We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for an amazing costa rican experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cabinas Diversion Tropical in Brasilito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brasilito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cabinas Diversion Tropical in Brasilito
Save
You added Hotel Cabinas Diversion Tropical in Brasilito to your Saves list
300 meters south of the bridge, Brasilito 5159, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Brasilito B&B and Inns
Chicago,IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for an amazing costa rican experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel was everything i needed and affordable. Rick, the owner was very nice. Clean, nice pool, wifi and in a great little local beach town. I will 100%. Come back here again. Amazing trip:)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
30
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I liked this place! It was close enough to the ocean (about a 5 minute walk) and a quiet alternative away from Tamarido. The owner, Rick, was knowledgeable about good hiking and biking trails, places to eat in the area, and even helped us call for a transit bus to the airport. The rooms were cozy enough and I liked the clean pool and BBQ area. You get a good bang for your buck (or colones!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escondido
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We loved our stay here! The price was nice. The room was big and clean (but nowhere really to put stuff except the floor). The blinds didn't offer much privacy. AC worked, but seemed a little weak. Cable TV was a nice bonus. Wish they provided wifi. We loved the pool. The beach isn't much. We came here because we read in one of our books that Playa Conchal was amazing. We didn't agree. Just a beach. Nothing special. Talk to the owner. He'll give you a map to some other less-traveled beaches. If you have a 4x4 you can drive down the beach and along the coast to get to them. As far as beaches go, they weren't any better, but it was a fun drive. The town is a little sketchy, but we survived.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a very nice budget hotel. I give this hotel an excellent rating because of PRICE vs. what you get. The room was large, clean and the shower had hot water. There was air conditioning,a large fan and a refrigerator. The host, Rick, was very helpful, polite and accommodating. What else do you want for $35.00 a night! I would definitely stay here again! Thanks Rick!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

What a deal it is at Cabinas Diversion Tropical! For the low price we had a pool, fridge, air conditioning and a shower with great water pressure. Rick, the owner, speaks English and Spanish and is always handy to answer any questions about the area. It was an excellent base location for exploring the area, with restaurants nearby.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

This is more like "cabinas" than a hotel. Me and my wife booked it for two days since we were short of money and we anted to hang around Playa Conchal for a couple of days. This area is quite expensive so decided to take it easy on our pockets.
The rooms are nice, clean, no bed bugs (we inspected) have a great view and are comfortable.
The manager is a very nice guy, there is plenty of parking and security at night. The rooms get a little hot but there is A/C and a ceiling fan (we did not use the fan because it was kind of loud). The beds are quite simple but comfortable. This place is in a great location in Brasilito, walking distance for the town and souvenir shops.
We used the pool since it would get pretty hot around there and it was nice. The showers are clean and apparently now there is a 2 in1 shampoo and body wash, that is why we did not have shampoo.
Overall it's a good budget hotel if you only book it to have a nice cool place to go to sleep after spending the entire day out. It is fairly close to all main beaches.
We did not use the bikes or booked any tours but I heard they were great.
Now, the price was awesome. There are other cabinas in the area. It's a matter of taking a walk and explore.

Room Tip: Always look for signs that read "cabinas" in Costa Rica for the best prices if you only ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Great location, outstanding value! If you do not mind a bit of a "monastic" feel, this is the place for you; rooms are sparkling clean and spacious. The in-room coffee supply, coffee maker and fridge, enable you to get going in the morning and keep snacks, etc! Walking distance from Playa Conchal (15 mins), grocery store ( 5 mins), and plenty of restaurants. In particular Hotel Conchal - next door - has wonderful food! Ana - the cleaning lady is both friendly and can provide name and number of a reliable taxi driver. I did not seem to get as much as value in terms of guidance as to what to do etc, but - again - the folks at Hotel Conchal are incredibly useful on that front, even if you are not staying there!

Room Tip: Although all rooms face the road, it gets quietly very early in the evening so, overall, noise is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cabinas Diversion Tropical in Brasilito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabinas Diversion Tropical in Brasilito

Address: 300 meters south of the bridge, Brasilito 5159, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Brasilito
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brasilito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabinas Diversion Tropical is an inexpensive hotel in Brasilito, near Playa Conchal, on the north Pacific coast of Costa Rica. We have a swimming pool and a picnic area with a gas grill hotel guests can use free of charge. Hotel guests can use bicycles and snorkeling gear free of charge. Kayaks are also available for rent. If you book your SCUBA dives thru the hotel, you can stay at the hotel for free. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cabinas Diversion Tropical in Brasilito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.