attractions in Wiltshire. Alexandra House is ideally positioned for breaks and weekends away at great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.