We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brasilito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brasilito to your Saves list
Hotel Brasilito
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frente la Mar | 50 metros oest de la plaza, Brasilito 5001, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brasilito
Jamestown, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We've been with my wife at Hotel Brasilito from April 20 to 26. We've had one of the best vacation ever. The hotel is located right in front of the beach. We took the room with a sea view, and was great. The staff was very friendly.
We've been at some expensive resorts but if you want to get the best of Costa Rica people I recommend go to Brasilito and get an accommodation in Hotel Brasilito!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    52
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
29
74
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was the first hotel i arrived to in Costa Rica and i was not impressed. I booked this hotel after i read the description the host gave the hotel. I didn't experience anything of what i read to start with. The staff in the reception was also kind of unprofessional and not so friendly either. Many times i approached the reception one of the girls were watching a movie and didn't realize i was standing there waiting for her to recognize me at the desk. She was not so helpful with tours and couldn't order me a taxi as she didn't speak any spanish. Everything was very fuzzy! As i was the ONLY ONE at the beach it's not the optimal to be a solo traveler in this place. The rooms though was okay and cleaned but after 2 days alone i took my bags and went to Tamarindo which i also loved!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I specifically requested one of the oceanview rooms at Hotel Brasilito for myself and a friend, after reading the recommendations on Tripadvisor, and was not disappointed. These rooms cost slightly more but have a large balcony with a hammock and chairs, that looks out on the ocean, great for relaxing, reading, people-watching etc., and is worth the extra money in my opinion.

The hotel itself is relaxing and authentic, and offers a more local experience than some of the more touristy areas nearby. It is also close to many restaurants and a beach bar, as well as some little shops, and a quick walk or drive to Conchal beach, a nearby attraction. The hotel is basic compared to some of the more high-end tourist locations, which I liked as I do not spend much time in the room anyway but enjoy sitting outside or exploring. The room was kept very clean each day, and staff at the hotel and restaurant were friendly and helpful.

The hotel was a great place to relax. One recommendation would be for my fellow light-sleepers to bring their earplugs as there can be alot going on with the reggae bar nearby and the local howler monkeys (we saw some next to the hotel), dogs, passersby and roosters. I'm not complaining of course - I love these local additions to a trip but earplugs are good. I enjoyed Brasilito and would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms A and B cost slightly more but have a view of the ocean as well as a large balcony with a hamm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here as we loved the beach at Brasilito and wanted to be within walking distance of it. We book last minute and paid WAY too much for the room. It was questionably clean, small and not well decorated. The Costa Rican Staff were lovely but the 2 girls from New Zealand were not interested or not present. The bar area is nice and the seats at the front were well situated. The drinks were good, but the bar closed at 9pm. Breakfast was not included but was good. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel has a friendly staff and very high standards of cleanliness and service. We stayed in a room on the second floor, overlooking the restaurant patio and the beach. Two rooms--A and B--share the balcony and a hammock. See my room tips for differences between the two. The rooms are large, comfortable, and completely cleaned daily. The hot water was a bit chancy, and the water pressure in the shower was very low. Otherwise, the accommodations were terrific. Owner Shelly was very helpful in planning excursions, and all the staff went beyond duty in meeting our needs over our 10-day stay. The restaurant was great, so convenient and reasonable that we only ventured out to other places late in our stay. I'd encourage trying some of the others, like Soda Brasilito, practically next door, which was terrific, Don Brasilito's, Nony's. We paid about $60/night, which is reasonable but not cheap, and, given that it did not include breakfast, was the highest rate we paid in Costa Rica. I loved the Playa Brasilito, a nice calm swimming beach. We did venture down the 10-15 minute walk to Playa Conchal, which has shade trees, lots of local visitors, food and snorkel equipment vendors, and an entrance from the All-Inclusive resort. The snorkeling that day was not very good--very cloudy water conditions, so I didn't return. Maybe I should have given it another try, because it is reputed to have good snorkeling, and the beach is very popular locally. However, I was pretty happy sitting on our balcony overlooking Playa Brasilito with cold drink in hand between dips in the sea!

Room Tip: Rooms A & B are on the 2nd floor and share a balcony above the restaurant patio. They look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been to a lot of places in Costa Rica and Playa Brasilito is our very favourite place. And Hotel Brasilito is a great place to stay. Our room was basic but clean. Had lots of hot water and a fan for a very affordable price. There are chairs and tables in front of the rooms so we could sit near our place with a beer and glass of wine and enjoy the days or evenings. Hotel Brasilito has an open air restaurant where we had most of our breakfasts and some other meals. It has wifi and it's across the road from the beach Playa Brasilito. But the best beach is just 10 min down to Playa Conchal where you can swim in the clear waters. If we come back to Costa Rica we would head straight to Playa Brasilito and Hotel Brasilito!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our second stay for a night at the Hotel Brasilito in Costa Rica. We were out for a drive one day and came upon this little gem. It has so much local flavor ,charm and provides an excellent dining experience. Both times we have stayed in one of the 2 rooms facing the beach These 2 rooms are located ,upstairs above the patio restaurant and have a wide balcony from which to watch the little road, beautiful beach and breath-taking sunsets. Horses, ATV's ,people walking by all pass in front of the hotel and the beach directly across is great ,providing a place for long walks and swimming.The sunsets there are especially beautiful. If you go to the western end of the beach,up onto the little road and continue on a bit you will find yourself on the beautiful Playa Conchal, There is an all-inclusive hotel on that beach, snorkling,lots of shells, a long stretch of lovely white sand and great swimming. Back at the Hotel Brasilito,our room was a good size,very plain but clean with a large shower and hot water in the shower but cold water in the sink. We chose not to have air conditioning,using just the large overhead fan but another time we would go with the former. It was a bit noisy with the window open and too warm. . There is a hammock and a couple of chairs outside on the verandah . The dinner and breakfast we had there were both excellent. Besides the outdoor patio restaurant there is a larger space for dining and a bar under the roof and there are other rooms in which to stay around a pretty little courtyard. behind the restaurant. There are a couple of shops in the village,car rental,bank,other places to eat ,a lovely little church and they were building a grandstand for a rodeo being held later on. Brasilito is small but interesting and the hotel charges a very reasonable price and is in a great location. . Our room was $59 a night plus tax. The hotel seems to be well run and I was impressed that when I e-mailed from another hotel in Costa Rica, I heard back immediately. It is a popular spot for people to gather for drinks and meals. Playa Flamingo is a very short drive away.

Room Tip: Try for rooms A or B above patio restaurant and facing the beach . A great spot for watching the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brasilito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brasilito

Address: Frente la Mar | 50 metros oest de la plaza, Brasilito 5001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Brasilito
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brasilito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brasilito 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brasilito Beach and an easy walk to Playa Conchal, our affordable clean hotel rooms have hot water and air conditioning is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Brasilito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brasilito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.