We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tranquil Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Colombaie Country Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Colombaie Country Resort to your Saves list
Le Colombaie Country Resort
Via Donizetti, 4/A, 56038 Ponsacco, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Osl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Tranquil Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only stayed one night, but the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the apartment was beautiful. We were a bit doubtful driving up to it, but when we turned off the main road and came around the bend we knew it would be good.
A great base if you are exploring the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzoPonsacco, Owner at Le Colombaie Country Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your beautiful feedback. You will be welcome whenever you want. Best regards. Lorenzo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
13
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lorenzo charming and rooms very nice, clean etc. A bit more imagination in the layout outside would have been good and the next door neighbour's dog kept on barking in the early hours which was very annoying.

Use the place as a base for exploring Pisa, Florence etc but dont go there for a relaxing break to sit about - it's not that private. Had great fun trying to find an open restaurant in Ponsacco and the immediate area is flat and industrial, but very easy to get to some wonderful places nearby. Catch the train to Florence - much easier than driving - we went from Empoli which is an easy drive and park. Take a map though as the road and motorway layouts can be confusing.

Lovely place and deserves to do well - if it were in nice countryside it would fly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzoPonsacco, Owner at Le Colombaie Country Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the positive comment. However, I disagree about the lack of relaxation and privacy. All of our guests have told us that he had relaxed during their stay in The Colombaie. We are in the countryside and it is normal to hear the occasional barking of a dog. Thanks again for telling me charming! I hope that you will still be our guest. Lorenzo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in the Colombaie for only one night before we could enter the apartment which we have rented for our stay in the Tuskany – and we learned that the Colombaie is such a nice place where you can easily spent a couple of days at least. This place just opened early of this year and Lorenzo takes care about every guest with great care. Late arrival? Restaurant recommendations? Forgotten charging cable? Everything no problem! The place is very clean, rooms are spacious, nice bath rooms. It’s a new building but very well adapted to the old character of the surrounding buildings – so it’s definitely a charming – and also stylish -place. From the breakfast terrace (and the rooms as well) you have a nice view over the fields and a small pine tree forest, there is quite a big (and new!) pool with convenient pool chairs equipped with umbrellas, loudspeakers and even a variety of journals. This place is definitely worth being highly recommended.

PS The pizza place around the corner is worth going, good food and friendly staff. You will find excellent food with a focus on seafood at Frank’s Restaurant in Ponsacco, Lorenzo will surely assist.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzoPonsacco, Owner at Le Colombaie Country Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Many thanks to Mr. Andreas and his beautiful family.
He is the perfect guest: always nice and positive. He will be welcome whenever he wants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We chose this place, because it was on our way to Northern Tuscany.

We did not really expect too much, since the price was ok. But, when we arrived, surprise. Everything so beautiful, clean and neat with a nice view onto the fields.
Manager then greet us and he was very kind, just like the other staff (which is more or less family) and willing to help.

Rooms were just as gorgeous in a nice old-fashioned style, well equipped...

Really not even a thing to complain about that resort and would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzoPonsacco, Manager at Le Colombaie Country Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I'm sorry for the delay in responding. Thanks for the nice words.They make us very happy. You are welcome whenever you want. Best regards. Lorenzo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haren
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We found this gem by luck, because we had not reserved in advance. We were very well received by Lorenzo, who gave us a vip treatment. The appartments we got, were very spacious and had perfect facilities, like airco and beautiful bathrooms.
The pool is very big and lays in a nice coutry side. We relaxed with some cold beers at the pool and dined in the local restaurant, Osteria delle Bianca. We ate the best beef ever.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzoPonsacco, Owner at Le Colombaie Country Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. It was the first season of our resort, and we want to increase our services and facilities. Thank you again and You are welcome whenever you want.
Lorenzo & Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Colombaie Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Colombaie Country Resort

Address: Via Donizetti, 4/A, 56038 Ponsacco, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Ponsacco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ponsacco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Colombaie Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Colombaie Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.