We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Scrapbooking Retreat"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra House

Save Saved
You added Alexandra House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wroughton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Scrapbooking Retreat"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was my second visit to Alexandra House, and I hope it will not be my last! set in a quiet location this smart modern hotel caters for all.
The staff are extremely friendly and always ready and willing to help. Food choice is excellent and good quality.
Rooms are comfortable and very well equipt and decorated to a high standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    129
    60
    14
    8
See reviews for
31
159
13
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Made last minute booking through bookin.com, only to find the hotel had no knowledge of this. Reception lady was very helpful and sorted us out. The room was very good, except the bed could be a bit bigger, and also the TV was very poor to watch, needs up dating. Restaurant well over priced. The biggest thing that let this hotel down was the breakfast, very slow in restocking cooked breakfast. My husband and I was so looking forward to our night away and cooked breakfast. The toast was cold and coffee luke warm, waited over half an hour, bits and pieces came out a bit at a time, we got fed up waiting and left. I did keep asking where breakfast was and all I got was its coming ( well so is Christmas) There was fruit and cereal, with cheese and ham, but we enjoy our cooked breakfast. I shall not be returning again as this is just really not our cup of tea.

Room Tip: This is more geared up for Business. (over priced)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Knowing the area we thought the hotel would be quiet.... but woken about 7am Sunday morning by the cleaner who banged doors and wardrobes etc in the adjacent rooms and the corridor for the next 2 hours.. we gave up trying to sleep in the end and got up and went to breakfast..

Only 1 bath towel and one hand towel between two of us and they were rough enough to rub horses down.. what is it with hotel's and towels?

Shame as we liked the hotel ...room was nice it could do with curtains at the window's as the blind was not full length and let the light in, bed was comfortable and reception staff were very helpful.

Duty Manager made a bit of a fuss initially when we asked to view the Function Room and Bridal Suite for our future wedding.

.
Duty manager made a little fuss about showing us the function room and bridal Suite when asked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the car park or the book in car park at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Third year. So nice to see familiar faces. Sandrine and Bilal. both welcomed us back. I can not praise this place enough. It's fresh, clean, friendly and the food is to die for. We all enjoyed our time here and do hope we will manage to get back again next year. Big thank you also to Jo Nicholls who is our point of contact before we arrive and always makes sure we are well looked after. Never get to see the Chef but feel I must mention him. Presentation, flavor, choice amazing, thank you.

Room Tip: Stayed three time and never been given a room I didn't like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey england
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay easily accessible from the M4 after a day at work ready for a tour of Highgrove late morning.

The hotel is a conference/ training centre, but as an alternative to a Days Inn or Travelodge there is no competition.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean, it is set in a quiet location and if we had had more time we could have used the gym and pool.

The breakfast is the usual buffet style, and a slight problem with the waitress's english who took my ham and cheese omelette order to be cheese and onion, but it was was very well cooked!

Not sure we'd use it for more than passing through but excellent value for a very comfortable room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location in rural Wiltshire. The bedrooms are clean and newly decorated. Nothing amazing but certainly ok. Bath could be bigger. And the toiletries aren't great.
The restaurant choices for lunch are fairly standard. They seem to like the word 'panache'. A panache of vegetables. A panache of fish. Just means mixed!
Evening meal ok. Plenty of food available.
My biggest gripe is that in the whole place there isn't proper coffee. It is all Nescafé instant machines. Yuck. . Not a coffee bean to be seen. Shame. Two days and no coffee. Next time I will bring my own cafetiere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Decided to have a 'chill-out' weekend at Alexandra House. The hotel is set in acres of land and has lovely rooms with good facilities. We looked at various sites to get a good deal and found an offer that was 50% off the hotel web site rate!
The staff were pleasant and helpful and the leisure facilities were excellent.
Just a couple of negatives, if you are sitting in the lounge / bar area there is a constant stream of people dragging cases through the area to get to their rooms. (I don't quite understand the design of this part of the hotel).
Secondly, to get to anywhere (for a meal) an expensive taxi ride is required. (Malborough / Swindon).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Address: Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel ideally located just 4 miles from Swindon Centre in 20 acres of landscaped grounds with beautiful Cotswold countryside on the doorstep and close to a wide range of other local attractions in Wiltshire. Alexandra House is ideally positioned for breaks and weekends away at great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.