We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic luxury break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory at Broseley

Save Saved
You added The Old Rectory at Broseley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory at Broseley
46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon Heaven
Ranked #1 of 5 Broseley B&B and Inns
manchester, uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Romantic luxury break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay. We stayed in the Wenlock room which had a four poster bed (I had the best 3 nights sleep I've had in a long time). A four poster double jacuzzi with overhead lighting and flickering coloured candles, lovely and relaxing. There is a 32" flat screen tv which can be watched from the bed, sofa or even the bath as it swivels on a bracket. There is a separate wc and a washbasin area within the room. The furnishings make it feel really special and there was everything you could possibly need in the room, tea/coffee making facilities, boiled sweets, biscuits. There were also toiletries, l'oreal face wipes, cotton buds, cotton face pads, sewing kit and the usual shampoos, conditioners, body lotion & shower gels.
If you need an iron and board just ask and it will be brought to your room.
I couldn't believe how quiet it was, the only noise we heard was the birds singing in the morning.
Breakfast was amazing, an array of yogurts, yogurt drinks, jams, marmalades, honey, cereals and of course a fabulous english breakfast (see photo).
We stayed for 3 nights but could have stayed longer we felt so relaxed and hopefully will visit again in the Summer.
A must when you visit is Blists Hill Victorian Village museum, it is a really good day out. We also visited the Coalport museum and the Tile museum (when you buy a pass for Blists Hill you can get one that includes several other museums).
Thank you David for a wonderful relaxing break and for being so helpful and knowledgeable about the local area, suggesting restaurants & pubs to visit and attractions.

Room Tip: The Wenlock room is on the ground floor and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mrs Holland
This is a two way street, we really enjoyed having you here, it is a rare privilege to meet with two such charming and appreciative people. I genuinely mean that.
You made few demands on us, and were unfailingly appreciate , so it is us who should be thanking you. I am glad that you felt at home here.
It will be a real pleasure to see you both again, and thank you for your very generous review
best wishes from everyone at the Old Rectory
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    14
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
13
144
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maiden Newton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The owner, David, claims not to be a hotelier but at the Vestry Hotel he provides a level of comfort, charm, extravagance and hospitality that very few give their guests nowadays. The Vestry is literally a haven for those who are staying in the area of Ironbridge. Nothing is too much trouble, in fact one has to rebel against the generosity of David, and his staff, so as not to succumb to the slide into total indulgence. This place is a jewel, and for those contemplating a visit to this area look no further because you will find no place better. Just don't tell anyone, then we can keep it as our secret!
NPG.

Room Tip: If you are over 6ft. in height I suggest you do not stay in the Broseley room, as the ceiling in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
It is difficult to respond , without appearing to be a sycophant or an ego maniac.
In all modesty I thank you most sincerely for what is an extraordinarily generous review. one that is greatly appreciated by everyone at the Old Rectory
we believe that hospitality must come from the heart, so it is no a chore for us to try to make your stay here a comfortable one. (apart of course from the beastly torment of a "character" loo.)
It was a genuine pleasure to meet you and your wife, thank you for your generosity.
regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner had booked us a night a way from the kids,so was looking foward to our stay,and was not dissapointed.On our arrival we was greated by the owner offering to carry our luggage.Then we was taken to our roon to receive our champagne on ice and luxury chocolates,the lady also went through everything we needed to know about the room.The jacuzzi was a nice size with candles for atmosphere and sparkle cealing lights,it also has a 32 inch flat screen so you can watch tv whilst in the bath.The room was clean and the breakfast was amazing everthing you would need.But for me the owner was so plesent and went the xtra mile,which made the stay what it was,felt like nothing was to much.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Vestry. thank you for making your views known ,it means that our efforts have been rewarded with a great result .and it does not get better than that.
From everyone here , THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW, we really hope that you can come back again, (children permitting) and visit us again
regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for one night as we wanted to visit blist hill , the rooms were more suited to a big posh hotel, very clean and beautifully decorated. pure luxury with my spa bath. the breakfast was lovely. thank you David for a wonderful stay, I'm sure we will see you again soon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you most sincerely for a terrific vote of confidence, We cannot thank enough for your superb review, we are deeply flattered and a bit embarrassed, praise goes a lot deeper than criticism, so there were a few moist eyes here.you have made everyone here very happy.
best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. A warm welcome and the rooms are so relaxing. We had three rooms for one night and all thought we had the best room. We had a huge bed and a lovely deep slipper bath there was also a big shower with lights inside. The breakfast was enormous and beautifully cooked but if that was not enough there were cereals, yogurts, cheeses, toasts and a big fruit basket too. Perfectly placed to visit all the museums around Ironbridge, some nice restaurants nearby. Thank you for making us so welcome

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It is such a delight to see you again after so many years, it is a genuine pleasure to have you stay with us we have fond memories of your last visit. thank you for a really nice review, Sylvia is cock a hoop, Please do not leave it so long next time
all the best from everyone Here
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My boyfriend booked the Old Rectory for a surprise for me so I didn't want to know what he had booked- or where. This could have been a mistake but Oh was I blown away by the place on every level ! We stayed on the 15th December and didn't want to leave.

The room was spacious, clean and felt like home- a posher one than mine. The calm and peaceful atmosphere made it feel like we'd been away for 3 nights not just the 1 we booked.

To top it all off the food was divine and saw us throughout the whole day.

Thank you sooo much,

The Earles

We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay here.your generous review is a much appreciated by everyone here, it makes a massive difference to the day when you are told that you did a good job.from everyone here , thank you .
best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for a romantic break away and we were not disappointed! We stayed in the Wenlock Room with the four poster bath and paying the extra money for this room was sooo worth it! When we arrived we were greeted and shown around the room and asked what time we would like breakfast. We then filled the bath and relaxed for 2 hours!
We wanted something quick and easy to eat so we went to 'The Black Swan' pub, in Jackfield a 5 minute drive and the meals were nice and the pub was very laid back.
We were desperate to enjoy our room to the fullest so we watched TV in bed and drew the curtains to sleep and it felt so cosy!
We made the most of the room by having another bath in the morning and watched the TV in the bath.
Breakfast was huge and David the owner was very friendly and accommodating.
It really was such a relaxing and perfect break and we are desperate to go back!
Thank you so much for an amazing stay :)

Room Tip: Wenlock Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david h, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, it has been a really pleasure , when you are next in the area do please come and see us.
many thanks from everyone at the Vestry
regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Rectory at Broseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory at Broseley

Address: 46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Victorian country house set in two acres of lawns, orchards and ponds overlooking the Severn Valley just a mile from the historic town of Ironbridge. Every room has been appointed to exception standards and designed to have an individual character. A peaceful and relaxing location central to the museums and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Old Rectory at Broseley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Broseley
The Old Rectory At Broseley Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory at Broseley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.