We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Dracy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Dracy to your Saves list
Hotel Le Dracy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue du Pressoir, 71640 Dracy-le-Fort, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dracy-le-Fort
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After the good reviews of this hotel we were looking forward to our stay here but I wished we'd saved our money and stayed at one of the cheaper chain hotels in Chalon as this place was awful.
Our room had a really awful smell so not a good start when you walk in. The room was dated and the bathroom needed some serious attention with cracked broken tiles which were covered in mould, take a look at photos.
Our room was also next the breakfast kitchen and breakfast dining room so we were woken up really early with the clashing of plates and the like.
At 110 euros a night I was expecting a lot more. Plus, that didn't include breakfast which is an extra 12 euros each. It seemed as though a lot of people were eating in the restaurant at the hotel and the reception staff were shocked when we said we didn't want to book a table. At 30 Euros a head for a set menu I think not!
It seemed as though a lot of people use this as a stop over hotel when driving through France so the guests were mostly British, Dutch and Belgian. Given the type of clients we were surprised that they didn't have sat TV, only French channels. Come on Le Dracy, I've stayed in tiny Chambres d'hotes in rural France with sat TV.
I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it. Very poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
56
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have stayed here numerous times. This time was even better because air conditioning had been installed in the refurbished room we occupied. The standard of food in the evening has remained high so top marks for consistency. No doubt we will stay again on our way further south.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that all rooms have air conditioning or have been refurbished. Check this out at b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

a great place looking like an average motel with 5 stars bed,clean and quiet but not large room,good service and good value for money(100 euro,but 80 in low season and walking rates),decent breakfast (12 euro) for French appetite(no cooked dishes).
Affordable fine cuisine and wines in the restaurant La Garenne

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel is excellent for a 3-star house.
We stayed one week and were happy to have a perfectly air-conditioned rooms and a very spacious nice park with a little pool to cool down.
Dracy-le-Fort is well located in the Burgundy wine aerea and near the motorway and mayor routes near Dijon.
The overland-road sometimes can be heard if you sleep on the north-side, but we had very quiet and peaceful nights.
The Hotel is not luxurious but very well looked after in all areas. The service is fast and very friendly. As almost everywhere in France, it serves you well to know some basics in French. But they try hard to read from your lips and hands, which is often fun.

The rooms are not very big but we had all we need. Important point for us: You do not at all hear your neighbours...
The beds were excellent, which we did not find very often in France. The bathroom is modern, very tidy and big enough for two. The shower is actually 1st-class.

We had half-board in the hotel's restaurant "La Garenne" and it was perfect. Though we are not realy "Gourmets", I must admit. But the french people eat there, too and the restaurant is quite busy at lunch and dinner, so it must be good.
The Burgundy wines are quite expensive, but the restaurant prices are not higher than elsewere.
The breakfast is better than in other french hotels. The French and their breakfast.... You should be prepared not to eat very much for breakfast.
The coffee is no good quality and the tea-variations are quite poor, but the juices are 100% fruit and 1st-class as well as the service in the breakfast room.

One thing must be mentioned: The TV has only 10 channels and they are all in French. We asked, but they could not change this. If the manager reads this: Please work on this, it's annoying.
We obtained the news using the mobile phone and the free WiFi in the room. But thats not one of the fastest.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

I have stayed here twice, once in 2005 and this year. The hotel has improved its rooms and they feature good beds and nice bathrooms. The restaurant is very good but does not offer the best value for your money versus other hotels in the area. Never the less - highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We had a room reserved, close to a friend's house in Burgundy.
Apparently it is a location for people recovering from health situation, so it is peacful. They have a nice garden and swimming pool in the back.
the room is a bit small, however the bathroom is very modern and has it all, toilets are separated from the rest. The breakfast is very good, the overall is charming. For the little time we stayed there, because the purpose was really to have a place to sleep, the only deception point we had is the reception : You arrive, no welcome, no good morning, 3 people talking together meanwhile you are waiting, it is just not at the level of the rest.
Perhaps we have not been lucky.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks.England
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
877 helpful votes 877 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

Some other reviews have had a niggle or two but we were pleased with our stay a Le Dracy.
To start - do try to approach it from the North and not through the village of Dracy as the Hotel is in the country,along side a Specialist Hospital and not in the village.Use their Web directions.
Never go on first impressions - as you enter the property you think you are arriving at a low rise motel ,surrounded by a large landscaped car park, but on entering reception your preconceptions are swept away.The photo albums on the table explain the look - originally a restaurant , it was joined and extended into an adjacent low rise building.
It is a stylish , modern reception with lounge area and large picture windows overlooking the gardens and pool beyond.
Our bedroom (a double with air.con. @€125) was very well furnished with lots of room,minibar ,settee and a super bathroom and separate wc. Well insulated and very comfortable.Only grumble - why no Sat TV - only 6 French channels,even 2* Logis do better than this!
The hotel carpark was full on arrival but cleared by 6pm as the Conference Center in a seperate building had closed their session for the day .At no time did this conference wing impinge on the residents facilities other than at their 09.30 coffee break.
Dinner in "La Garenne" was excellent -a lovely series of linked dining rooms with Provencal touches and although the Hotel and Dining Room were full , including two large groups (one business one Belgian tour party) the staff coped very well and the service,presentation and quality of food punched well above the menu pricing of €39 and €49.
Wine started at €15 with great Macconais at €27.
Breakfast at €11 was good value with an extensive buffet spread.
Whilst it is a handy stopover from the A6 it would be great to use this as a base for touring the wine region in late Spring and Summer and to return after a tour of the vineyards in the late afternoon to relax in the gardens around the pool pondering the menu choice for dinner!
We will return.

  • Liked — The large comfortable and soundproofed bedroom.
  • Disliked — No International Sat Tv stations
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Dracy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Dracy

Address: 4 rue du Pressoir, 71640 Dracy-le-Fort, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Saone-et-Loire > Dracy-le-Fort
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dracy-le-Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Dracy 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Dracy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dracy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Dracy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.