We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Diem

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Massangis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carpe Diem
Save
You added Carpe Diem to your Saves list
53 Grande Rue, 89440 Massangis, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 1 Massangis B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved our first visit to Burgundy and a lot of that has to do with our stay at Carpe Diem. The rooms and the house itself are spotless, beautiful and so tastefully decorated. Breakfast every morning consisted of homemade yogurt, jams, and pastries in additon to bread, meat and cheese. We had dinner 3 out of our 5 nights and honestly wished we had dined there all 5 nights. The food was comforting yet refined and it was a lot of fun to talk to Patrick and the other guests. Last but not least, our hosts Patrick and Eric were so kind and hospitable. They made us feel so welcome in their home and gave us so many great suggestions on things to do and see around Burgundy. The town itself doesn't have much to offer but that's actually one of the charming things about staying there. You can really feel like you're in the country and off the beaten track while still being just a 15-30 minute drive from major attractions. We hope that we'll have the opportunity to return one day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massangis, Owner at Carpe Diem, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so pleased that you choose our house on a such special trip, and and feel truly happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
If you ever come to this part of Burgundy, you will be the most welcome. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    5
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
256
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Patrick and Eric make your stay at Carpe Diem unforgettable. The food was unbelievably good. The room was as nice a room as you could wish for. Only positives from our stay. Our only regret is that we only spent one night here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massangis, Owner at Carpe Diem, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your your encouragement. We hope to see you back with family or friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

When the gate was opened by Patrick a little paradise was revealed. A beautiful garden, lovely buidlings that remind remotely of a farm house and inside Patrick and Eric have created a fantastic atmosphere. It is a warm and colorful environment where we felt at home and welcome. Breakfast was awsome and the diner we shared with the other guests was fantastic. Carpe Diem knows how to spoil their guests and it was a very great pleasure to spend a few days of our vacation here. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massangis, Owner at Carpe Diem, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We look forward to seeing you back home and try to spoil you both a bit more. Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments, we really appreciate it.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Seize the day and seize the opportunity to stay at this lovely place. I reserved several months in advance and am so glad I did. The property is lovely--a stone former barn reconfigured into a series of lovely rooms with private baths, a beautiful living room with fireplace and dining area, kitchen and a colorful garden on view through the windows. Every comfort is provided, and all is in excellent taste. Patrick and Erik work very hard to maintain the beauty, atmosphere, and level of amenities provided and I can't imagine any guest who would not be impressed with the building, the service and the level of comfort provided. Breakfast is a feast of delicious local items, home made jams and yogurt, lovely breads. For the price Carpe Diem is an incredible bargain. I've stayed in many chambres d'hotes de charme, but this one is tops and has no real competition.

The location was wonderful as well, with so many historic, interesting places to visit nearby. We enjoyed the beautiful medieval village of Noyers, spent a day at Vezelay and another at Fontanay Abbey, and also visited Flavigney. Just driving through the countryside was enjoyable.

From the fine beautifully ironed linens provided for the very comfortable beds, to the quality fixtures in the bathrooms, the highest standards are evident everywhere at Carpe Diem.. We had a wonderful meal one evening as well, served with excellent wine. It is clear that the hosts love their home and enjoy their work. It was a real privilege to be able to share the beauty and comfort of this gracious, tasteful, peaceful place. Thank you, thank you for this opportunity!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Diane suite which was separate from the other rooms and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massangis, Owner at Carpe Diem, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and for the positive feedback also. We are delighted you found everything to your satisfaction; and that you enjoyed your stay at home.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We read the positive reviews of Carpe Diem on Trip Advisor and booked one night here in May. What a great experience. Patrick and Eric have created an exquisite boutique B&B in a beautifully restored old building with panelling and flooring of oak.. The decor of the rooms gave a very luxurious but comfortable feeling. The meals were something else again. We enjoyed a great french breakfast and were treated to an evening meal that was worth a Michelin rating. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massangis, Owner at Carpe Diem, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Merci for taking the time to review us. What a praise...
We are very proud you liked our cuisine. These nice words give us more confidence.
A bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebellingham, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Patrick is one of the best hosts I have ever met. Every little detail of his wonderful accommodation is well thought out and in some way special. Carpe Diem is the best value I have ever encountered in France. The bedrooms, the public areas, and the outside area are all of the highest standards, yet he charges only 2 or 3 star rates. Don't pass this place. And be sure to book an evening meal. Carpe Diem is a very special place indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massangis, Owner at Carpe Diem, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for all the compliments. We felt very humble reading them. It is people like you that makes Carpe Diem what it is. We sincerely hope to see you back home one day.
Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

From the moment Patrick opens the gate and we drive into this hidden paradise we know we have a treat in store. The home is beautifully restored with great taste and style and Patrick and Eric are extremely generous hosts. The breakfasts are excellent featuring Patrick's home-made preserves and wonderful yoghurt and on our final evening we enjoyed a beautiful dinner prepared with creativity and great skill. A must-do when staying. Our visit to Carpe Diem has given us many memories to treasure and we look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massangis, Owner at Carpe Diem, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We enjoyed every moment of your stay with us. Thank you for your generosity. We look forward to a return visit to share again such joy and happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carpe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem

Address: 53 Grande Rue, 89440 Massangis, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Burgundy > Yonne > Massangis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Massangis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Burgundy, between the medieval village of Noyers sur Serein, Fontenay Abbey, Basilica of Vezelay and Chablis vineyards, Carpe Diem is located in a small village by the river. You are the most welcome for a relaxing and friendly stay. We offer 5 Charming bedrooms with quality bedding and private bathroom. We serve daily breakfast with fruit juice, yogurt, jam and homemade cake, pastries, fresh bread, cheese, cold cuts and fresh fruit... Prior to an advance booking a refined dinner can be served. English spoken. Private car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carpe Diem Hotel Massangis
Carpe Diem France/Massangis, Burgundy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Diem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.