We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory at Broseley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Rectory at Broseley to your Saves list
The Old Rectory at Broseley
46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY FOR 3 PAY FOR 2
Ranked #1 of 5 Broseley B&B and Inns
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend away for our wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time. David & Sylvia at The Old Rectory were excellent hosts all weekend. The accommodation was superb and their commitment to giving excellent service was far and above anything we,ve ever experienced in any other B&B. We originally booked for 2 nights but decided to stay an extra night! We had to move rooms for our last night as our room had already been booked, but we didn't mind at all, it actually gave us the opportunity to 'sample' another room and we were not disappointed - the room was as luxurious as the first. I personally don't think anyone could expect anything more from this wonderful place, David has thought of everything to make his guests extremely welcome and comfortable - and if you need anything else at all it would be no problem at all - fab job!! We will definitely return and look forward to using the restaurant when open. Annie & Phil Edwards, Doncaster

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 4 & 8 - both were of an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, General Manager at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Edwards
we are so glad that we did not let you down, you both work so hard ,you thoroughly deserve more peace and relaxation
we all enjoyed you stay with us, and hope that if you can find the time you can come and visit us again,
our very best regards
Sylvia and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    18
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
13
167
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitwick Leicestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

As with all first visits to somewhere new, we were sceptical. How foolish we were! Definately the most beautiful place that we have ever stayed. Attention to detail was second to none, with large airy rooms, exceptionally comfy beds, furnishings, toiletries and most of all friendliness. We were treated with the utmost hospitality. As it was August and the evenings were warm, the room had two fans for our use, brilliant! The breakfasts were available until a good time(as we are night birds) and were of an excellent standard, size and freshness. We only stayed for three nights(shame) but thanks to David and Sylvia we felt that we had become friends. We will definately be returning for more exclusive pampering and of course our favorite wine placed in our room. Thank you to you all. Philip and Christine Allison Whitwick.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful but possibly for the romantics out there, The Broseley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Allison
what a delightful experience it has been for us to have you stay here.you both have character and charm in abundance, and we thoroughly enjoyed your visit. we have been genuinely touched by your kindness and generosity.
From everyone at the old rectory, we look forward to your return
regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We arrived to the warmest of welcomes to one of the cleanest, well appointed and luxurious bed and breakfast establishments we have ever stayed in. Everything was so well thought about. The room we stayed in had the wow factor and started our weekend off wonderfully. The grounds are a delight and the positioning for attractions is spot on. The champagne deal is well worth investing in. Will definitely return especially when the restaurant is completed. The breakfasts that we had were second to none so if the restaurant food is the same then it will be outstanding. Thank you to everyone who made are stay very special.

Room Tip: The Wrekin room was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are delighted with your exceptional review of the Old Rectory.it is a very gratifying experience to so generously praised. From everyone at the Old Rectory ,please accept our deep and sincere thanks. we really appreciate , the wonderful goodwill you have shown .
best regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed with friends and were warmly greeted and shown to our various rooms. All were decorated as for a fashion magazine, with the wow factor. Unfortunately the 'wow' stopped there. The rooms were hot and stuffy. The bed was uncomfortable. The bath with jacuzzi took so many gallons to half fill that the other rooms had no hot water! Breakfast was very disappointing, despite being assured by the owner that the mushrooms were fresh, they were tinned. Why tell a lie? The staff were unable to get the correct orders to the guests and chaos reigned. The best things about the whole place were the magnificant hanging baskets. We all agreed that the Old Rectory was an overstated, awesome looking and underachieving B&B, with extortionate prices for what it was able to deliver.
The best part of this stay was the delightful 'Olive Tree' restaurant in Ironbridge. A real gem with delicious fare served by happy, competant staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
A professional and curtious reply:
The mushrooms are always fresh, cooked in butter every morning . we have Never used TINNED MUSHROOMS ever... All rooms have thermostatic values on the radiators. i.e. you can adjust the temperature easily to suit yourself..perhaps you did not do this. the Wenlock room to which you refer has TWO WINDOWS 8 FEET TALL AND 4 FEET WIDE, both windows are new sash window which open wide. the would provide more than adequate..ventilation...again, perhaps you did not do this...finally there is a 16" fan in the wardrobe which would have helped make you more comfortable.
. finally we have no control over the weather and it has been very humid at times...having a double jaccuzzi we have an extraction fan above the bath to reduce the humidity.
the mattress is a Millbrook hand built 1600 pocket sprung, famous for their quality. you are to date, the only person to have found it uncomfortable.
If there was any fault on our part please accept my personal apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent four lovely nights in The Old Rectory in Broseley. The room we had was very big, comfortable and very clean (which makes a nice change compared to some of the hotels we have stayed in). We had a huge power shower and a lovely slipper bath tucked away in the corner which was a luxury. Huge bed. David and Sylvia were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Good choice of breakfast and lots of little extras included. A very welcome bar of chocolate on the bed on our last night. nice touch! We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends. and may even go back ourselves.

Room Tip: Room 10 any time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
thank you, a very generous review and much appreciated by everyone at the Old Rectory
regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Absolutely outstanding in every way. The hospitality from the owner and staff was so welcoming, cleanliness was of the highest standards and so was the attention to deal.
Breakfasts were.....huge and everything you could want was available!!!!! The local people were so friendly and we ate out at a few restaurants that the owner recommended and they were superb! (The King and Thai and 7 Restaurant).
We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
WE are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thrilled that you have given us such a wonderful review. we take hope that you may come back and visit avian.
best wishes and sincere thanks from all at the Old Rectory.
regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the old rectory with my 10 year old Son, for 3 nights. We were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. My son is a vegetarian and David went out of his was to find something for him for breakfast, and even try new foods it was all very much appreciated. The room was absolutely spotless, and the "little extras" were a lovely touch.
Couldnt have asked for more!!

The Baileys

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDH1949, Owner at The Old Rectory at Broseley, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
A really big thank you , we hope to see you again soon
best regards
DAVID , SYLVIA , SARAH AND SUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory at Broseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory at Broseley

Address: 46 Ironbridge Road, Broseley, Telford TF12 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Broseley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Broseley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is a Victorian country house set in two acres of lawns, orchards and ponds overlooking the Severn Valley just a mile from the historic town of Ironbridge. Every room has been appointed to exception standards and designed to have an individual character. A peaceful and relaxing location central to the museums and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory at Broseley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Broseley
The Old Rectory At Broseley Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory at Broseley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.